We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for a hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Klagan Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Klagan Hotel to your Saves list
The Klagan Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ground Floor, Block D - Warisan Square | Jalan Tun Fuad Stephens, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 97 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great value for a hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Chose this hotel based on reviews on trip advisor and was not disappointed. The rooms are clean and spacious, hope that they can maintain this. It's a newly renovated space, so it'll be up to the management - the bathrooms are clean however the plastic shower curtain in my room was not sufficient and the bathroom floor flooded w water after every shower. My friend had a similar room but his bathroom had a sliding glass door that fell off its track. Unfortunately, these are issues with design and maintenance. The bed and pillows are very comfortable, as are the bed linens and towels provided. Wi-Fi worked without any issue throughout the hotel. The staff are pleasant. Location of hotel is excellent with food, shopping and entertainment literally at the doorstep. Overall a good experience, I would go back there for a no-frills comfortable clean safe stay.

Room Tip: We asked for a non-smoking room on the high floors, but since the rooms are spread across 8, 9, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    108
    39
    11
    2
See reviews for
31
57
14
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ipoh, Malaysia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I've stayed here with my husband for 3 nights. Both of us had a pleasant stay. We stayed at a superior room on level 9. It's a very spacious room,with a view of South China Sea. The bed is big and comfortable. There's separate WC,basin and bath tub in the bathroom.
The buffet breakfast is served at the Wanyan Rooftop Cafe, where you can enjoy a fabulous seaview from the rooftop cafe while having the first meal of the day. There's variety food such as fried rice, fried noodles, varieties of fruits, salads, eggs, cakes, muffins, croissants, bread toast, ham, baked beans, fruit juices, milk, coffee and tea.
The hotel is located in the Warisan Square. You can mentioned to the taxi driver about the Warisan Square if they are not sure about the location of the Klagan Hotel. This hotel is very near to the Filipinos market, where you can get varieties of local souvenirs as well as the local tit bits, like kuih cincin. Some more you can also get lots of sea products, like seaweeds and scallops.
The cheap and nice seafood is 20 minutes away from the hotel. Take a walk towards Pasar Besar. The varieties of seafood stalls are just immediately after the Pasar Besar. Choose your favorite seafood and ask the seller to cook the way you want.
Because of this hotel is located in the Warisan Square, that's why it's very convenient, if you need to buy any personal cares. There's also a money changer located in the Warisan Square.
If you wish to go to Taman Tunku Abdul Rahman, you just need to walk to the harbor to purchase the boat ticket.

Room Tip: Choose the top floor (level 10) rooms, because the breakfast is served above the level 10.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kajang, Malaysia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Good points:
Clean
Good location
Near to the shopping malls, handicraft markets - 5mins walking distance
Nice little touches: Ironing facilities, international adaptor, prayer mat
Spacious bedroom

Bad points:
Carpet smells slightly musty

Highly recommended. Well worth the money

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunei
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Paying RM210 w/breakfast for superior room, the room is large and spacious. The lobby doesnt look appealing,however thats not a problem as long as the hotel room is comfortable.

Breakfast at the rooftop, breakfast choices is typical continental buffet.

Would recommend friends to stay at this hotel. For Kota Kinabalu standard,this hotel is considered good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

It's the first time I came back after they changed it from imperial international to the klagan, and i must say that i'm quite impressed. The rooms might be the same as before but it's still as comfortable & spacious. Of course the carpets might be a bit worn out but i dont mind it at all. The location is still a plus point as well (it's attached to warisan square & has centre point mall right in front of it). And an important note to all guest who're driving their own cars (cuz it drives me a bit crazy trying to find info on parking since the place is quite notorious for being busy most of the time); do rejoice since the current management lets you parked your car anywhere inside (not the outside parking) the warisan square building with no charges at all. All you need to do is take the ticket & get it stamped from the hotel's receptionist. Definitely another plus point for me :-)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

We booked a superior room at this hotel. I found this hotel worth staying. Positive points as below:
1. Check in and check out were fast and efficient. Staff were helpful.
2. Ample parking space as the hotel is attached to Warisan Square. Free if we get stamp from the front desk.
3. Bedroom is spacious, furnitures are new and modern. Clean and well maintained both bedroom and bathroom. King size bed.
4. Free wifi.
5.Walking distance to Pasar Philipines, Waterfront, Wet Market and we can even walked to Sunday Market.
6.Short drive to Jetty for Island hopping.

Our room booking didnt come with breakfast, so i cant comment on the food.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

we stayed here twice between april and may, rather happy with the first visit, but soured by the second. had a seaview deluxe room which was worth it for the view and we considered the room to be a good value first time around (very convenient location, decent size room, comfy bed, bathroom with bathtub, wifi worked without complaint). one drawback is that the windows should open but are permanently screwed shut. contrary to a previous review I didn't notice any smell of cigarette in the non smoking rooms we stayed (maybe a little bit in the hall, but not the rooms). free buffet breakfast was decent.

what soured the stay the second time around a week later was that as of may 2013 the management had increased room rates slightly (fair enough) and decided that 'free breakfast' only means that they need to give one buffet coupon per room, even if two people are staying in the room, so the second person has to pay. what annoying penny pinching!

Room Tip: the building is a square plan, with an inner courtyard. some rooms face this inner courtyard, which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Klagan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Klagan Hotel

Address: Ground Floor, Block D - Warisan Square | Jalan Tun Fuad Stephens, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 97 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Klagan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE KLAGAN HOTEL, Kota Kinabalu, Sabah is strategically located in the heartland of city-centre encompasses 208-fully refurbished guests rooms will be an ideal choice for your next holiday or business destination. With just a mere 10-minute drive from Kota Kinabalu International Airport and walking distance to the shopping arcades, KK Waterfront Esplanade and the Filipino Market, we at The Klagan Hotel welcomes you with the Sabahan hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Klagan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Klagan Hotel Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Klagan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.