We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant court” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Night Market, Kota Kinabalu

Night Market, Kota Kinabalu
Waterfront, Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Henderson, Nevada, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Restaurant court”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

This isn't from the food standpoint so much a night market like you might have seen in Thailand. Rather its a square surrounded on all sides with primarily seafood restaurants and shared seating in the center. It's quite large and open to the air. I arrived after the non-food portion had closed so perhaps the orientation was different earlier.

I ate at a seafood place that was quite similar to a Cantonese one in china. It has a lot of live shellfish and eel and fish and you choose your poison, or poisson, if you speak French. The place was called hui ha Food was fine but a bit flavorless and the local chili sauce not much help for my palate. I'd also recommend ordering a beer by size and not just asking for a beer as they will bring you the big size which can be too much for some. All in all though, service was fine and I wouldn't steer others away from it. Just realize its not a food stall place with a tn of local variety.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    44
    31
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
74 attraction reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“Lots of fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I love the idea of being part of the community, and what better way to do this than go where the people eat.
Choose the type of fish you want and watch it cook on one of the many bbq's and then eat it at a shared table. A 500gm squid cost me AUD$5 on 2 different occasions and was amazing. Also had some beautiful snapper and prawns and fresh coconut drinks.
Stroll around looking at the meat and fish section where locals buy food for their home... certainly enlightening.
Enjoy the smells and take your camera for some amazing photos.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Amazing choice of fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We ate here 3 out of our 5 nights. The choice of dishes was not limited to fish, but how could you not!!! It's a must visit for anyone going to KK. The view of the sunset from the promenade by the night market is the best ever.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, great food, great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Best part was the choice of eateries.

Pick your own fish from the counter - all caught within past 24 hours - and have it cooked to your taste.

Largest tiger prawns ever !!

Great taste and flavours.

But - don't get too precious about the washing up arrangements!! We saw it after we ate the food, definitely the best way!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Food is great market is poor.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

The noodles are great, the seafood is hit and miss. The market is a large amount of the same thing. The quality of the market compared to Hong Kong or china is poor.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Night Market, Kota Kinabalu also viewed

Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 

Been to Night Market, Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Night Market, Kota Kinabalu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.