We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of English Tea House & Restaurant, Kota Kinabalu

English Tea House & Restaurant, Kota Kinabalu
Alamesra | Lot 58, Block G, Lorong Plaza Permai 2, Kota Kinabalu 88400, Malaysia
088448631
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #181 of 342 Restaurants in Kota Kinabalu
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Asian, Malaysian, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Description: The English Tea House and Restaurant, Kota Kinabalu offers the very best of traditional British cuisine at an affordable price. Whether you are looking for tea and a scone, a quick lunch or a full evening meal The English Tea House has a wide range of English and Asian favourites. With its cosy tea room feel, the restaurant welcomes couples, families and groups into its friendly and relaxing environment.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Good Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Experienced the english delights and delicacies especially the scone the texture soft and tender. The environment so green and peace.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    3
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“We went there twice during our 5D4N trip!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

First time we went there for brunch (woke up late due to the party last night).
We ordered a soup, a platter, Shepherds Pie, Fish & Chips and Bread and Butter Pudding with Custard as our dessert.

Shepherds Pie is very filling, more than enough for a lady. Fish & Chips is good because the fish is fresh and the chips is not normal-McDonalds french fries. Overall we are happy with our food. So on the last day of our trip, we went back to have tea-time before heading to airport. we ordered a Scones Tea Set. To be honest, I still prefer the scones at SmokeHouse but this one not too bad, the strawberry jam is fresh and nice.

Good value for money.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloocan, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good for breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

Just situated next to Jesselton Point, the place looks style, but quite ancient as well. We had a very relaxed and delicious breakfasts there in a tasteful place. There were served various English dishes for your choice. We took sandwishes fries and a cup of tea. Good value for money too.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Scones!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

If there is one thing this restaurant is famous for, it is their scones! Really yummy!

  • Visited June 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The scones are to die for.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

Serve fresh and really good English scones if you are a fan. Also available , a good choice of English western food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed English Tea House & Restaurant, Kota Kinabalu also viewed

Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 

Been to English Tea House & Restaurant, Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage English Tea House & Restaurant, Kota Kinabalu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.