We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bike Borneo Day Tours

Bike Borneo Day Tours
Lot S-2-11, 2nd Floor, Block C, Kota Kinabalu 88300, Malaysia
006088484734
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 84 Activities in Kota Kinabalu
Type: Tours, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bike Borneo offer mountain biking and cycling tours in Sabah Malaysia. All routes are inspired rides by the Sabah-based mountain biking experts. Nobody knows Borneo like we do. Perfect for thrill seekers through to families!Bike Borneo DO NOT employ agents to enhance our Tripadvisor listing, our reviews are all 100% genuine. We welcome any improvements that Tripadvisor may introduce to inhibit this misleading practice.
Antwerp
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Amazing experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We did the 2 day trip & In short: great guides! (friendly, helpful, knowledgable, patient, funny & ...) a wonderful and challenging route to follow and conquer (but even if you're not crazy fit, you can still take it on at your own pace) great tips from Steve (our mountain bike coach/guide) an amazing hike through actual jungle with Sly (our support ute driver & local guide) on a newly cut trail (absolutely breathtaking!!!) and a very lovely evening & good night's sleep at a homestay. Plenty of snacks, food & drinks along the way & good dinner and breakfast. I can only say great things about this adventure and think it's the best way to see "real" Borneo :) Thanks again so much guys! Cheers, Kells

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    8
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great day with fantastic guide.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

I have been on numerous bike day tours, in several countries. I enjoyed this ride very much. As females we felt safe travelling with this company, nothing sleazy or off...just hassle-free, genuine, friendly and enthusiastic staff.

It felt like an adventure (loved the suspension bridges and downhill sections), there was loads to see and learn about from our super informed guide, Alex. Locals waved and said hello to us. There was some (short) uphill sections which met my need for something a bit challenging.

When one bike needed looking at, our leader Alex was good humoured, patient and optimistic. He got us going again in no time.

Alex was a great leader.

Steve was ever helpful and supportive, providing replenishing sports drinks etc. at regular intervals to help us stay well hydrated in the heat.

Thank you Bike Borneo for a wonderful experience.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
1 review
“bike borneo day tour”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The guide was a very friendly and spoke English exceptionally well. Everything was fine except the 'adventure' of the ride. The bikes were of good quality BUT my son and I who are quite alright at mountain bike 'trail' riding were kept at a beginners pace doing a beginners dirt track. The scenery was nice but we wanted to do MOUNTAIN BIKING. An extra couple of different skill level lowered our ability to do any real mountain biking. We rode at jogging speed and were kept to a 4WD (four wheel drive) track. We were even told that there was interesting trails and exciting rides just off the track but we couldn't check it out because we were limited to doing what the least able person was capable of doing. Considering how expensive the ride is they could have afforded a second riding instructor who would give us what we expected to get from the ride.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BikeBorneo, Manager at Bike Borneo Day Tours, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Hi Dennis E,


First of all I would like to thank you for providing your honest feedback. We strive to constantly improve our service and receiving honest feedback such as this is absolutely critical to this goal being achieved. I would like to extend our apologies that the Tuaran Day Ride didn't totally match up to your expectations. We pride ourselves on being able to tailor rides to our clients and attempt to offer a range of rides at varying levels of difficulty. Unfortunately as with any tour of this kind there is always a chance there are slower participants within the group. We try to minimise this by clearly outlining the difficulty of the ride and the kind of rider it is aimed at. With larger groups (6+) where possible we do have multiple guides on our rides to allow for varying abilities, unfortunately on this occasion this wasn't the case. Once again thank you so much for your feedback and we hope to see you and your son on the trails of Sabah again sometime soon.

Kind regards,

Steve Chapman,

Operations Manager,

Bike Borneo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A brilliant ride in Tuaran”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Had a great ride with Dan in Tuaran in Sept. i was the only one in the group and he tailored the ride for me. Went on many swing bridges, rode through local villages, past a rubber factory where we watched the raw rubber being delivered and along the picturesque country side.
There was no rush and I'm sorry it couldnt go on longer. Finished with a lovely lunch in a local village. Can well recommend the ride for all levels. Dan is an experience biker and a great guide.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lived up to reputation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

After over a month in Borneo, doing many recommended and crazy activities we did this Bike ride. And it exceeded all expectations. It is a great company with all qualified and professional guides which can be hard to find in this area. The ride was great with many obstacles and was a great self achievement at the end even though it was not too tough which is what we wanted. There was a car readily available if anything happened and cold drinks whenever desired. Big ups for the Amazing food that finished the day in a great venue. We are so glad we did this, we seen stuff we still haven't seen although we have been here a while now!! Big ups guys!!! Top humor as well..

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bike Borneo Day Tours also viewed

Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 

Been to Bike Borneo Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bike Borneo Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.