We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mamutik Island

Mamutik Island
Tunku Abdul Rahman National Park, Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Improve this listing
Type: Islands, Outdoors
Attraction details
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I like the private settings of the island and variety of sea creatures underwater while snorkeling. The place could do with cheaper food on the island.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    132
    78
    21
    12
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“How and for how much”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Tell your hotel you plan to go to one of the islands and they might help you to get a discount. We stayed at north borneo cabin lodge (great staff!) and they gave us 10RM discount voucher per person if we buy our tickets at counter 8.
Boats leave every 20 minutes from the jetty by suria sabah mall. The same price from every company is 23RM per person return ticket plus 7.20RM jetty fee and then you pay entry to the island 10 RM when you get there. We found it quite expensive to go to a beach just 15 minutes away from KK so we were glad we got the discount. You have to tell them what time you want to go back as they have return boats every hour and have to book you in and the last boat of the day is at 5pm. You can rent snorchel set for 10RM and beach mat for 5 from the boat company or you can also rent it on the island. There is one shop (water, chips) and rental and they rent it for the same as the boat company. They require 50RM deposit. If you want to go to more islands during the day, rent the equipement from the boat company. We stayed only on Mamutik as we got there quite late. It was nice, nor very crowded but obviously we weren't alone on the island :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice day trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Lovely island to visit for the day. The water looks lovely for snorkeling (we didn’t have snorkeling gear which we regretted). There are lots of benches and the beach was not overcrowded. Some shady areas too. We had a drink in one of the main restaurants - although pricey, this did mean we were able to use their toilet facilities which were nice and clean. We went with Sunny Rainbow tours - the speedboat journey was fine on the way to the island, but on the way back the weather had turned so it was a bit bumpy. However, it is only a 10 minute journey, so not too bad.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Pretty island”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Nice island. Had lunch here, and could go jetskiing or parasailing from here. Showers and changerooms. Bring toilet paper.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Mamutik - half a day is just”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Nice clean sea, largely destroyed coral and watching lizards.
Toilets, showers available, late afternoon, very dirty.
It is a national park, but no one to protect nature. Rather, it was a vacation spot for people from the city.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mamutik Island also viewed

Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 

Been to Mamutik Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mamutik Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.