We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice clean hotel and good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zara's Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Zara's Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Zara's Boutique Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Harbour City, Kota Kinabalu | Jalan Pantai Baru, Sembulan,, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 97 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice clean hotel and good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

My partner and I stayed at Zara Hotel for the last week of February. We found the room was clean and comfortable, its just that the room are quite large for us. Internet is available at the hotel lobby and there are excellent eating places nearby. Overall we really enjoyed our stay and we'll be back again on this coming September.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    22
    22
    6
    3
See reviews for
15
14
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
SUNNY SOUTHPORT
Level Contributor
58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

first trip to kk and stayed here for three days. the reception area is fine, the staff are smart, but the rest of the hotel and the customer service is lacking. perhaps we expect to much, we were not even shown to our room, given the number and off you go. then when we got there the safe would not work, there was no fridge and the toilet would not flush and had not been flushed since the previous occupant. we were moved rooms but the whole of the hotel apart from reception was very plain and not attractive. on the last day we were given a complementary breakfast at the place next door. i wish they had not of bothered as it was awful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

During my weeklong stay, I was impressed with the quality of service at the hotel. It is maintained and operated by women supported by male nighttime security staff. The facility was clean and quiet. The location is close to a major resort and a short taxi ride to shipping centres and the main city area. There are many local food outlets adjoining the hotel

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
Level Contributor
113 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I chose this hotel because I read that it was female only staff and that somehow appealed to me. Also the pictures looked nice, and it seemed great value for the location. I was slightly disappointed by the state of my room on arrival, although basically clean it was somewhat shabby and ill kempt. Honestly having walked around the entire hotel, inside and out could not envisage a single room having garden views as described on the website. It is further than town than described, but a 15 RM taxi fare is fine by me for a quiet, secure and cheap location when transiting. It's fine if you are on a budget and don't mind the easily distracted nature of the girls on the desk, who can't keep one customer in their sights but must flit between jobs and allow random people to interrupt conversations. I'll try another place next time.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room on the back of the hotel, the front is directly on a main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZaraBH, Manager at Zara's Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
First and foremost we would like to thank you for staying with us. Thank you for taking your valuable time to give us some constructive comments and we appreciate that you have highlighted our hotel being safe, quiet and reasonably priced. That is the primary objective that we would like to achieve. That is to provide a clean, safe, convenient, spacious and affordable accommodation to our valuable guests like yourself.

We will be initiating our shuttle services to the airport and downtown in the next few months and meanwhile we will look into your observation of the front office trainees and will definitely ensure that they follow our standard operating procedures when checking in and checking out guests. We apologized for any inconvenience caused.

Thank you once again for staying with us.

Sincerely,
Patricia Michael
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

Staying here for company event. realise its a good place, Good location and suitable for guest that needs parking!

Spacious room and friendly staff

Near Times Square. Place for clubbing or night life. Also near Sutera harbour, where u can hoop for island trip!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tawau, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I will be back! Thats what I said to the lady @the receptionist in October last year. I did come back, just recently-February. Again traveling solo on business. I simply like the ambience/loction. Easy to get food. Clean room & the staffs are very helpful & friendly. Will I be back to stay here again? Definitely...I am coming back again in May.-school holidays. This time with my family.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We (3 couples) had many issues during our two separate nights stay at the Zara Hotel. (Mountain climb in between) The first night in the standard double rooms wasn't so bad - problems were noisy electrical circuit box buzzing away all night as well as noisy air conditioner. The main problems were on our return (even after informing the staff we would be back a day later). We arrived around 6:30pm for them to inform us that they had no booking for us. After I showed them the Agoda booking they then went off to 'find' us our two suites (no availablitiy for doubles at booking) as booked weeks before. After a very long day summiting and descending the mountain all we wanted was a warm shower. We had to wait for an hour for our room to be found and then cleaned as well as clean towles to be found from the laundry (7pm!?!). Once in our rooms we were greeted with no warm water and a very sparsely furnished -'suite' room - the double rooms were much better. Our friend's room had a kicked in bathroom door without a handle nor a lock. Both entrance doors on the rooms didn't fit properly and were difficult to open and close. In general this hotel is OK and clean if you just want a place to rest your head, but it's not close to town (taxis take a while when called) nor did it have a secure luggage room. Our friend also had her camera stolen from the lobby area, so be careful with your valuables. The breakfast was served in a next door cafe and it was awful. Skip booking breakfast if you have the choice and eat in town.

Room Tip: Skip the suites, the doubles were better and the breakfast is awful - eat in town
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZaraBH, Manager at Zara's Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
First and foremost we would like to take this opportunity to thanked you for staying with us. We sincerely apologize for any shortcomings that you may have encountered due to arriving during the busiest time of the year. Kota Kinabalu has never experienced this magnitude of tourist arrival during the busiest time of the year namely Chinese New Year.
We have guests lining up to check in at our hotel which we efficiently helped to check in and commented that they have not seen such care being taken and how well organized and helpful our staff have been.

To be fair to our front office staff we would like to clarify that there were no incident of disorganization as you have mentioned in your review. In fact prior to your arrival we have several briefings to endure that you arrival will be treated with the highest level of care accorded to all of our guests. We have manager stand by to greet you however there must be some misunderstanding that caused the unpleasant feeling that you might have upon checked in that probably resulting in your critical and negative comment you have left for us.

I would be grateful if you could drop me a personal email for me to have the opportunity to speak with you and understand the whole situation and extend you a sincere apology if we have failed to impress you.

We would like to assure all our valued customer that although we are charging a reasonably low rate as a three star hotel we definitely strive to provide 5 star services within our means to all of our valued guests and we thank you for staying with us.

Kind regards
Patricia Michael
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.5 mi away
Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu
Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu
#30 of 97 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 stars 431 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#12 of 97 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 stars 207 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Jesselton Hotel
The Jesselton Hotel
#9 of 97 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 stars 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Oceania Hotel
Oceania Hotel
#15 of 97 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 stars 118 reviews
1.8 mi away
Asiana Hotel
Asiana Hotel
#54 of 97 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 stars 10 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
#22 of 97 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 stars 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zara's Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zara's Boutique Hotel

Address: Harbour City, Kota Kinabalu | Jalan Pantai Baru, Sembulan,, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Zara's Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Zara's Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zara's Boutique Hotel Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zara's Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.