We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“likes the hyatt kk” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Kinabalu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Kinabalu to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Datuk Salleh Sulong, Kota Kinabalu SA 88991, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Advance Purchase 15% Off
Ranked #11 of 93 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
The Hague
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“likes the hyatt kk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

central location, newly refurbished, modern decor rooms fit the bill for us. pay more for seaview with lovely sunset or get it at the pool area. there is a launderette 2mins walk away and a mall is next door, lots of food options and shops too. its a short cab ride to the jetty for island trips for day outing for snorkelling and beach chilling out. their breakfast spread is pretty good but the best is proper espresso coffee is free flowing! coffee lovers beware! room service is ok too no complaints. will surely return here whenever in kk.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    253
    99
    20
    12
See reviews for
103
186
44
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We were traveling with two young children and a grandpa to KK.  The staff at Hyatt Regency was very attentive and had the baby cot and rollaway bed set up in the room already when we arrived. They also brought us a fruit basket and chocolate.  We had a suite and it was really spacious.  My two kids had a lot of fun running around. There were also DVD players in the room so I could play a Disney movie for the kids. The sea view was very nice too.  

The housekeeping was however rather disappointing.  They couldn't deliver.  Once I called to ask them to clear the room service and they didn't do so until I called again to push them an hour later.  Then there was a time when we were out at 9am and back at 230 and the room was still not serviced.  There were housekeeping staff out in the corridor and I just didn't understand why it took so long to get things done.

The swimming pool was rather small and very basic.  

Breakfast was ok.  They have the standard egg/fruits/pancakes/bread/cereals.  We stayed for 4 days and the food was basically the same every day. We were a bit bored after a couple of days.

We booked the Borneo Railway ticket right at the hotel and someone picked us up at 915am. It was convenient.

There was a clinic right across from the hotel main entrance.  We could take the children in easily without an appointment.

The mall right next to the hotel has a Watson and Guardian.  Also a few shops that sell pirated DVDs. This is where we bought the Disney DVD so that my sons could sit still for an hour while I could have a facial or a proper swim. My son also had a quick haircut at a salon there for RM15.

There is also another big mall on the way to Jesselton Point that is a 10-min walk away from the hotel that sells brand names like Coach. You can find many restaurants there too.

One thing to remind you, you have to pay for the use of washroom in many of the malls. Just RM0.3 to RM0.5. Remember to bring money.....

It costs RM10 to go to Jesselton Point if you take a taxi. otherwise it is a 10-15 min walk.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malaysia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed here four nights over the lunar Chinese new year. There were 17 of us in the family, including children and we had six rooms. They were fully booked the night before And the rest of the festive week, I think, so they could not give us early check in thougb we arrived early in the morning. Most of us went out strolling at the philipino market except my mother who is 72 years old. She waited in the lobby, we were pleasantly surprised they noted that she was elderly and very quickly gave her a room to rest.
The location was ideal for us as we wanted not just to go to the island but also to see KK as half of the family members were not Malaysian and this being their first trip to Malaysia. We walked to Sabah Suria, to the jetty for the boat to TAR marine park, to Sedco seafood village, night market, philipino market, Gaya street and seafront etc.
The rooms were spacious and fairly new, some with sea view. The toilet were very clean and serviced twice a day. They were also generous with the towels, shampoos etc.
The staffs were very helpful despite the hotel being filled to the capacity. They even called the restaurants that we wanted to go to enquire whether it was opened as it was during major festive period. We stayed at sutera harbor before and we much prefer Hyatt, and it was cheaper by a third for this super peak season.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

