We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New mall nearing completion will block more or most of seaview.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Promenade Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Promenade Hotel to your Saves list
Promenade Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No. 4 Lorong Api-Api 3 | Api-Api Centre, Kota Kinabalu SA 88000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #28 of 97 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
George Town, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“New mall nearing completion will block more or most of seaview.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We stayed May 24-25 & what was once a hotel with uninterrupted seaview is soon compromised by a hugh block of mall right across the road.
Room toilets have bad finish not commensurating with nice lobby impression. Bath doubling as shower stall had small patches of rust or enamel peeling. Shaving razor requested were not well made, and tube of foam was half dried, ouch! Skin lotion was half used.
Buffet breakfast is a disappointment with no serving of basic sausages, ham/bacon, etc, choices usually available at any other hotel of this standard. Fried egg take "ages" from the chefs.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    140
    110
    29
    20
See reviews for
36
77
21
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

I stayed in this hotel recently from 23rd - 26th May for an outstation job. This hotel has one of the good location as it is near to malls and the market. From outside, the hotel looks modern but unfortuntately, the room that I stayed was nothing to shout about. It is a typical old school design. The steep price doesnt consumerate with the entire concept. There is no HBO or AXN channel except for TLC and Fox Sport and not forgetting the local channels. It is quite boring but this is what the hotel is offering.

Upon checking in, I had to ask the front desk staff whether I can check in instead of the person greet and smile.In the website, showed there is a gym but there was no indication of the facility. The room doesnt have a safe deposit box and the pillows are too soft and feels like it has not been changed for quite no of years. Some towel were changed ( I actually used the face towel but the housekeeping changed the rest except for that ) and the bath mat were not in a good condition.

This hotel needs a lot of refurbishment, training to their staff about hospitality service. At the cooffeehouse, me and colleague went to buffet line and upon returning, there was a tray on my seat and I believe the staff was unaware that we are still having our breakfast. The staff needs to learn and be alert on how the cutlaries are being placed on the table whether the guests are still eating or have finished dining.

I would suggest that those who wants to check into any htoel in KK, thouroughly do your research and decide after getting your findings.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shah Alam, Malaysia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Wrong timing for start since the it's under renovation when I arrived. From the rates charge, I do expect a higher standard of services. TV channels are too limited and it get worse since I don't speak Mandarin or Cantonese. Annoyed during breakfast, their crew having a good time giggling. So it spoilt my day eventually. Thumbs up for housekeeping and front desk.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Stayed on Nov 2013 for a business trip. The hotel located along side with top hotel in Kota Kinabalu. It is just beside the expensive seafood restaurant. In future, this hotel view that facing sea will be block by a shopping mall. The room is not well maintained and the lighting inside the room is creepy. During my stay, some floors is in renovation process and you can hear some noisy sound from your room.

I've organized an event here and the support staff for this event was not really helpful. Time management for the event setup is also poor. The technician is the one that assist us during the event. The hotel transportation is also quite expensive for us.

However, the variety of buffet lunch and breakfast is fascinating. A lot of food to be choose. The hotel location is only 15 minutes walking distance to Filipin Market. It is also nearest to seafood market. I bought a lot of lobsters here and make sure you go here as early as you can in the morning if you want to bring it back home.

Room Tip: Only choose this hotel if you don't have any other options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kajang, Malaysia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

i stayed at this hotel for 3 days 2 night for some work purpose, so that includes my meals are being provided in this hotel too. the buffet is simply amazing, so delicious with lots of variety to choose, be it breakfast, lunch or dinner. really enjoyed it. the room is comfy, spacious and the staffs is very friendly and helpful too. the location is also great. it is within walking distant to the pasar Philippine and other shops if we want to do some shopping.no wonder this places is so pack with guest checking in. the only lack i can find about this hotel is the swimming pool is quiet small. i will definitely come again.

Room Tip: higher rooms are better. if possible, pick room with sea view, although city view isnt so bad either
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warburton, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

We stayed here on our way to Sandakan. It was clean, some rooms were being renovated and it was not before time. It was centrally located which meant we could walk for a meal. We only ate breakfast in restaurant, this was okay. I left my camera in lobby and was pleased the next day that not only was it found but the clerk went to lengths to make sure it was mine.

Room Tip: Don't expect too much from this hotel but it's in a good position.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

I stayed here for 1 night after a week i the jungles of Bporneo thinking I would treat myself to a bit of luxury and a good shower/bed before flying home the next day.

I paid $100 for the room and found it not to be worth the money.

There was lots of mould in the bathroom, the room and furniture was very dated and worn, the staff need some training in customer service. And when I arrived to check in at 4pm I was told my room wouldnt be ready for another hour, despite being advised check in was from 2pm when I booked.

They are renovating some of the floors, but unless you get one of the renovated floors I would suggest looking elsewhere. For $100 you can get MUCH better value in KK.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Promenade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Promenade Hotel

Address: No. 4 Lorong Api-Api 3 | Api-Api Centre, Kota Kinabalu SA 88000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 97 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Promenade Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 451
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Despegar.com and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Promenade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Promenade Hotel Kota Kinabalu, Sabah
Promenade Kota Kinabalu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Promenade Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.