We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall nice and perfect for family but food is really lacking” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   20 Jalan Aru, Tanjung Aru, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 93 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Hong Kong
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Overall nice and perfect for family but food is really lacking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

First time here and my two year old definitely love the water park. Staff are truly friendly and the spa is very good too. The only complain is the food, which they really do not make an afford about. I would love to see more local authentic food to be served here. They also have all the restaurants serving same food which is really not up to Shangri la's standard. I am now sitting in the restaurant which they claim to have barbecue at night, but end up to be the same menu as in the afternoon .. I am a golden circle jade member so a bit sad the see a Shangri la that does not live to the chains reputation.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,340
    672
    209
    72
    42
See reviews for
733
917
45
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (507)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Very close to the airport. Taxi cost RM30 from airport counter. less than 10 mins from airport.

Stayed 3 nights at the Kinabalu Wing.

Booked on Expedia, but when we reached the recep, we were offered an upgrade to Club room on the 7th floor for 150RM per night, which we thought was quite worth it cos of club floor privileges.

Room was nice and big, with lots of space and we had an amazing view of the blue sea. Very clean. Bathroom was really roomy too. The balcony was nice, although watch out for mozzies. (Hotel room provides electric mozzie eradicators though, so that was thoughtful)

Club floor is quieter at breakfast, and very pleasant. We had a very pleasant dinner there as well on the last night. Staff is wonderful, very approachable and friendly and always asking us to try different parts of the buffet spread.

Dinner at Tatu's was really impressive at RM95++, we thought it was good value for what you get. It's a bit crowded but I was there for the food. If you have a sweet tooth like me, you'll be really happy with the dessert section. Pink macaroons with choc filling. yum. (amongst other things like the chocolate fountain). Bring a relatively empty stomach. (which is hard to do in this hotel.)

MUST try Dim Sum at the Shang Palace. One of the best I've tried and really good value for money too.

This was a holiday with friends, but seems to be an ideal place for kids. (Many activities for free which I didn't try out)

For a luxurious and relaxing sea experience, try the Raja Laut Sunset Cruise. (ask the Star Marina Staff in advance though.)

Spa is lovely too. If you can afford it, go for it!

All in all, a lovely and relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for the 7th floor. Stayed at Kinabalu Wing, away from pool area. but all around quite quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

Just finished five days trip. We have stayed here four nights. The staffs are friendly, but some of them should be trained more. The beach and pool are also small. The scene is good. We have tried most of the restaurant and bar. The food is very nice.if you want to watch the sun set, pls go to sun set bar early to find a seat. It's always full.
At last, the package of the water sports are reasonable and the trainers and staffs are willing to serve and teach. It's a place for relax and refresh.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

From the gong announcing our arrival to peach coolers at the reception, we felt well taken care of. Rooms were spacious, modern, and clean. Common space was comfortable. Food was mostly good. Breakfast and dinner buffets had many options to choose from. A la carte dinner was hit or miss. Specialty Italian restaurant food was excellent. Their restaurants were pricey but the hotel is a bit of distance away from the town so it was much more convenient
to eat in. Overall we loved our stay there. If I can make any suggestion, scheduled shuttle bus service into the town would be very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Excellent, what a perfect holiday!

room, service, supplement, excellent!

they have pier and island trip, do not need to go downtown to join local tour!
and have trip to there every hour, thats sooooo convenient!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

it was my first time staying at Shangri-la. i was very impressed by the sunset boat trip! I was very glad that i signed up on this trip...truly wonderful.
The spa was very good as well.
We enjoyed the sweet corner as well. However, the buffet offered by the cafe was average. Nevertheless, it was value for money.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

A lovely resort, very clean and well attended, the staff are first class and always smiling and friendly. The food available is good, if a little expensive, but to be honest all costs in the hotel are roughly on a par to London prices for food and drink. Only downside is a lack of malaysian food on offer here, but there is a very good chinese restaurant on site.

The room was comfortable and cleaned regularly, the pool and all facilities are superb - this is the closest to a genuine 5* resort I have ever stayed at.

It's about £5 for a cab into the city, and the concierge is very knowledgeable about other restaurants and bars to try.

Room Tip: We booked 3 or 4 excursions via the hotel, which I highly recommend. They may be £10-20 more expensi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa

Address: 20 Jalan Aru, Tanjung Aru, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A paradise for the senses surrounded by natural beautyA gentle breeze caresses your face as you wake to the sound of waves lapping the beach. The balcony opens up to an inspiring vista of sparkling coral islands and swaying of palm trees. Tunku Abdul Rahman Park, bordered by crystal clear waters and lush vegetation Sophistication surrounds you in a lavishly decorated suite inspired by Borneo’s rich cultural heritage. Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa, Kota Kinabalu, is a perfect tropical getaway, a luxurious tranquil retreat just a short drive from the city.Yet, excitement beckons as you set out to discover all Kota Kinabalu’s delights. Making your way to Kinabalu National Park, you are thrust into a jungle paradise of natural wonders, rugged landscapes and scenic beauty. From the Rafflesia, the largest flower in the world, to the famous Orangutans in their natural habitat, it only gets more breathtaking every step of the way.The afternoon is spent exploring the picturesque town of Kota Belud. As Sabah’s largest and most popular open market, you find gems of all sorts, ranging from handmade handicrafts to mouth-watering local delights like natural honey.Back at the resort, you look forward to a sunset cruise, which departs from STAR Marina, to catch Borneo's famous sunset. Not long after, you wind down at Coco-Joe’s Bar & Grill. Lounging atop one of the beach-dining platforms, over cocktails and a delectable seafood tower, you continue to enjoy the sound of overlapping waves on the shores of Sunset Beach. A pampering session at CHI, The Spa rounds off the day. With treatments based on traditional Asian healing philosophies, you lose yourself in an enchanted and indulgent journey, all on the resort’s private spa island.For every experience here, you are surrounded by natural beauty. And it all begins at Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa, Kota Kinabalu ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Agoda, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Hotel.de, AsiaRooms, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Tanjung Aru Resort And Spa
Shangri-La`s Tanjung Aru Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Shangri Las Tanjung Aru Resort
Shangri Las Tanjung Aru Hotel
Shangri La Kota Kinabalu
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.