We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful resort but a bit far out” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La's Rasa Ria Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Shangri-La's Rasa Ria Resort to your Saves list
Shangri-La's Rasa Ria Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pantai Dalit Beach | P.O. Box 600, Kota Kinabalu 89208, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BOOK EARLY RM999++
Ranked #1 of 93 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
hong kong
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful resort but a bit far out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

This is the best resort you can find in KK if you do not plan to go out at all. Afterall, there isn't much happening in town anyway...
We travelled with 2 boys ages 4 and 6. They loved the pool and the beach and they can just be swimming all day. THere are also kid's club activities and orangutan viewings that can keep children entertained. Sign up for the lighting ceremony at dusk for the kids as it is free of charge and they get to put on their costumes and experience the whole ceremony by the beach.
The breakfast selection was impeccable. We had no complains.

The food, especially the seafood buffets at night is very delicious with lots of seafood (tiger prawns and crabs!!) and are priced very reasonably that we didn't even consider dining out at all.
If you decide to head out for some shopping, drinks at night, think twice... every trip costs so much that we didn't think it was worth it. Shuttle bus was about 30 Ringits per person per way, taking a private car into town for a few hours cost 200 Ringits! and when we were out... the whole waterfront was dead. There were less than 10 people in each of the bars.
Stay in the resort as it was worth every penny you spend there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,752 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,649
    802
    221
    60
    20
See reviews for
1,235
1,746
77
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,039)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

In my last review of the Shangri-La, KK, the caption was "will definitely go back!" and we did! Last weekend! We've decided this is where we'll go when the going gets tough at work...worth every penny!
Like our previous stay, we booked a room at the ocean wing, just fabulous!
I don't really think I have enough positive adjectives to describe this place, if you're on the fence, not sure where to stay, Shangri-La Rasa Ria is the way to go. Worth mentioning staff at the front desk are incredibly warm, in fact the staff just makes you feel so welcome without too in your face. Perfect balance.
We went to the Orang Utan sanctuary this time round, I can't wait to bring my little nephew he will flip. Ulam, the orang utan came so close Toby said he can smell the little one :-). I've seen Orang Utan up close while travelling in Sumatra but this was worth going, the orang utans are well take care of and the set up was well thought! Our guide was a funny guy- kept us entertained during the canopy walk.
We were so relaxed after our trip, a staff of mine said on Monday 'Fifie, you look too happy..like you've had a wonderful weekend'. We did!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed here just as the UK half term holidays were ending so it was a little quieter. Generally I have to say we enjoyed our second visit here. Some reviewers are right when they say they do not experience the usual Shangri La luxury but it is almost impossible to provide (except at great cost) when you are surrounded by jungle and sandy beach. And yes, the hotel is miles from anywhere but that is the magic of the place. If you wish to swill lager and disco then go somewhere else.

It is worth paying a little extra for the Deluxe Sea View rooms, get up to the 6th floor if you can, sunset views are magic. Avoid Rain Forest rooms, they just look out at the trees round the back. Rooms were spacious enough and the air con worked splendidly for our entire stay but there were a few chips and scratched that you would not expect from a Shangri La establishment.

We elected to go room only and eat when we felt like it, topping up from the shop occasionally. Our estimate was £50 per day and we exceeded this by only a few pounds. The Naan Indian restaurant was fab as was the Tepi Laut in the evenings. During the day the service from the Tepi Laut was a little slow, we preferred the coffee terrace.

When laying out on sunbeds, staff supplied endless glasses of iced water and cold towels as well as trays of fresh fruit in the afternoons. We also grew quite partial to a treat of fries delivered straight to our loungers.

Happy hour at the bar was a little too busy for our liking and was strangely timed, it would have been nicer nearer sunset.

The Orang Utans put on quite a display for us but the morning tours were very busy, possibly because of visitors from outside of the resort. It is less busy in the afternoon but be warned it is very hot. Daytime temperatures were up to 34C when we were there.

Staff overall were friendly and efficient with some going the extra mile. It is not just the service that matters, it is what action is taken when things do not go according to plan.

The aim was to recharge our batteries and the stay did exactly that. Overall a fab stay and I certainly hope to go back some day.

Room Tip: Choose Sea View and go as high as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This is a sister resort of the fantastic shangri-la Rasa Sayang in Penang. The latter is my favorite in the world, this is in the the top five in the world in my opinion and represents incredible value.

This place is the complete mental health break if you need to get away. I recommend to stay here for a least a week, I stayed for 10 days and was actually looking forward to getting back to work, something I haven't done for years after a holiday.