It's a short drive away from the airport, and walking distance to the ferry terminal for island hopping. You have to order the oxtail stew, it's the best that I've tasted. No sunset view, but I can't complain because the price of this hotel room is cheaper than Shangri-la.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

we stayed at the hyatt regency in kota kinabalu on the 12 february 2013 after 4 days at the beautiful gaya island resort. there was my wife and i and our 5 year old son. we stayed at their executive suite which cost about RM$1300.00. when we arrived at the hotel , our 4 bags were unloaded by the doorman and taken to the outside entrance of the hotel. it was the peak chinese new year holidays and crowded. we then entered the reception area and waited to be served. as a diamond member , i expected for a fast track counter but none was available. i finally met a lady and i introduced myself. she told me off and said , "you just have to wait , there are many other diamond members in front of you !!!" we noticed that our bags were still outside the hotel entrance. my wife then asked me for some money and said that we better give a tip , or our bags may "disappear." she then gave the porter the tip , and he quickly then moved our bags to a safer place and tagged them!! the hotel is so unsafe that it is all about tipping and what if our bags went missing. we would be at the loosing end. when we got to our room , it was dirty and the chairs all stained. the ceiling in the shower had a piece of plaster hanging and about to fall any minute. we then went to the regency lounge. no one smiled there and it was an unwelcoming feeling. i guess we should have tipped !! we then had dinner at the japanese restaurant. the food was stale , very expensive. my wife and i had the seafood teppanaki and the food was sitting on a plate of oil. the waiter then admitted that all the seafood was imported and kept in the freezer for about 3 weeks. so one can imagine about the quality of the food. the irony is that the island is famous for its local and fresh seafood. we should have stayed at the shangri la hotel which is rated number 1 by tripadvisor. i can now understand why this hotel is rated so poorly in this town. remember to tip your way through to get any service.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Visitors to Kota Kinabalu go there primarily for the beaches and the ecotourism attractions. If you're there for business though, Hyatt Regency Kinabalu is a great alternative given its location in the center of town. I booked a room with minimal expectations and was pleasantly surprised at the quality of the room and its appointments. True Hyatt quality. The decor was "le dernier cri". The bed was large and comfortable, the bathroom was beautifully and tastefully designed and the desk benefited from the natural light streaming from the window beside it. The room was also large enough to accommodate a chaise longue. The Club lounge was very inviting with its generous view of the sea and the islands beyond. Right across the hotel is a seaside promenade which is perfect for a morning jog. A bonus is a the Japanese restaurant off the lobby. Their scallops are excellent.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the sea to avoid the harsh morning sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

As 'flashpackers', my partner and I enjoy staying in a hotel with the creature comforts, and the Hyatt Regency in KK exceeded our expectations. The room was incredibly comfortable (king sized bed, lovely very modern bathroom, crisp but non-intrusive air con). Even the breakfast buffet (included in the room rate) was of a very high standard and excellent variety of hot meals, Western, Asian, continental, fruit and yogurt. The staff were also very attentive and friendly. I would not stay anywhere else in KK. Excellent value for money.

Room Tip: We booked via Expedia or Agoda (I can't quite remember) and got 3 nights for the price of 2, plu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Kinabalu

Address: Jalan Datuk Salleh Sulong, Kota Kinabalu SA 88991, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Regency Kinabalu 4.5*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience five-star Sabahan hospitality at Hyatt Regency Kinabalu, the premier choice for business and leisure travellers to Sabah, the Land Below the Wind. This luxury hotel in Sabah is a mere 15 minutes drive from Kota Kinabalu International Airport, offering a central location in the heart of the city close to tourist attractions and stunning views of the famed sunsets in Kota Kinabalu. Unwind in one of our 288 spacious rooms and suites all exquisitely designed with sophisticated comfort in mind plus some of the best views in Kota Kinabalu including those of the sparkling South China Sea or the Kinabalu city surroundings. Dining options at our three Kinabalu restaurants and bars are a food aficionado's delight with some of the best food the city has to offer. Be it a dip in the blue waters of the outdoor pool, a relaxing massage at the Avantang Spa and fitness centre or a party at our Shenanigan's Fun Pub, our Kota Kinabalu hotel in Sabah has it all for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kota Kinabalu
Hyatt Kota Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Kinabalu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.