We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, spacious rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Klagan Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Klagan Hotel to your Saves list
The Klagan Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Unit 25 - 28 Ground Floor, Block D | Warisan Square, Jalan Tun Fuad Stephens, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 93 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent location, spacious rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

The bets thing about the hotel is its location literally in the middle of the KK city center. It is right across from Centerpoint Mall and the hotel is within the Warisan Square. The Filipino Market is within reasonable walking distance as well as the night seafood center. Taxis and buses are easily accessible.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    95
    34
    9
    2
See reviews for
28
50
12
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed for four nights and believe that the value we got for the price was quite good.

The hotel is located in central Kota Kinabalu very close to the night market etc. It is though 10-15 minutes walk away from the pier, the larger and more modern shopping centers and the most popular restaurants so if you do mind to walk through the town to access those (it is a nice and interesting walk though) this is a price worthy choice. I personally preferred this part of the small town compared to the slightly more modern north parts.

There is a large and slightly older shopping mall just at the opposite side of the road from the main entrance that is more interesting than the more modern shopping centers further away (more locals, better prices, decent supermarkets, atms, interesting local restaurants etc).

The hotel is approximately 15 minutes away from the airport but it could take much longer if the traffic is bad so plan for at least 30-40 when traveling to the airport.

The rooms are BIG and very quiet. You do not hear any traffic nor is disturbed by the air condition that is very quiet. The beds are large and good. The bathroom is good as well. We had a huge, interestingly designed, red coach in the room where we could enjoy the view of the harbor which we enjoyed a lot.

The service is good, helpful and very friendly.

The breakfast varies slightly in selection and quality over the days we stayed. Sometimes it was more friendly to western preferences and sometimes more to Asian preferences. There is however always enough choice to make everyone happy with fresh fruits, customized omelets etc. The view from the restaurant at the top of the building was quite nice.

Room Tip: To rooms facing west have the best sea view (preferred). The rooms facing east has a view over the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights and loved the huge room! It was the most spacious room since our departure from home about 5 weeks ago. also one of the cleanest.

Nice Bathroom, great shower.

Internet access was a bit of a pain, quite slow and you had to get an extra access code for every single device - we're travelling with for of them...

Staff was very friendly and helpful! No matter what we asked for. Mini bar fridge did not work and was replaced ithin 10 minutes from letting them know about it.

Fantastic brekky on the rooftop with waffles made to order, yum!

Perfect city center location, handy to markets, restaurants, waterfront, shopping...

Would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Atrium Rooms don't have view and are smaller, nxtbromtype up is just perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Great location, near the jetty, the waterfront, shopping malls, fish market..
Rooms are brand new, huge, clean, with safe, air con, and great mattresses.
Breakfast is good, a lot of choice, both western (waffles, pancakes..made to order) and eastern dishes.
The hotel does not have a lot of charm, definitely not a boutique style one, but I have nothing to complain about!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Klagan upon arrival and departure from our trip to KK due to its location and were pleased with the spacious, clean rooms. The bathrooms are particularly lovely and the shower is the best in all of Borneo! That said, the Internet connection was slow and intermittent. Each device needed a different access code, so as a family we needed to share codes each time we wanted to go online. The hotel was also a bit disappointing on our second stay. Check in time is 2:00 pm and upon arriving at 4:00 pm from an afternoon at the islands (in our swimsuits), we were informed at our room was not ready and had to sit in the lobby in our wet suits for a half hour. The location is good - plenty of restaurants to choose from and just across the street from Centre Point mall.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasir Gudang, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Newly renovated hotel. Checked in just after midnight... Very tired, the access to the hotel was not designed for a wheel chair, nevertheless not to worry no damage done.
Booked for a bigger room , came with my son... room was huge.. the rest room (toilet dah) was OKU or for the physically challenge... I gave a 9/10...The hot shower was great...

Morning bfast day 1 challenge myself to climb more then 10 sets to the coffee house with a great view of the sea..... B fast OK,, next two days they had my bfast send to the room...BUSY WORKING no day trips sightseeing.. too bad

Room Tip: Good location near to the IKAN KERING (DRIED FISH) Market..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandakan, Sabah, Malaysia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Room: The room are spacious and large. It has a ideal lighting and also a comfortable sofa near the window. My room is DELUXE which is a SEAVIEW room. Fantastic view on the sunset just in front the South China Sea. The aircon encounter some problem and hotel had clarify that it due tot he chiller which still in service. Anyway the room temperature acceptable.

Minibar: the room provide the fridge but EMPTY. hahahahaa is ok.. as i also seldom consume the minibar except of course instant coffee and tea.

Bathroom - spacious, Clean and clear. Shower rain separated with the bathtub... and exciting is I can watch TV direct from the bathtub as the bathroom walls are GLASS.. hahaha.. complete shower cap, razor and even toothbrush.

Location: just located opposite of CENTRE POINT SABAH which is the major shopping mall located at heart of the town of KK. The hotel location had many convenient store, shops and even restaurant around.

Service - Staff is friendly and smile always. Very helpful when I request information

Value: Price a little bit expensive. As a 3 star hotel, the price might high a bit however the price pay off as it located at walking distance to major shopping area. Wifi free at my room and excellent connection.

F&B: Available and of course limited choices. However the foods quality are nice. I take double plate during the breakfast. The pricing of food are at reasonable price.

Room Tip: Higher room gives excellent view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Klagan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Klagan Hotel

Address: Unit 25 - 28 Ground Floor, Block D | Warisan Square, Jalan Tun Fuad Stephens, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 93 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Klagan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE KLAGAN HOTEL, Kota Kinabalu, Sabah is strategically located in the heartland of city-centre encompasses 208-fully refurbished guests rooms will be an ideal choice for your next holiday or business destination. With just a mere 10-minute drive from Kota Kinabalu International Airport and walking distance to the shopping arcades, KK Waterfront Esplanade and the Filipino Market, we at The Klagan Hotel welcomes you with the Sabahan hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, AsiaRooms, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Klagan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Klagan Hotel Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Klagan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.