We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and Bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hii-5 Hotel

Hii-5 Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hii-5 Hotel to your Saves list
Hii-5 Hotel
Lot 7,Block A, SEDCP Complex, Jln Laiman Diki, Kpg Air, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 93 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good and Bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Much like the ladyboys who ply their trade in the area, first appearances of this hotel can be deceptive.

The interior is modern and clean, but poorly designed, with a strange toilet-shower room setup that just meant you got water everywhere and the air conditioning was too weak and gave no protection from mosquitoes, I found I had to cover myself in deet when I went to bed to avoid being bitten.

Having said that, the staff were helpful (if you managed to bridge the language barrier), and the room was regularly cleaned. The hotel is ideally situated for exploring KK and is just around the corner from the long-distance bus station. It is certainly a step up from the bug infested hostels in the area for a not much greater price.

Gaya is maybe one of the seedier parts of KK, but has a little more vibrancy for that reason.

I would consider staying at the hotel again if I returned to KK.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    11
    7
    3
    4
See reviews for
1
14
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I've never left a bad review on trip advisor, but this was a special case to warn other travellers. The room was very dirty, the bed sheets were stained and had hair on them, they were supposed to be white, more like a grey/brown colour; there was insects in the room on arrival and the hotel was really smelly. Even though they provide coffee facilities in the room, the mugs were so dirty we wouldn't go near them, no water provided. The shower room was ok, but it didn't look as though it had been cleaned since the last guest. We was going to complain, but checking in was difficult due to the language barrier, so figured complaining probably wasn't going to get us anywhere. We did a climb up the mountain, so fancied a long sleep and lazy morning the day after - however, the cleaner was up very early (3.30am on the phone in the corridor outside our room) and then again at 7am to clean some of the rooms (ironic), he was making such a racket, couldn't believe it. Talking on the phone, hoovering the corridors etc.
The fire alarm went off at one point, so we looked for a fire exit, only to realise that it was locked and we couldn't get out (I'm sure that's against the law). No-one came to tell us this was a false alarm (couldn't smell smoke so assumed false alarm). We just waited in the corridor with other guests for the alarm to stop and went back to our room. Really bad service.
Overall, it was a miserable hotel and I wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Great hotel at a very reasonable price. Rooms were clean, modern and well furnished. Lots of horizontal surfaces to put things on. Flat screen TV and new aircon. Located slightly further away from the main tourist area near the end of Gaya St, but the town is small so still within walking distance. The hotel happily stored our bags for free while we climbed Mt Kinabalu. Great stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melaka, Melaka, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The hotel location is just located at the back of Seafood Restaurant Kg Air and near to Asia City. Asia City Welcome Seafood Restaurant is just walking distance. But we are lost at the roundabout and call hotel to help. The receptionist seems like don't understand our English and we don't understand her BM. At last, we spent a hour to find the hotel.
In the other hand, the hotel room is quite nice. I like the room painting. The room is equipped with hot shower, LCD TV, mineral water, towel, and wifi.
The location is very great as it is walking distance to the city and we walk to Gaya street, Philipino market, and shopping. It is good to walk because parking are limited and you can enjoy the city view by walking.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

air cond couldn't cope; stained sheets; small small small room; poor shower facility (no shower curtain to contain water, strange shower system & nozzle); had issues with WiFi. I booked for two of us & another guy booked upon my recommendation. None of us stayed more than 1 night. Construction site next door did not make for a good night sleep.

good location though.

would have been better if much cheaper. We paid a few extra MYR and moved to another hotel which was much much better than Hii5

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The stay in thisn hotel was very pleasant, location is really good, next to the biggest fish restaurant court of KK, next to Centre Point shopping centre, and only 10 minutes walk away from Gaya Street.
Also there are local food courts that really need a visit.
They're still working on the building next door but it wasn't disturbing at all.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hue, Vietnam
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We've stayed here twice and each time we found it value for money and worth staying in. It has a few downsides like no real communal area but otherwise a good place to rest your head. Not all of the staff speak good English but someone will be around if you ask. Good that the hotel has tea and coffee making facilities, shampoo and soaps plus TV and not showers. Will provide you with extras if you request it. Also good that the hotel has local bakers and food courts locally...

Room Tip: Don't get a room which faces onto the construction site e.g 101-105 and 201-205 etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hii-5 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hii-5 Hotel

Address: Lot 7,Block A, SEDCP Complex, Jln Laiman Diki, Kpg Air, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 93 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Odigeo so you can book your Hii-5 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hii-5 Hotel Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hii-5 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.