We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ming Garden Hotel & Residences

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Ming Garden Hotel & Residences to your Saves list
Ming Garden Hotel & Residences
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lorong Ming Garden | Jalan Costal, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 93 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Kamala, Thailand
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Adequate hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

This is an adequate hotel if you really have to visit Kota Kinabalu.

The good:

- about halfway between the airport and down-town
- comfortable, well-equipped rooms
- friendly, efficient service
- large pool and gym

The not so good:

- in the middle of nowhere
- although downtown is only about a 15 minute walk it is very hard to reach across major roads
- the shuttle doesn't run after 7pm
- terrible buffet breakfast

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    70
    55
    15
    15
See reviews for
31
44
15
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

The location of the hotel is not so good. It is in front of the slum area and there will be kids coming to beg for money when you walk out.

The hotel room shower head wasn't working properly. some of the bathroom lights are not functioning as well. Poorly maintained.

However, the hotel is new and bed are super comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Modern hotel just 5 minutes from the waterfront and shops, the rooms are nice clean and have all the things you expect in a modern hotel. Nice pool area and gym. The breakfast is good but when it's busy they run out fast so you may need to wait for something's. Over all I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

I was staying here for a night with my friends. The place is nice and comfy and the hotel service is also good. It's a strategic place for a hotel since times square is just at the corner. You can go there and have fun at night. Just one thing. The squatters at the front of the hotel was not a nice view. At night, they are so noisy. What a nuisance. Anyway, I love the place. ☆ ~('▽^人)

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Horrible front desk experience. Arrived early in the city. So, at 8.30 am went straight to hotel. A seasoned traveller like myself had expected to wait a little while for a room to check in since it is so early in the morning. But..... this hotel imposes a surcharge for early check in. Even before my stay, the front desk gave me a very bad experience. There were rooms -- but they insisted on a surcharge which is half the rate for a night. Beat that -- then I asked if I could get breakfast with that surcharge -- answer is NO.... because the system cannot accommodate that. Well, my system says that this is not a very hospitable hotel. The front desk manager -- a Richard -- was totally clueless with regard to service. It looks like "Management" holds a tight leash. Ahem..... if you want to do that be a gatekeeper accountant .... you should not be running a hotel. Totally bad. I picked up my bag and left. And went to another hotel which would check me in without any surcharge -- like so many other hotels, if there are rooms avaialabMing Garden Hotel, you lost a hopeful customer. Quite sad that you've not got your mojo going as a hotel. Seriously, the whole situation was totally bleah.... exceptionally yucky. I should not be rating this hotel since I did not stay at all. What can I say about a hotel that chases a customer away. @_@

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGHR_Management, Public Relations Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, September 18, 2014
Dear Megamendong,

Greetings from Ming Garden Hotel & Residences!

Thank you for visiting and for bringing these matters to my attention, as it is only from our guest feedback that we will be able to uphold our commitment to product and service excellence.

Please allow me to apologize for the shortfalls and please know that I am very disappointed that the experience you had during checking-in did not meet your expectations.

Our Front Office Manager, Mr Richard is one of our best colleagues and asset, I apologize should there have been a miscommunication between Mr Richard and your kind self. We are disenchanted but of course still contented that you found a better venue for your lodging needs. Sabah being the friendliest state in Malaysia, hotels in Kota Kinabalu are like siblings and we work hand-in-hand to provide only the best for our esteemed visitors. :)

Our hotel's mojo is considered and rated top excellence by the state's Tourism Minister and we are naturally sorry that you had to endure otherwise on the day you arrived. Rest assured that I have shared your comments with the concerned department head to avoid recurring event in the future.

Once again, thank you for sharing your feedback. Despite a mojoless experience we will always have our doors open for you the next time you visit Kota Kinabalu. :)

Cheers & kind regards,
Shauntay Dawn
Asst. Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Stay for 1 night. Location just about 5 minutes drive from airport. Walking distance 5-10 minutes to town and malls. There is shuttle from the hotel to the city which starts at 10am. Friendly and helpful staff. Nice and comfortable room. Enjoy my stay here.

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager_MGHR, Public Relations Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear peace1987 ,

Warmest greetings from Ming Garden Hotel & Residences!

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor following your recent visit to Ming Garden Hotel & Residences.

We are delighted to read your review regarding your stay with us, it gives us great pleasure to know you enjoyed your stay with generally positive reviews of our services provided by our team of dedicated members.

We hope to see you again in your next visit to Kota Kinabalu :)

Kind regards,
Shauntay Dawn
Asst. Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

The hotel is located at town area where it is closed to a mall called Wawasan Plaza,City bus station,Banks and Restaurants.Everything will be on walking distance,however need to be extra careful when crossing the main road as the traffic is busy during working hours.Service provided by staff is just ok,not too bad and not too good.Its suitable for people who come for business trip where you dont need much attention as family vacation.The main restaurant Spark provide lots of choice for breakfast.Room is new and quite spacious,specialy for the residence type.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager_MGHR, Public Relations Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Stacy S,

Warmest greetings from Ming Garden Hotel & Residences!

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor following your recent visit to Ming Garden Hotel & Residences.

We are delighted to read your review regarding your stay with us, it gives us great pleasure to know you enjoyed your stay with generally positive reviews for our services. Your comments are greatly appreciated especially your compliments regarding our outlets and rooms.

We are all looking forward to welcoming you back soon. See you! :)

Kind regards,
Shauntay Dawn
Asst. Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ming Garden Hotel & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ming Garden Hotel & Residences

Address: Lorong Ming Garden | Jalan Costal, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#10 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ming Garden Hotel & Residences 4*
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ming Garden Hotel & Residences welcomes you with warm Sabahan hospitality. Situated near the junction of several thoroughfares, our strategic location along the Coastal Highway allows fast access to Kota Kinabalu's central business, commercial and places of interest. Located within minutes from the airport, main bus terminal and jetty, this hotel is indeed the ideal choice of accommodation for business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ming Garden Hotel & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ming Garden Hotel & Residences Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.