Its a top property in an otherwise pretty isolated location. Here is my tip if you are staying for a while: hire a car at the airport when you arrive and drive yourself up to the hotel which is a good half an hour or more away. The car will enable you get out for day trips and explore local ( or further afield) villages at your convenience, otherwise you may be pretty well stuck at the resort. You can also drive back down into KK for dinner, or to other restaurants which are not at the hotel. You will be glad you have a car, even if only to head off after breakfast for a few hours and then return to the resort after lunch to lie in the sun and generally act like a sloth.

And as a weight loss tip: I would walk onto the beach at about 4pm each day and then walk for an hour in one direction along the beach and then turn around and walk back. I swear I lost 10 kilos when I was there. Bonus! I didn't even bother looking at the spa because I was getting heaps of exercise walking up the beach which was good for the body; the mind and the soul.

Room Tip: Hire a car at the airport and drive up yourself and keep the car until you fly out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Strangely your in a large complex but except for meal times hardly see anyone. great food, lovely beach and sunsets.....nice cold Henekin and the Orangutans are georgeous in their santuary area. Take the horse riding on the beach at sunset, you'll never regreat it!

Room Tip: I would suggest staying in a room on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This was our second holiday to the Rasa Ria staying for 10 nights and another wonderful experience. The staff are the most sincere, friendly and helpful we have ever met. Nothing is too much trouble. We stayed in the Garden wing in a Deluxe Garden view room and were later upgraded to the room from our previous visit, once this became vacant, in a Deluxe Sea View room. With the Ocean and gardens at the front and the jungle at the back, amazing. The service is excellent and the food beautiful, with a fantastic selection, so everybody can enjoy. We asked to see the kitchen as i am a cook, and within minutes we were given a tour. I was very impressed with how clean and organised they were, with the chefs in perfect whites. The Nature Reserve is well worth a visit or two, especially for the Orang Utans, with friendly and knowledgable staff. We were lucky enough to see a Slow Loris on our night walk, along with a Bear Cat, Tarantula and scorpion, all pointed out by our ranger.

Room Tip: Better view of the jungle canopy, to see the birds and sunsets from the higher floors. There are 3...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We have just returned from a 10 night stay at your beautiful Rasa Ria Resort. Thank you for an unforgettable break and congratulations for creating and maintaining a holiday experience of such a high standard. With the usual array of facilities one would expect from a five star resort and 416 beautiful rooms, it would be easy for you to forget the personal touches, but this is in fact where you excel, from the complimentary fruit and ice lollies by the pool, courtesy calls when it wasn't convenient to clean your room to find out when it would be rather than leave it until tomorrow and also how the seemingly psychic staff remember your names and celebrate special events without being asked. The food is also excellent offering a good choice from four main restaurants that all seem to have a healthy rivalry between them, keeping standards high. The nature reserve is also a real gem allowing you some fantastic encounters with a number of animals, most notably the endangered Orang Utan, which the reserve has been set up to help. We take away memories of these fascinating creatures that we will cherish forever. Your fantastic staff are real credit to you with special thanks to Willy, Ainol, Areter, Huzzaimi, Elizabeth, Alice and the ubiquitous Alvino. We couldn't recommend your resort more highly!

Room Tip: Garden wing is very quiet even with the ongoing extension works to the ocean wing (which is some dis...
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shangri-La's Rasa Ria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Rasa Ria Resort

Address: Pantai Dalit Beach | P.O. Box 600, Kota Kinabalu 89208, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Rasa Ria Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La's Rasa Ria Resort is set on Pantai Dalit beach surrounded by 400 acres of lush tropical vegetation, including a unique nature reserve. Here you'll meet Sabah's icon, the fascinating Orang Utan, as well as a remarkable array of indigenous flora and fauna. Unexpected encounters with hornbills who glide right overhead, peacocks walking by during breakfast, a friendly bear cat greeting you from a tree or the occasional wild rabbit, iguana or squirrel crossing your path are all part of the magic of this remarkable resort. Shangri-La's Rasa Ria Resort goes beyond the offerings of Kota Kinabalu hotels by providing numerous options for relaxation. This includes the magnificent Spa at Dalit Bay, a wide range of water sports, Rasa Ria's own catamarans for cruises and deep sea fishing, a challenging 18-hole championship golf course, ATV safaris, tennis, horse riding, a fitness centre and, of course, a fun-filled Kids' Club to care for younger visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, AsiaRooms, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Shangri-La's Rasa Ria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Rasa Ria Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Shangri Las Rasa Ria Hotel
Shangri La Rasa Ria Resort
Rasa Ria Resort
Shangri Las Rasa Ria Resort
Shangri-La's Rasa Ria Resort Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La's Rasa Ria Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.