We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Horizon Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Horizon Hotel to your Saves list
Horizon Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Pantai, Kota Kinabalu 88999, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
SCHOOL HOLIDAY BREAK
Ranked #8 of 93 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Excellent location and nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Hotel was a bit outdated but nice. Room (13th floor) was a bit strange, we had bath and sink in the room. Not in the toilet. Breakfast was ok. Location was perfect, you can walk anywhere in downtown KK. There was the best concierge ever. Too bad I can't recall his name. He knew everything about the city and was extremely helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horizon_Hotel_KK, General Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Many thanks for your feedback. We were delighted to see that you enjoyed your overall stay with us.

We were a bit puzzled by your remark about the hotel being outdated as we only opened for business 2 years ago.

We hope to see you back again soon.

My regards,
Philip D. Theseira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    238
    68
    18
    5
See reviews for
87
185
31
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

I had a great stay at this hotel. The staff could not be more helpful and the room was very large, modern and clean. The decor of this hotel is very funky art-deco and the breakfast was the best we had in Kota. The only downside I can think of is that the area around the pool is quite small and there was only space for 3 sunbeds -so if you're thinking of catching some rays by the pool this isn't the hotel for you.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Hotel is located in the centre of Kota Kinabalu, and it is quite convenient for traveller who want to go nearby islands for daily trips. However, for price about USD 100 per night it is kind of expensive considering it is just 4 star city hotel in the secondary city in Malaysia.

Check-in is fast and efficient, and room is quite spacious and clean. However, the furniture and amenities used in the room seems using low-quality of product and interior design doesn't show a high-class standard. Parking is complimentary is for the hotel guess and parking space is sufficient.

Breakfast served in the ground floor, quality is acceptable with decent choices of foods.

Overall, the hotel is located in the city centre, however price might be quite expensive for such 4 star hotel in Kota Kinabalu. Suitable for family vacation and also business traveller.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover, Deutschland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

I was in this hotel for 4 nights and I liked it a lot (compared to the Hotel sixty3 where we were before)

The pros:

- Awesome pool on the 6th floor. My advice: Go for a swim in the early morning, when the building casts a shadow on the pool. "cool" moments are rare in KK, grasp them.

- the room view. I was so lucky to see the sunset every evening from my hotel room window, amazing!

- the staff: friendly, helpful, all can communicate in English well. I felt well treated by them.

- the room setup was as expected for a 4 star hotel, room was clean and neat. Still, due to the black furniture design, small scratches and other damages that are inevitable in a hotel room, are easily visible.


cons:

if i HAD to complain about something, it would probably be the breakfast. (In particular half-raw fried eggs, lousy coffee, fake orange juice, and the weirdest cheese i have had in my life) But i also must admit that it is probably not easy to please both westerners and chinese with the same breakfast buffet. Just pick what you like, have a light breakfast, and then feast on a 2nd breakfast on Gaya Street, where you have a million options.

but that is complaining on a high level - i really recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: spend a bit more for sea view. you won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampong Jerudong, Brunei Darussalam
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Before I make booking with this hotel, I have been introduce by local taxi driver said that it is a convenience and easy accessible to KK town. Nearby the hotel also can find a lot of local food taste in town. Surely the driver have not wrongly introduce to me.

I came for the trip only 3 days and 2 nights and I enjoyed with my vacation.

1) The hotel reception people are nice and well. (breakfast is average)
2) Room is tidy.
3) Gym equipments are occupied. I can lay on the bench at swimming pool and view airplane crossby and island view.
4) Location is accessible to Jetty, Philippine market, Shopping Mall and restaurants (Yee Fung Restaurant – Laksa, Fu Yen - Roti Kawin)
5) Beside the hotel under the pedestrian bridge have night hawkers, I can taste a lots of local cuisine.
6) They have a leisure SPA in the 5th Floor. I thought China only can get good China masseur. I have experience with a good China Therapist. She did well massage with me and heal my body sore. I have no objection to give her a tips.

I will come back and stay with this hotel and experience with the Spa again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Stayed at The Horizon for 2 nights. The rooms were very modern, clean and the beds and pillows were extremely comfortable. When we got to our room we found they had given us a room with two single beds even though we had booked a queen/king bed 4 months previously. We phoned reception to be advised that was all they had available, so we were disappointed with this. The location of this hotel is very central and the staff were friendly, the breakfast had a good selection. Overall our stay was very enjoyable and we would stay here again. The day spa is not connected with the hotel so we could not book any of the services to our room. We had a half hour foot reflexology which was very good, however there was immense pressure to provide a tip to the masseur. When you are paying already for the service you shouldn't be expected to then tip, especially after only half an hour.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Before going to this hotel, i have read mixed reviews about it and i was really confused. Well, here's my take on the good and the bad of this hotel, hope this helps future visitors.

