We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suites are fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   20 Jalan Aru, Tanjung Aru, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
35% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 97 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Suites are fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2006

We had originally booked an Horizon Club room and was a little disapointed. The room were Ok but not to our usual standard. I understand that they are all due to be refurbished this year. So at check in there was notes about upgrading to suites so we asked the cost.
We were show the Tanjung Executive site, it was simply stunning what was the cost? It was only going to be £50 per night so we decided to do it and it just ,made our holiday fantastic!
Eating at the hotel was very expensive compared to typical Malaysian meals cost for example £8 for sandwich and chips at lunch. Opposite the hotel was a great place to eat Beachbums only opened 4 weeks ago( sandwich and drink £1.50) great food, service and value.
Easy to get to KK and eat out at the waterfront where you are spoilt for choice, Seafood, Indian, ect
Horizon club was great for breakfast, evening cocktails and nibbles and free drinks during the day, when you need a rest from the sun.
This was the better hotel to stay at than the Rasa Ria, it too far from anything!
Lovely and quiet around the pools or you could find a nice quiet spot on the grass or beach. Health club was also very nice.
A great holiday

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,451
    720
    221
    71
    44
See reviews for
800
983
47
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (562)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2006

A pleasant stay overall. Positives include a good selection of restaurants including a mixed buffet breakfast; a not overly crowded pool and beach area; a good selection of water sports; very short journey from the airport. Negatives are costs (a beer would cost more than it would in London!); quite a small resort; few things to do outside the resort and in town (make sure you bring your insect spray!); and a lack of nightlife.

Stayed January 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2006

we loved this holiday so much we went back for a second holiday!!!!!! we had booked our holiday to borneo simply because my husband had always wanted to go. i read so many reviews before we went i ended up not wanting to go i was quite worried about what would greet us. we travelled with our 2 children then aged 12 and 8 and i worried for their safety. it could not have been more different never did i feel threatened or not safe the staff at the hotel could not have been more friendly or helpful. there was always a good selection of food and restaurants to eat in. the childrens club is the best one my children have ever been to and hold a party on friday nights so parents can also have a night off - fantastic!!! given the chance we will return again this year. on our second holiday we upgraded to the horizon club which included breakfast, soft drinks tea and coffee all day, free alcohol for 2 hours in the evening plus canapes and also free internet for half an hour per day it was well worth the extra money and the personal service we received was great with special thanks to jonny and beatrice who really looked after us not everyone has the same views on hotels but you cant go wrong with this one great for families and couples!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2006

We stayed at the STAR for 8 nights in January and overall the resort is great. Staff are very friendly, there are plenty of activities available for both adults and children and the rooms are lovely.
The only negative comments we have about the hotel is that it is very large and was full while we were there so there are a lot of people and this makes breakfast a little chaotic. Food was generally good in each of the restaurants we ate in. The cultural show and Malaysian buffet at Pulau Bayu was great but make sure you dont eat lunch that day.
The pool area is lovely as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
317 helpful votes 317 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2005

Having spent one night in Shangri-La Rasa Ria we decided to move to Tanjung Aru Resort. We were disappointed at the Rasa Ria for its remote location and for the somewhat worn-out look and feel. The decision was good as Tanjung Aru was much closer to Kota Kinabalu and if you wanted to venture out of the hotel you could do it. Rasa Ria was simply too far away from anything - even with a car.

We stayed at the newly renovated Tanjung Wing and the room was magnificient. The beach at the hotel is small but the big pool was great.

However as this is a very large hotel I got the feeling of being in a holiday factory - a feeling I haven't had in other places in Asia eventhough the hotels I have stayed have been as big as this one. There was something pretentiuos.

The restaurants were great. especially the beach front restaurant with its flairs in the evening made in magical. Despite, I wouldn't make an another thip to KOta Kinabalu just for this hotel.

The islands in front of Kota Kinabalu are great. There are boats (at a hefty charge of course) that will to take you to these islands fror a day trip. It's worth doing several islands if you come this far - diving and snorkeling is surprisingly good even this close to Kota Kinabalu town.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2005

A superb hotel, previos review says it all. We stayed in their basic room which is not supposed to have a view, the view was lovely. Food is fantastic, but with European prices which would be expected. Our room in the cheaper Kinabalu was excellent, we had a look at a suite in the Tanjung wing it was out of this world, beware, if you get one of these rooms you will be tempted to spend your holiday in the room. Staff were great.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2005

We have just retuned from a two week stay at the tanjung.This is the best large hotel we have stayed in.We did not upgrade to the Horizon Club as our package included breakfast anyway so it was not worth the extra to us.Breakfast in the Tu-Tu cafe was excellent and included European,Chinese,Indian and Malay options as well as an omelete bar.The food in the hotel was always of the highest quality though much more expensive than in KK. There is a hawker centre five minutes walk away providing great cheap local food.
Service from all staff was excellent and attentive so I must dis agree vigorously with previous comments.The reception staff were particularly efficient.
Our room was a deluxe in the tanjung wing,good size and great bathroom with top class toiletries.
A shuttle bus runs about eight times a day to KK for 4ringet return. Seafood lovers should not miss the Ocean Village restaurant, where you self select live seafood and it is cooked in a style of your liking.My reccomendation crab in spicey sauce. A meal for two with wine was about 30GBP.
A second bus runs to the sister hotel the Rasa Ria.Here they have a small wildlife reserve with six orangutan. You can watch them feed and then enjoy the hotel facilities
Finally do not miss the sunset bar happy hour 5-6 pm chill out with a dink and some good company.
We had a fantastic time and would highly reccomend this hotel

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa

Address: 20 Jalan Aru, Tanjung Aru, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A paradise for the senses surrounded by natural beautyA gentle breeze caresses your face as you wake to the sound of waves lapping the beach. The balcony opens up to an inspiring vista of sparkling coral islands and swaying of palm trees. Tunku Abdul Rahman Park, bordered by crystal clear waters and lush vegetation Sophistication surrounds you in a lavishly decorated suite inspired by Borneo’s rich cultural heritage. Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa, Kota Kinabalu, is a perfect tropical getaway, a luxurious tranquil retreat just a short drive from the city.Yet, excitement beckons as you set out to discover all Kota Kinabalu’s delights. Making your way to Kinabalu National Park, you are thrust into a jungle paradise of natural wonders, rugged landscapes and scenic beauty. From the Rafflesia, the largest flower in the world, to the famous Orangutans in their natural habitat, it only gets more breathtaking every step of the way.The afternoon is spent exploring the picturesque town of Kota Belud. As Sabah’s largest and most popular open market, you find gems of all sorts, ranging from handmade handicrafts to mouth-watering local delights like natural honey.Back at the resort, you look forward to a sunset cruise, which departs from STAR Marina, to catch Borneo's famous sunset. Not long after, you wind down at Coco-Joe’s Bar & Grill. Lounging atop one of the beach-dining platforms, over cocktails and a delectable seafood tower, you continue to enjoy the sound of overlapping waves on the shores of Sunset Beach. A pampering session at CHI, The Spa rounds off the day. With treatments based on traditional Asian healing philosophies, you lose yourself in an enchanted and indulgent journey, all on the resort’s private spa island.For every experience here, you are surrounded by natural beauty. And it all begins at Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa, Kota Kinabalu ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Tanjung Aru Resort And Spa
Shangri-La`s Tanjung Aru Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Shangri Las Tanjung Aru Resort
Shangri Las Tanjung Aru Hotel
Shangri La Kota Kinabalu
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.