We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Efficiently run and beautifully landscaped” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La's Rasa Ria Resort

Save Saved
You added Shangri-La's Rasa Ria Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shangri-La's Rasa Ria Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pantai Dalit Beach | P.O. Box 600, Kota Kinabalu 89208, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
7 Nights Getaway Package
Ranked #1 of 92 hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Suffolk, UK
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Efficiently run and beautifully landscaped”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

If you like large resort hotels (and it was our first time) this is a very well run and immaculately maintained example. We stayed for three nights as a relaxing destination after travelling around Borneo. Positives were the beautifully furnished room, the balcony, the lovely views and gardens, as well as the spectacular sunsets. We also liked the system of shopping for items to put in the mini bar which meant we could buy some beers to drink on the balcony in the evenings. In addition, we greatly enjoyed the birdwatching trip around the golf course with Leslie who was charming and very knowledgable. Leslie also led the orang-utan viewing which was delightful, even if the hotel's rescue programme only boasts four orangs at the moment.
We are beachlovers and a negative for us was the number of sandflies on the beautiful sandy beach and the murkiness of the sea (we realised later that a river estuary is just around the headland which may account for this). On the Friday and Saturday that we were there it was really busy with lots of children in the pool, a very crowded and unrelaxing breakfast experience on the Saturday morning, some difficulty in finding a sunbed and many activities booked up, but by Sunday there were many fewer people and the atmosphere was more peaceful. We would have welcomed some boat trips on the sea in the activity programme, as only a river trip was on offer, much of which involved visiting local villages, etc.
The food was indeed quite expensive but good, although we wished we had heartier appetites to do justice to Makan Street and the breakfast buffet. Our anniversary dinner at Coast though was excellent.
Overall, we probably prefer smaller resorts and hotels but that is just our personal preference.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,297 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,358
    684
    195
    44
    16
See reviews for
1069
1555
69
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (874)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed for Seven nights in rasa ria. A fantastic, relaxing time. The staff go above and beyond, each and everyone. If your thinking about it, do it!
Reading all the other reviews, you will see this common theme, so instead I will point out a few things on the resort.
This resort is very kid friendly. It has an amazing amount of activities to keep them amused, and get the parents involved, such as the sunset lighting ceremony where they bring in a few kids on those royalty carriages.
This is, in essence, two resorts. The ocean wing and the garden wing. If your in garden, you cannot use the ocean pool ( a nice big one...). The ocean rooms are huge. Suggest if your looking at that real romantic couple time, you stay in ocean wing. Garden wing is still fantastic, but obviously a bit busier, and the pool is shared with the kiddie water slide.
The garden wing ocean rooms more than met our needs. Fantastic view, and so well maintained.
A few other tips - the resort has their own shop. Prices aren't all that bad in there. But if you want to do a quick topup, suggest you head down to ranau, about 10mins in a cab and go to the 711.
Breakfast is a bit crazy around 9ish. Suggest earlier or later than this.
The restaurants a are good, but ocean is clearly the best. We left this to last, and we are glad we did. Great way to finish.
Also, for parents taking kids, if your kids starts crying and whaling at the orangutan sanctuary feeding platform, please take them of the platform. The orangutangs do not like loud noises, and unfortunately they didn't come to close due to this, please respect others!

Room Tip: Ocean view! Also higher rooms are better. Lower are generally for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed here for 10 nights in May, the room was a garden upper floor next to reception Room 217 and it was very nice, although the Ocean rooms are far superior but I dont know how much more they cost but they do have hot tubs! The staff are excellent can not do enough althoughI expect at really busy times they can take a while with your order. There are a good choice of places to eat but I have to say the prices in the hotel (along with the 10% service charge) are very high!!! the beach is lovely and they bring you cold water and free ice cream/lollys once a day. The big attraction is the Oragutangs next to the hotel but there seems to only be a couple, I would advise at busy seasons you book to see these via the hotel asap to ensure you do go as its very popular and costs about £12.pp. I would recomend the hotel.

