We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La's Rasa Ria Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Shangri-La's Rasa Ria Resort to your Saves list
Shangri-La's Rasa Ria Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pantai Dalit Beach | P.O. Box 600, Kota Kinabalu 89208, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 93 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Family Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

The perfect family holiday location. All onsite and very easy to get around with a stroller.

Room Tip: We booked the cheaper wing and were offered a cheap upgrade to the ocean wing once we arrived.... th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRR-GM, General Manager at Shangri-La's Rasa Ria Resort, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
Thanks for your review - great to learn you enjoyed your holiday and found the Resort good value for money. Regards Timothy Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,705
    817
    223
    60
    21
See reviews for
1,254
1,766
77
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,058)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

We spent Christmas here and could not have had a more wonderful time. Our concern about how far out from the city the resort was turned out to be unfounded. There were plenty of activities to keep us occupied when we wanted to be, the rooms were lovely and spotlessly clean, the staff attended to our every whim and the restaurants were wonderful. Highlights for us included Eddie's tea ceremony in Tepi Lau restaurant, massages at the spa, the jet skis and the service at the poolside where staff ensure you always have an icewater and occasionally pass out yummy samples from the kitchen.

Room Tip: We were in the Garden wing on the ground floor and it was lovely and we couldn't complain- the O...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRR-GM, General Manager at Shangri-La's Rasa Ria Resort, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
Thank you for your feedback - good to hear you enjoyed your holiday over Christmas with us - will pass on your comments to Eddie at Tepi Laut who will be motivated by your praise. Thank you for staying with us, regards Timothy Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

We stayed at the Ocean Wings. The rooms are spacious, and service very good. The sand at the private beach is extremely fine and clean. Great to walk on. The orang-utan sanctuary is well worth visiting. It is part of the resort complex so very convenient.

The golf course is very quiet on weekdays. You can walk onto the course and tee off immediately.

When ordering food by the pool, expect long delays though.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRR-GM, General Manager at Shangri-La's Rasa Ria Resort, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
Thanks for your review and great to hear you enjoyed your holiday. We have taken note of your comments regarding food delays at the pool and have addressed this with my team to make improvements. Many thanks for yoru feedback, regards Timothy Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011 via mobile

We arrived last night,23 Dec, reception staff guided us to the restaurants. Great room with view of the ocean. Staff have been professional and friendly. Food has been fine . Better experience than we had expected.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

The minute we arrived we fell in love with this resort and wished we had booked a week here instead of just 3 nights. Rasa Ria was our last stop on our 3-week adventure and so this was the R&R portion of our trip. Perfect! I rated the location high because it is on a beautiful beach/bay surrounded by lush jungle but it is remote so if we want to go to town or a lot of restaurants it would be a trek and add a lot of taxi fares...but for us the location was great. Our room was about as far as you could get from the lobby so quite a walk but after the first trek there we did not really notice. We were also in a section not yet renovated which was fine except the hall ligths were often out or sparking, Sounds aweful but we laughed about it and it did not detract from our stay. The resort is gorgeous, the service super friendly and there are lots of activity and dining options. Our room was beautiful and very confortable. Only 2 glitches inside - balcony door was hard to latch and it had to be latched for the a/c to come on and water escaped the tub even with the shower curtain fully in use and flooded the floor under the sink. Hopefully these are both items that would be addressed in the renovation. Otherwise the room was great and did not appear to need renovating. We had a wonderful view of the beach and bay. Once at Rasa Ria we did not leave until our flight home but that was our plan having already stayed in KK downtown. We mostly ate at the buffet while there. The food was wonderful. Activity wise - my daughter went to the kids club a few days and enjoyed it a ton. My husband and I did a bunch of sailing in the bay which was rgeat fun and something we don't get to do enough of. My daughter and I also did the orangutan tour which was AWESOME. The young orangutans were SO fun to watch and came incredibly close - a must if staying at the resort. I had also booked anight hike but with the rain I cancelled having endured attempted wildlife viewing for days in the rain in East Sabah I did not want to muddy my shoes and get all wet the night before we were leaving especially since I'd probably see little to nothing. I did a cooking class one afternoon for a chicken curry - yum!! We played around the pool and walked on the beach. We also did a quick class where we made grasshoppers from palm leaves.. There was always something to do if we wanted to. We were there in March and there were a TON of kids. Obviously we don't mind kids since we have one but I know some people like to avoid children when travelling so March at Rasa Ria might be taxing on those folks. For the most part the kids seems fairly well behaved. There were two families we would see at the buffet though whose children were not in the well-behaved category at all. Luckily other than breakfast we never encounter them. You cannot go wrong with this resort. I hear the Ocean WIng is fabulous but we just couldn't justify the price difference and we were happy with our room. If in Borneo again we would absolutely return to Rasa Ria but we would stay longer. Loved it.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRR-GM, General Manager at Shangri-La's Rasa Ria Resort, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
Thanks for staying with us last March and delighted you and your family enjoyed the facilities and service from the Rasa Ria Team. Understand you stayed in one of our old rooms which are now being refurbished and we have had great comments from guests who have been in the newly opened rooms. Hope to welcome you back in the near furture, regards Timothy Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

This hotel was great! Rooms were spacious, clean and well stocked. Food was great... escpecially breakfast, and the Orang-utan sanctury is a must! Hotel was 70% full but seemed very peaceful and is set in romantic surroundings. Newley renovated rooms have been well done... try and get one if you can.

