We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, friendly staff and good breakfast.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Save Saved
You added The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No 1 Jalan Tangki, Kota Kinabalu 88100 , Malaysia (Formerly Berjaya Palace Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 92 hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Clean, friendly staff and good breakfast.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Really nice Hotel, Clean and the staff are very helpful. The breakfast is really good and fresch. They have a nice gym and pool. I enjoyed staying at this Hotel. It's located 15-20min walking distance from the centre(nice way to explore the area), but they have a free shuttlebus service.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    58
    39
    12
    7
See reviews for
15
45
10
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Such a comfortable, relaxing place!

Despite some of the reviews we read on Tripadvisor prior to our stay, the Palace Hotel is located only a short two minute walk from the city centre. It's a great place to stay with friendly staff, lovely food at the restaurant, a nice pool, clean modern decoration, and excellent modern rooms with a great shower!

We would definitely stay here if we were in Kota Kinabalu again, had all the hallmarks of a modern 4 star hotel from the UK!

Enjoy!...

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

The Palace Hotel check all our boxes: great pool, clean rooms, breakfast included... It became an oasis in KK - a place we enjoyed coming back to. The rooms were very comfortable and fully-equipped: A/C, TV, great showers, firm mattresses. The pool is great - workout facilities available, plus a garden area and sauna!

It's not a 'local' experience, but for affordable comfort in KK, the Palace Hotel can't be beat!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Booked a room through agoda. The hotel is situated just outside the city center. They offer great service and a nice pool and fitness center.
Good place to relax after some jungle adventures. Great breakfast menu! Everything from dumplings to chocopops.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I 've been to Kota Kinabalu for 5days,
from 27/12-31/12
rm are gd( but it offer me a pool level rm, no view), clean and tidy,
independent toliet, also clean
the rm is big and the a/c is gd.
the staff there are nice and helpful
and the breakfast is quite gd, numerous kind of food
5mins to the nearest big shopping arcade

the bad is no wifi at pool level(but it covered the hotel EXCEPT pool level)
and the transport offered by the hotel is pretty poor
only 3 shuttle bus per day(i am not kiding, only 3: 11:00, 15:00 and 18:00)
so u got to catch a cab all the time (RM 15 per ride)

i rank it a 4, bcoz of the pool level offer and bad transport, or not, it should get a 5~
:)

Room Tip: dun choose the pool level~
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

a nice hotel. everything is mere perfect. the food, services, pool, gym, parking, etc.. only apart from the city though but that's ok. i can go by taxi. the staff is really friendly and helpful at the same time leaving us with a good experience and will definitly coming back for sure. the things that bother me is the fact that the lack of ammenities.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kuching, Malaysia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Room is huge, modern and most importantly, clean. Beds are comfortable and flat screen TV and wifi with good reception is a plus. The aircon is not working in one out of the three rooms that we stayed in.

Swimming pool is small and crowded with people for most of the time when we were there. It seems like the pool is also being utilised for swimming lesson as there were parents standing around the pool, waiting for the coaching to end. Buffet breakfast is deicious and the spread is good.

Service standard is definitely below par, corridor outside our rooms was not cleaned, leaving the plates and rubbish on the floor. Despite informing the front desk to remove it, it was still there when we checked out. The female staff at the front desk are always helpful but not the other gentleman (presumably senior staff/manager), who appeared to be very unfriendly and egoistic when we requested for information.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Address: No 1 Jalan Tangki, Kota Kinabalu 88100 , Malaysia (Formerly Berjaya Palace Hotel)
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu
The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu Sabah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.