Room Tip: 217 close to reception, overlooks sea/garden and you can see the pool, however the Ocean rooms are b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here for 2 nights. The breakfast was good, lots of choices, but it was very busy due to Chinese New Year. My daughter and I love walking on the beach at sunset, it is peaceful. The happy hour was very with nice view of the ocean. The Orang-utan centre was good, you get very close with the orang-utans.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We spent 2 weeks out of our busy lives and loved every minute of our stay, we could't fault the staff who were attentive and looked out for our every need. The sandflies were a bit painful, you couldn't really have you doors open for too long. We walked on the beach every morning. The restaurant were all good. We went in a holiday period, it was really busy however, we were child free and found areas in the pools that were also child free. I would recommend this hotel to anyone,

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Just left rasa ria having spent just 4 nights there - what a place! Great hotel, amazing staff and completely wonderful having the orang-utan sanctuary there. Food wAs very average but weather was so hot we didn't have much appetite anyway! Would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We recently spent a week at the Shangri-La Rasa Ria Resort and had a comfortable and enjoyable stay. The staff were helpful, friendly and efficient and responded very quickly to an issue we had over booking a night walk with our 8-yr-old daughter in the Nature Reserve. There had been a mix up about how far ahead we could book this activity and because every walk in our week there had been completely booked by larger parties in advance, the Reserve arranged an extra walk just for us. We also did the Canopy Walk, Orang-u-tan Viewing and our daughter became a 'ranger' for a couple of hours (although she was a little disappointed to find this consists mostly of chopping fruit). And we went on the 2-hour River Trip which was enjoyable but, I would have to say, missable.
We had booked half board which gave us buffet dinner at the Coffee Terrace or Tepi Laut but we were able to eat at the other restaurants and pay the difference. There wasn't really anything to be gained from booking half board though. The buffet breakfasts offer a vast array of foods from other countries, including Japan, India and Malaysia. The (evening) cocktails were very good.
Our room was a comfortable deluxe sea view in the Garden Wing. We would have preferred to have a bath AND a shower cubicle (see Penang Shangri-La) but that's a small quibble and the shower over our bath was very good. A DVD player would be an excellent addition to all the rooms not just the Ocean Wing rooms. We couldn't locate the ice machines (? by the lifts) but didn't really need one.
There is a good range of activities/trips for children and adults (some free, including the Kids Club) and our trips to the Nature Reserve were well organised, educational and fun. If only there was a way to eliminate mosquitoes for ever!!

Room Tip: In the Garden Wing rooms they only have large single beds (like small doubles) pushed together - so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shangri-La's Rasa Ria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Rasa Ria Resort

Address: Pantai Dalit Beach | P.O. Box 600, Kota Kinabalu 89208, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Rasa Ria Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La's Rasa Ria Resort is set on Pantai Dalit beach surrounded by 400 acres of lush tropical vegetation, including a unique nature reserve. Here you'll meet Sabah's icon, the fascinating Orang Utan, as well as a remarkable array of indigenous flora and fauna. Unexpected encounters with hornbills who glide right overhead, peacocks walking by during breakfast, a friendly bear cat greeting you from a tree or the occasional wild rabbit, iguana or squirrel crossing your path are all part of the magic of this remarkable resort. Shangri-La's Rasa Ria Resort goes beyond the offerings of Kota Kinabalu hotels by providing numerous options for relaxation. This includes the magnificent Spa at Dalit Bay, a wide range of water sports, Rasa Ria's own catamarans for cruises and deep sea fishing, a challenging 18-hole championship golf course, ATV safaris, tennis, horse riding, a fitness centre and, of course, a fun-filled Kids' Club to care for younger visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Splendia, Hotels.com, Tingo, AsiaRooms, Otel, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Shangri-La's Rasa Ria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Rasa Ria Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Shangri Las Rasa Ria Hotel
Shangri La Rasa Ria Resort
Rasa Ria Resort
Shangri Las Rasa Ria Resort
Shangri-La's Rasa Ria Resort Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La's Rasa Ria Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.