We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newly renovated” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Klagan Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Klagan Hotel to your Saves list
The Klagan Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Unit 25 - 28 Ground Floor, Block D | Warisan Square, Jalan Tun Fuad Stephens, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 93 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Kota Kinabalu
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Newly renovated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

This used to be the Imperial International Hotel that currently took over by other company, I guess! After renovation, this is much much better than the previous one. Friendly staffs. Everything inside the room seems brand new, clean, comfortable and flawless. Brighter light than before. Fast speed of WiFi. Nevertheless, I stayed at 9th floor, and 10th floor (the top) seems like still being under construction or further renovation. So, no surprise to expecting some noise from the up floor starting from 8am, even on Saturday! Other than this, everything is fine.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    96
    34
    9
    2
See reviews for
28
51
12
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
252 reviews 252 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
251 helpful votes 251 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We have stayed in KK twice before, once at the 5* Shangri La and another time at Eden 54, the backpacking hostel. Both great and at different ends of the spectrum. The Klagan is somewhere in between but offers fantastic value for money.
I'm not a fan of mid range hotels, I find them depressing. I would rather blow out or rough it. When we booked a room here therefore as part of a group of friends traveling, expectations were low.
I was very pleasantly suprised therefore by both the room and the fantastic location.
We supersized our booking and had a large room overlooking the harbourfront which for GBP50 or Sing$100 per night was excellent value. It was comnfortable and clean and just a stride from the pubs and restaurants.
Minor issues with this hotel include:
- no breakfast
- corridors haven't been brought up to the same standard as the rooms / lobby (doesn't really matter but you feel like you are in the set of the Shining once you leave your room!)
- no mini bar
but for the price we paid, there is very little to compain about.

Room Tip: Choose a harbour view room its worth the extra tenner
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
255 reviews 255 reviews
128 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
285 helpful votes 285 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

This is one of the best value you can encounter. The hotel is perfectly located in front ot the waterfront. There are amenities all around it. It is modern, clean, with great decor and the deluxe rooms are spacious with great bathrooms and amazing landscape views of the bay. The staff was very nice. Everything was perfect .

Room Tip: Get a deluxe room on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangi Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012 via mobile

Our twin bed Room was spacious, clean & beautiful. Lodation : situated in a shopping mall. Parking is free, staff are courteous & helpful. Wifi available for multiple devices based on request. Booked via iphone thru Agoda on the spot since we were very disappointrd with Hotel Imperial Boutec in the sama shopping complex

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

This is a nice hotel, although a bit on the expensive side. Rates range from 175 to 250 ringgit. However, it has large rooms with hanging closet space and desk space as well as places to lay out suitcase besides the floor. The bathroom is large with a separate shower and tub. The beds are very comfortable. The deluxe rooms have an unobstructed view of the ocean with large viewing windows, great views of the sunsets and islands.

There is no restaurant or breakfast included. The staff was helpful and the lobby area was in the process of adding a sitting and lounge area, not sure what else was being added. However, the hotel really didn't seem to be oriented too much toward tourists. No tour desk or even brochures in the lobby.

I would definitely stay here again, it is located across from Centre Mall so lots of eating places in the basement food court.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are worth the extra money for the great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Klagan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Klagan Hotel

Address: Unit 25 - 28 Ground Floor, Block D | Warisan Square, Jalan Tun Fuad Stephens, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 93 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Klagan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE KLAGAN HOTEL, Kota Kinabalu, Sabah is strategically located in the heartland of city-centre encompasses 208-fully refurbished guests rooms will be an ideal choice for your next holiday or business destination. With just a mere 10-minute drive from Kota Kinabalu International Airport and walking distance to the shopping arcades, KK Waterfront Esplanade and the Filipino Market, we at The Klagan Hotel welcomes you with the Sabahan hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, AsiaRooms, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Klagan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Klagan Hotel Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Klagan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.