We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting Hungarian food but some not so nice.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chilli Vanilla

Chilli Vanilla
35, Jalan Haji Saman, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
+60 88-238 098
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 331 Restaurants in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: International, Mediterranean, Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Mediterranean and Healthy foods, reasonable prices and ambient atmosphere.
Ipoh, Malaysia
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Interesting Hungarian food but some not so nice.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

I like the variety of food they serve like the basic Western Cuisines but the wraps aren't that good due to the sauce and I don't really like the desserts because they are too sweet. It's VERY PRICY TOO!!!!!!!!!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    66
    22
    9
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
england
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“small but good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

right in the middle of K.K.this is very convenient for getting various dishes at reasonable cost and with friendly staff a pleasant experience for a quick meal at either lunch or dinner

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Fun, interesting meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

Interesting place with an eclectic menu, mainly Mexican but hints of many other cuisines. Basic but amiable setting, in a convenient part of town. For mains we had a chilli chocolate beef stew (bizarre, but tasty) and delicious, if simple, chicken tortillas with sweet potato chips. A highlight was the array of pudding cakes; we had two different chocolate ones, very good indeed. Good value - above food with a couple of beers and a glass of wine came to 110 RM. Highly recommend for a fun meal.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Dinner with friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We had dinner at this cafe and absolutely loved it! We started with a shared platter which contained some great dips. All four of us agreed our main course was the best meal we had tasted in ages. The owner was very friendly and assisted us in making sure our shared meals were free of nuts (allergic to them)
Our only disappointed that we didnt discover this place until our final night traveling in Kota Kinabulu!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jyvaskyla, Finland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Very good food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We had chicken tortillas and chicken kebab wtih cuscus. Chicken tortillas (quadesillas) with mango sauce were good, but could use a little more taste. Chicken kebab came with tsaziki, which made it really good. Service was excellent. Atmosphere could be better, but it didn't bother.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chilli Vanilla also viewed

Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 

Been to Chilli Vanilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chilli Vanilla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.