We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food but small portions” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chilli Vanilla

Chilli Vanilla
35, Jalan Haji Saman, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
+60 88-238 098
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 331 Restaurants in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: International, Mediterranean, Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Mediterranean and Healthy foods, reasonable prices and ambient atmosphere.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
197 helpful votes 197 helpful votes
“Good food but small portions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Ate here once during our stay and were impressed with the menu and variety of food on offer. I am vegetarian and there were a few items to choose from which is rare in Malaysia. Food itself was also tasty but we found portions to be on the smaller side and drinks to be quite expensive.

Overall good food but need to increase portion sizes for dinner

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    66
    22
    9
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent casual dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Just finishing a dinner here. Silvi is both owner and chef - and a great hostess. Great daily specials. We had Hungarian tarragon chicken stew and the braised rosemary lamb leg - both excellent and great value for about $10 US. Save room for dessert as the 6+ cakes available were outstanding!

McJohn & Michele

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Pretty good, not sure they should be ranked number 1”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

After reading all the positive reviews we thought we had to try this place. I must say it was something of a mixed bag. Ordered two red lentil soups, vegetarian wraps, tomato and cheese quesadillas and a side of chunky potato fries along with some drinks. After a few minutes we were told that the lentil soup was sold out. I ordered the cream of mushroom soup from the specials board. Big mistake. It was terrible and only entertained 2 spoonfuls. The mains were much better. Both were tasty and served with delicious spicy salsa on the side. The sweet potato fries served with the veggie wraps Were cold and a little undercooked. The potato fries were actually cubes of potato but were not bad. So as I said this place, on this night, was a mixed bag... but we didn't leave hungry. At RM 85 total bill, including drinks, it was a reasonable value mixed bag.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
2 reviews
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

The staff are incredibly friendly and the food fantastic, our family of 6 were very, very happy!

The lentil soup, grandma soup, spaghetti Milanese and the spicy duck were lovely, decent coffee, amazing cakes all made for a lovely stop for lunch!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Yummy cake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

Came here to take away some cakes
Got the red velvet & one metre
One metre was rather ordinary , vanilla sponge with chocolate frosting
Red velvet was really good. Thick creamy cream cheese frosting with a hint of lemon in between moist red velvet cake. Sinfully delicious.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chilli Vanilla also viewed

Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 

Been to Chilli Vanilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chilli Vanilla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.