We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely island” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sapi Island

Sapi Island
Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
60178960341
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Sapi Island like an insider
Private Tour
$62*
and up
Private Tour: Gaya Island Hike and Zipline...
Attraction details
Chengdu, China
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“lovely island”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We went there for a day. The beach is white, however the sea water is average. The water is cleaner in the morning than in the afternoon. We rent masks and life vest on the island, and left the island at 4pm. Generally, we had a fun time there.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    289
    180
    48
    14
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Very nice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

It's a very nice place! Go for a walk in the forest and than have a rest swimming in the water, it's a great experience and view! Then try the restaurant on the beach, it's a little bit expensive but it's good!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Worth a trip as long as expectations are realistic!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

We took a trip here from the Shangri La resort. We went to Mamatik the previous day. The boat dropped a couple of people at another island first then went on to Sapi, we enjoyed the longer boat trip. The island is small and busy, but we were shown the best beach, and told by our guide from the hotel which were the best places to eat, to snorkel, where to see the monitor lizards, the monkeys, where the toilets were etc. he also gave us beach mats as there are no sun loungers on this island. We found a pleasant spot to sit under the shade of the trees. There were giant monitor lizards crawling around some tables behind us, and we spotted a monkey in the trees. The wildlife was quite a hit with my children! The snorkelling was better than at Mamutik, lots of fish and fairly clear water, you did have to swim a little further out to get to the better coral, but the sea is quite calm and safe. It is not as spectacular as Thailand snorkelling, but still plenty to see and enjoy. We didn't use the toilets, or buy food here. There is some rubbish and litter on the beach, and it was certainly busy, but we stayed there for a couple of hours happily, brought a picnic with us, mostly swimming,snorkelling, and wildlife watching.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Good for snorkeling, swim. There is a one big restaurant, one dive shop. During holiday, it is over crowded.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puchong, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Nice for a short visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Short speed boat ride from Jesselton Jetty (20mins). Small island, relatively clean and less crowd in the morning. We had simple breakfast at the cafe. People started coming after 10am, then it became no longer fun. The water was clear and little fishes everywhere. Nice place to chill out for few hours.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sapi Island also viewed

Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 

Been to Sapi Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sapi Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.