We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Musty” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu to your Saves list
The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No 1 Jalan Tangki, Kota Kinabalu 88100 , Malaysia (Formerly Berjaya Palace Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 93 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Mukah, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Musty”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

i was a bit disappointed with the Palace Hotel. I wasn't expecting anything special but I didn't enjoy my stay here. The hotel smells very damp and musty, You notice it as soon as you go in and it's especially obvious in the lifts and corridors.

The staff were nice and helpful and the gym is good too but overall it's overpriced and not in an especially good location, It has the feel of a run down conference hotel. There are much better, cheaper options in KK.

The aircon in the room was really loud too.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    60
    41
    12
    8
See reviews for
16
46
13
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
South Molton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

My husband and I spent one night here and, to be frank, that was enough. It took ages to check in, primarily because the credit card machine wouldn't make a connection. We were then given a room card without any explanation as to where our room was, where the restaraunt etc were or how to connect to the wifi. I had explained that we would be checking out early the next morning and asked the receptionist to book a taxi to the airport for 5.15am. I confirmed this with him twice. I don't think he was listening though (either that or his english was poor) as he proceeded to tell us that breakfast would be served from 6.30am!

The fact that he wasn't listening and/or didn't understand was confirmed when we received an impromptu call to our room at 11pm asking us if we wanted a taxi booked for 5.15am. This was incredibly annoying as we had only just dropped off to sleep.

The room itself stank - I think it was cigarette smoke as the smell was even worse outside in the corridor. It was clean enough and the beds were comfortable, but the furnishings were shabby. We had a standard room and I think these are all smoking rooms so if you are going to stay here and you are a non-smoker book a superior room. The smell really was terrible.

The only favourable thing I can say about this hotel is the pool (which is fantastic), and the free shuttle service which we were told about by a member of staff wearing an "IT" badge - he was incredibly helpful and friendly. More than can be said of the reception staff.

When we came to check out early the next morning we encountered yet further problems with the reception staff. I had asked them to put some icepacks in the freezer as I have medication that needs to be kept cold at all times, including in transit. The receptionist was different to the one who had checked us in the day before and couldn't find the icepacks anywhere. We were stood waiting about 15 minutes, with our taxi driver waiting aswell, and in the end my husband asked to look in the freezer himself to see if he could see them. I have a serious medical condition and we couldn't leave without the icepacks - my medication has to be kept cold at all times or it is otherwise rendered ineffective.

The receptionist clearly didn't want my husband to go out into the kitchen to look in the freezer, but in the end had to let him as time was marching on. He probably didn't want us to go out there as, according to my husband, the kitchen was dirty and disorganised - in the freezer and kitchen there were fish just chucked on the floor without any sort of packaging, and it didn't look to be a particularly clean place to prepare food.

The icepacks were eventually located in the freezer of the hotel's shop. The staff clearly do not communicate with each other as is evident from both this and the taxi issues. We were 25 minutes late getting to to airport and, to top things off, the taxi driver tried to short change us by RM50. Not an experience I can recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Really nice Hotel, Clean and the staff are very helpful. The breakfast is really good and fresch. They have a nice gym and pool. I enjoyed staying at this Hotel. It's located 15-20min walking distance from the centre(nice way to explore the area), but they have a free shuttlebus service.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Such a comfortable, relaxing place!

Despite some of the reviews we read on Tripadvisor prior to our stay, the Palace Hotel is located only a short two minute walk from the city centre. It's a great place to stay with friendly staff, lovely food at the restaurant, a nice pool, clean modern decoration, and excellent modern rooms with a great shower!

We would definitely stay here if we were in Kota Kinabalu again, had all the hallmarks of a modern 4 star hotel from the UK!

Enjoy!...

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

The Palace Hotel check all our boxes: great pool, clean rooms, breakfast included... It became an oasis in KK - a place we enjoyed coming back to. The rooms were very comfortable and fully-equipped: A/C, TV, great showers, firm mattresses. The pool is great - workout facilities available, plus a garden area and sauna!

It's not a 'local' experience, but for affordable comfort in KK, the Palace Hotel can't be beat!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Booked a room through agoda. The hotel is situated just outside the city center. They offer great service and a nice pool and fitness center.
Good place to relax after some jungle adventures. Great breakfast menu! Everything from dumplings to chocopops.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I 've been to Kota Kinabalu for 5days,
from 27/12-31/12
rm are gd( but it offer me a pool level rm, no view), clean and tidy,
independent toliet, also clean
the rm is big and the a/c is gd.
the staff there are nice and helpful
and the breakfast is quite gd, numerous kind of food
5mins to the nearest big shopping arcade

the bad is no wifi at pool level(but it covered the hotel EXCEPT pool level)
and the transport offered by the hotel is pretty poor
only 3 shuttle bus per day(i am not kiding, only 3: 11:00, 15:00 and 18:00)
so u got to catch a cab all the time (RM 15 per ride)

i rank it a 4, bcoz of the pool level offer and bad transport, or not, it should get a 5~
:)

Room Tip: dun choose the pool level~
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Address: No 1 Jalan Tangki, Kota Kinabalu 88100 , Malaysia (Formerly Berjaya Palace Hotel)
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Venere, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu
The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu Sabah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.