We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most Relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   20 Jalan Aru, Tanjung Aru, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 93 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Umina Beach, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Most Relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We spent 7 nights at this resort and had the most wonderful time. The housekeeping staff were excellent and rooms immaculate. I had a birthday while there and all the staff made this a most memorable one from rose petals on bed to all staff singing happy birthday. The staff are the most friendly at any hotel I have stayed at. The pool is perfect and grounds well looked after. If you ned to go away and relax this is a good choice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,340
    672
    209
    72
    42
See reviews for
733
917
45
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (507)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
xxx
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful hotel, wonderful warm friendly staff, good choice of restaurants. Accommodation great value, wonderful yoga sessions available in the spa. Food very expensive and nothing that really befits the area. Some wonderful and unbelievably cheap restaurants in KK and taxis are cheap into town.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

This was our third trip to this resort and just a special as the previous trips.
The accommodation was excellent and the service was exceptional. Value for money! They catered for dietary needs far better than any other has done in Australia or in other countries during the past 10 years of travelling abroad. They cannot do enough to ensure your holiday is the best!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I stayed for two nights in the Shangri-La Tanjung Aru. The following comments:
- remains the best choice in KK due to its superb location
- Rooms: rooms show their age. Apart from that, poorly stocked minibar (no chips, peanuts or anything to eat). No mosquito screens for the windows, therefore impossible to leave windows open at night. On the last day A/C did not function anymore and the telephone range from time to time, both possibly related to ongoing repair work. In the bathroom some faucets not working anymore. Good that a wall hanging toilet was installed - therefore quite clean.
- Breakfast buffet: Not much to talk about,large but canteen-style, geared towards feeding large groups rapidly. Towards the end many items are not replenished anymore (fruits....). Not very imaginative, also the choice of fruits is limited, which is regretful, considering that Malaysia is a tropical country.
- Service: Very good, staff very friendly.
- Pool large and nice
Two minor surprises/annoyances: On check-in I was told that I was upgraded to a better room on the club floor (or similar) but I was two times reminded that the upgrade does not entitle me to use the club lounge. Though I am happy to be upgraded, it seemed to be remarkably bad salesmanship. At least in airlines I have never been told on being upgraded to first class that I would not be entitled to use the first class lounge or that I would not be served the first class meals. I am not complaining here, it just seems to be a wasted opportunity for the Shangri-La to satisfy a customer. Instead they preferred to give a negative touch to a positive message.
Second point: I wanted very much to go to a local hawker stall. Having often been to Malaysia I enjoy the atmosphere and the food. It was impossible to get the location of such stalls from the concierge (who was very friendly and nice). Even when pointing out to him a specific stall I had seen, he told me: "This is very bad food, only the local people go there", which strikes me as unusual - in most places the locals tend to know where the good places are.
In summary, a nice enough resort, excellent location, wonderful sunset, definitely best in KK but probably resting on its laurels and not up to 5 star standard or the excellent Shangri-La level.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed in the Shangri La Tanjung Aru for 3 nights. The hotel did not let us down, the grounds are beautiful, clean, well maintained and have speactacular views over the Sea and the Islands of the Abdul Rahamn National Park. The pools is perfect!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I have stayed in Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa during April 2013 for 2 nights; this is my second time to stay in this hotel. My first stay was in 2003, STAR was renovating at that time.

In STAR, I could get what I expected from a five star hotel. However, I was surprised to learn that they have cancelled their shuttle bus service to K.K. city. I don’t expect they offer free shuttle bus service because when I stayed at The Magellan Sutera Resort in 2009, they charged me for the shuttle bus service. STAR is about 20 minutes’ drive from K.K. city (it is farther from K.K. city than Magellan is), it is quite inconvenient without the shuttle services. I need to hire a taxi to / from K.K. city, taxi fare is RM25 - RM30/trip, the most important is, sometimes it is not easy to get a taxi, especially during rainy days.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Top Contributor
297 reviews 297 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We expected excellence when booking a stay at this property and they did not disappoint us. We only stayed 1 night of our week long vacation in the island but this counts as the best place that we have stayed at. Service was excellent. The staff are always eager to assist you, always smiling and ready to help. Rooms and amenities are excellent as expected in any Shangrila Property. Wide spacious room with all the mods and cons. The hotel grounds, swimming pool are all beautiful. But the best part of our stay would be the view. Nothing beats having overflowing champagne whilst lying on sunbeds and watching a gorgeous view of the sunset. This is one stay to remember.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room in the Tanjung Wing facing the South China Sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa

Address: 20 Jalan Aru, Tanjung Aru, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A paradise for the senses surrounded by natural beautyA gentle breeze caresses your face as you wake to the sound of waves lapping the beach. The balcony opens up to an inspiring vista of sparkling coral islands and swaying of palm trees. Tunku Abdul Rahman Park, bordered by crystal clear waters and lush vegetation Sophistication surrounds you in a lavishly decorated suite inspired by Borneo’s rich cultural heritage. Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa, Kota Kinabalu, is a perfect tropical getaway, a luxurious tranquil retreat just a short drive from the city.Yet, excitement beckons as you set out to discover all Kota Kinabalu’s delights. Making your way to Kinabalu National Park, you are thrust into a jungle paradise of natural wonders, rugged landscapes and scenic beauty. From the Rafflesia, the largest flower in the world, to the famous Orangutans in their natural habitat, it only gets more breathtaking every step of the way.The afternoon is spent exploring the picturesque town of Kota Belud. As Sabah’s largest and most popular open market, you find gems of all sorts, ranging from handmade handicrafts to mouth-watering local delights like natural honey.Back at the resort, you look forward to a sunset cruise, which departs from STAR Marina, to catch Borneo's famous sunset. Not long after, you wind down at Coco-Joe’s Bar & Grill. Lounging atop one of the beach-dining platforms, over cocktails and a delectable seafood tower, you continue to enjoy the sound of overlapping waves on the shores of Sunset Beach. A pampering session at CHI, The Spa rounds off the day. With treatments based on traditional Asian healing philosophies, you lose yourself in an enchanted and indulgent journey, all on the resort’s private spa island.For every experience here, you are surrounded by natural beauty. And it all begins at Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa, Kota Kinabalu ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Agoda, Hotel.de, AsiaRooms, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Tanjung Aru Resort And Spa
Shangri-La`s Tanjung Aru Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Shangri Las Tanjung Aru Resort
Shangri Las Tanjung Aru Hotel
Shangri La Kota Kinabalu
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.