Room Tip: Go for a newley renovated Ocean View Room, or a juacuzi room if you can stretch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRR-GM, General Manager at Shangri-La's Rasa Ria Resort, responded to this review, January 5, 2012
Great to hear you enjoyed your holiday and liked our new Garden Wing rooms. Thanks for your review, regards Timothy Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

Our review is from family point of view. We had three kids with us aged from 9 to 1. We stayed in Shangri La Tanjung Aru for a first five days and moved to Rasa Ria for another week. It was our first time in KK so we tried to compare different places. Must admit Tanjung Aru a way ahead of its Rasa Ria though location of the later I like more. We stayed in a newly renovated Garden Wing.
Good things.
Newly renovated room is nice, functional and accomodated all of us easily.
The noise from construciton work is not really a problem. In fact you can't here it in the room (though I was surprised to read that some people enjoy the bar which is just 30 meters or so next to construction site),
Food is not bad, especially as mentioned by others Indian and local menu. We loved kid's menu which is exactly what children need.
Unfourtunately that's all for the good.
Dissapointing things.
Sunday - half day no light ie it switched on/off every 15-20 minutes. Were really lucky tt we didn't stuck in the lift. There is NO way you can use the stairs. It is dark and without any spare lighting.
On Tuesday/Wednesday me an my older sun hiked to KK mountain. Arrived on Wednesday noon just to recognise tt there is no hot water until 3 pm... Well, you can still use cold water for shower when outside +30 but this is not what would you expect from 5* hotel, right?
There was a problem with the door lock. You need to have certian skills to open it (the lock doesn't open from the first try). It is OK for me but create problems for my wife and some local staff who tried to help her. Several times she had to wait at the door for assistance.
As mentioned construction work itself do not cause to much problems but it is another story when you are trying to use a baby stroller. Main lobby, pool and some blocks are under renovation which mean you can't use normall way and need cross the beach to get to the children's club. It is not easy to go through the sand with the stroller. The children zone looks abandoned with some sites closed for renovation as well.
I really enjoyed to walk with my younger in Tanjung Aru but in Rasa Ria the only way you can go - pool or wedding pavillion.
To resume - possibly OK place for the couples, not very suitable for familes (at least untill renovation will be completed).

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRR-GM, General Manager at Shangri-La's Rasa Ria Resort, responded to this review, January 5, 2012
Thank you for your constructive comments. I was pleased to learn you liked our newly renovated rooms - feedback has been very positive although I can understand your frustration with the door lock - we are ironing out a few teething problems. Good to hear you like the food and your children were looked after with our kids menus. I do note your comments about our walkways and the difficulties you experienced with a baby stroller - many of our paved walkways are being repaired as part of the Garden Wing Pool programme - we will soon be back to normal and I am sorry you were inconvenienced. We appreciate your feedback, regards Timothy Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shangri-La's Rasa Ria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Rasa Ria Resort

Address: Pantai Dalit Beach | P.O. Box 600, Kota Kinabalu 89208, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Rasa Ria Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La's Rasa Ria Resort is set on Pantai Dalit beach surrounded by 400 acres of lush tropical vegetation, including a unique nature reserve. Here you'll meet Sabah's icon, the fascinating Orang Utan, as well as a remarkable array of indigenous flora and fauna. Unexpected encounters with hornbills who glide right overhead, peacocks walking by during breakfast, a friendly bear cat greeting you from a tree or the occasional wild rabbit, iguana or squirrel crossing your path are all part of the magic of this remarkable resort. Shangri-La's Rasa Ria Resort goes beyond the offerings of Kota Kinabalu hotels by providing numerous options for relaxation. This includes the magnificent Spa at Dalit Bay, a wide range of water sports, Rasa Ria's own catamarans for cruises and deep sea fishing, a challenging 18-hole championship golf course, ATV safaris, tennis, horse riding, a fitness centre and, of course, a fun-filled Kids' Club to care for younger visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, AsiaRooms, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Shangri-La's Rasa Ria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Rasa Ria Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Shangri Las Rasa Ria Hotel
Shangri La Rasa Ria Resort
Rasa Ria Resort
Shangri Las Rasa Ria Resort
Shangri-La's Rasa Ria Resort Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La's Rasa Ria Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.