We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Dimsum buffet” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Chinese Restaurant

The Chinese Restaurant
Jalan Datuk Salleh Sulong | Hyatt Hotel, Kota Kinabalu 88991, Malaysia
088-221234
Improve this listing
Ranked #131 of 344 Restaurants in Kota Kinabalu
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Disappointing Dimsum buffet”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

me and few friends having our dimsum session every month and were looking forward to this restaurant cause we heard its the best.

to our misery its not satisfactory, few selection of dimsum, taste not very good, not what u expect from hyatt.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    0
    0
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delightful Chinese food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The restaurant was a small and quiet restaurant located in the resort complex. The food offered a good variety of Chinese dishes. The prices were very reasonable, and the service was good. You could eat as much or as little as you required.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Chinese Restaurant Hyatt Hotel, Kota Kinabalu National Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Thanks I receive your email and review. You and your friends who traveler in Kota Kinabalu this Sptember-October 2013.

But I canceled last week I cannot get to go to KK city. If you want to go to visit and traveler in KK national park, when your friends may be next coming in KK traveler, sharing with me.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“old farm Chinese restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

This place is opposite the city magistrates court and next to a Shell petrol station. We ate here 3 times and the food was outstanding.
Doesn't serve pork products so it is halal.
The prawns and seafood are its speciality and they were all terrific, service good, drinks excellent, portion size really good, price good.

Little Tip
Either go before 1830 or after 2030 otherwise you will find it hard to get a table as its very popular

If you do go say hi to James a young local lad who clears the tables, never seen someone work so hard.. we tipped him when we went we was over the moon...

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Just wasn't good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

We went for lunch on a Saturday had Dim Sum and one chicken dish and it just wasn't good.

The Dim Sum was bland and the chicken with Chili wasn't even remotely spicy.

There must be better Chinese food in KK?

  • Visited February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Chinese Restaurant also viewed

Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 

Been to The Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chinese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.