Good:
1. Reception went well, the staff were nice and we were able to check in before 2PM and one room was upgraded from Deluxe to JR Suite Room because i specifically requested for a bathtub and it was not available for Deluxe Room.
2. Rooms were nicely decorated and clean enough with ample supplies you would find in a 4-star hotel. There were toiletries and sets of towels and free bottled water.
3. There are two possible views from the hotel and both were nice. One side overlooking the sea while the other overlooking the city with mountains as background.
4. LOCATION is great. Its so near Gaya Street that on regular days all kinds of restaurant is just walking distance, malls are also a 10-15 mins walk. On sundays, during the Gaya Street Market day, the action is right outside the hotel, so that when you get tired of shopping and walking under the heat, your hotel room is within reach to relax and recharge. Everything else of interest within the city is just walking distance or a short cab ride away.
5. There's a pool and gym that will keep you occupied in case you just want to stay in the hotel. Although small, its quite nice and they provide towels and lockers for you.

Bad:
1. My only complaint for the room (which made it hard to sleep) is that the pillows smelled really bad! I requested them to change the sheets but the smell won't go away, and it seemed so hard to explain to the cleaning staff to change the actual pillow and not just the sheets (because they can't all understand english).
2. Some parts of the room were showing wear and tear, like shower handles falling off, etc.. but overall, i think this bit can be overlooked as the room still looked nice overall and nothing was really broken to an extent that you'd have trouble with it.
3. Breakfast was not so great, most breads were not so nice, coffee was so-so, other dishes were enough to just get you by. Rating is just average because its enough to make you feel full but you won't really enjoy it as much. Probably better is you can book it without breakfast and just eat outside at a kopitiam. (although they now have an egg cooking station)
4. Rooms are not sound proof enough that you can hear noise from outside your room, although its not completely the hotel's fault since as a guest you're not supposed to be noisy outside your room as respect for other guests. I blame this on really noisy Chinese Tourists! At 6am in the morning, they get ready for breakfast and talk loudly with each other in the hallways(which is rude, but i guess, up until now, they are not educated enough about this!) and in turn disturb other guests who are sleeping soundly in their own rooms. Beware of booking in this hotel during peak season for Chinese Tourists (or in any hotel with lots of them for that matter). They are still noisy and rude!
5. The worst of all about this hotel is the SPA on the 5th Floor. I'm not sure if its under hotel management or not, but they should really look into it because it gives the hotel a very bad impression! Upon arrival, they don't even try to be nice to you (they assume every tourist is chinese and would talk to you in chinese and treat you like a chinese tourist (which is not nice), even if you use english). The reception here is very rude and lacks education in customer service. They even ushered is into used cubicles! The massage in itself is ok, but i must warn you that the therapists here are mostly chinese men from CHINA and cannot speak in english, which is really bad because its so hard to explain or tell them how you feel about the massage. And then, right after the massage, they force you to pay them TIPS of a certain amount even if it was never mentioned in the reception at the beginning. Tipping should be at the discretion of the client, but here, they force you to give them tips and get mad at you even if you tell them you didn't bring enough! (this is definitely on the my worst massage experiences because i expected to be relaxed after it and go to my room and sleep soundly, but no, i got so stressed and felt bad after that i felt all the money for the massage (which is not cheap) just went to waste!) (TO THE MANAGEMENT: DO SOMETHING ABOUT THIS, THEY ARE MAKING YOUR HOTEL LOOK SO BAD!!!)

Side Note: From what i gathered, these massage therapists are apparently not happy with their jobs because they were made to believe they would make more money in KK, but when they arrived after paying the recruiter a big sum of money, they found out the salary is way below what they could earn in China, and they are stuck in KK for a year or two to wait for their contracts to end!

Overall, if you are looking to have a relaxed, free flowing trip, with lots of eating and shopping, this hotel is a great choice, it is near a lot of places and a good take off point for places to visit in KK. Just avoid the SPA (there are lots more outside), eat less of the breakfast and hope the pillow in your room does not smell bad.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the sea, it has a much nicer view. Ask for a bathtub for deluxe rooms and abo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horizon_Hotel_KK, General Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate all your feedback and were delighted that your overall stay was a pleasant one.

Further to your comments we'd like to reply as follows:
1) Or pillows are now aired on a regular basis to avoid and smells.
2) We have established a maintenance schedule for all our guest rooms to ensure that they are up to guest expectations at all times.
3) We were very sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with our buffet breakfast. We try and cater to all our guests by carrying a range of both breads and pastries which are generally baked on the premises.
4) The Sky Spa is under a separate managemnt to the hotel. We have passed your comments on for them to loo into.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Horizon Hotel!

Kind regards,
Philip D. Theseira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Horizon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon Hotel

Address: Jalan Pantai, Kota Kinabalu 88999, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#7 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#9 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Horizon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the city with sea views, featuring branded 42/50" Plasma TV, restorative rain showers, comfortable beds, free high speed internet access and all the extra touches that will make your stay memorable. Our thoughtfully designed modern spacious and luxurious rooms promise a restful stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Horizon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizon Hotel And Spa
Horizon Hotel Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Horizon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.