We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the room.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Horizon Hotel

Save Saved
You added Horizon Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Horizon Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Pantai, Kota Kinabalu 88999, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Anniversary Special Deal!
Ranked #8 of 92 hotels in Kota Kinabalu
1 review
“Love the room.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

Upon checking in, we were told our requested room was not available even though I called in two days ago before to confirm and they said its ready. So we had to stay for a night in a Deluxe Twin even though we booked for a Deluxe King.

Fortunately, the room was ready for us the next day and it was worth the wait. The room is exactly as I imagine it to be albeit a little smaller than I thought, but it was one of the nicest looking room I have seen in a hotel.

Our stay was delightful and the staff was very friendly throughout our stay. I would also like to point out one of the receptionist, Mirra, for being really helpful assisting us to change our room. Im sure it has been a stressful week with the holidays around the corner but she still manage to assist us with a smile so for that, thank you Mirra.

Overall, I would gladly stay in the hotel if I ever come back to KK.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    111
    196
    63
    16
    5
See reviews for
73
162
28
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Were here two weeks back. Excellent location. In hotel front, walk left for a couple of streets and you have a wide range of restaurants to choose from (Italian, Chinese, SE Asian, etc.). Around the Italia, "Sing Ji" Bak Ku Teh is famous. Around OCBC building, a corner "Fa Ji" Coffee Shop is well known for its pig trotters and local dishes. Behind the hotel, is a long overhead bridge, you can walk right to the seaside. The Filipino night market has a number of hawker selling wok-cooked food. The seafront freshed grilled seafood should be avoided as they are definitely not value for money. The jettison jetty is about 5 - 10 minutes walk. Clean and safe. We booked our 2-islands hopping snorkelling trip here, bargaining with a friendly Mr Rin, almost half price of what you can get from the hotel bookings, anyway the day tour agencies at hotel and airport also advised us to book directly at the jetty. The hotel has free WiFi almost everywhere we go, in the room, at the lobby, at the swimming pool. The swimming pool is clean and well maintained, has good view of the sea. The hotel breakfast is marvellous, collection of Asian, and Continental breakfast, fruits are a bit lacking though. Though the hotel has problem with the dripping aircon, at the hotel reception counter and in the Cafe. Why put the food below the aircon? The bathroom is neat and tidy, though water pressure is slightly weak (evident of water conservation). Non smoking room is really odourless, king-sized bed with very comfortable pillows, no creepy crawlies. No durian and no mangosteens allowed. You can only access to your room level via the room access card. Only one room access card is provided, rather inconvenient, if you and your wife both has to go restroom after breakfast, you can only go to the restroom in the lobby level and your wife settle her business in the dark ;-). You can book the KK Park day tour at the hotel, same price as outside, the lady EJay is very friendly and helpful. The view during the minibus trip is breathtaking. The canopy walk is definitely worth the try. TV selection in the room is limited, though Fox Premium Movie is available, lack of News channels like Bloomberg/BBC/CNBC/ChannelNewsAsia. Aircon in the room is rather cold, no clear instructions to how to change the settings. Definitely a good, safe, secure, and value-for-money choice for family and for business.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the sea facing side. If facing the sea, those rooms on the left have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Loss 1 hour from actual check in time due to deluxe sea view king/qn bed size is not available.
They advc me on single twin bed.
Why I should take single twin?
I come wth my husband & has requested earlier in my booking
I have to wait at the lobby for 1hour..
Even though the rooms is upon availability but how come at 2oclock also the room is still not ready for customer? ?

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horizon_Hotel_KK, General Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear MWIlliams_13,

Thank you very much for posting your review on your recent stay with us.

Thank you for bringing to my attention on the Housekeeping staff that unintentionally removed your apples from your room. I do apologies and agree the Duty Manager could have handled it in a better manner and offered you a fruit basket as goodwill gesture.

On the request for a late checkout, we were unable to accommodate due to the peak season and the high turnover of rooms on that day. On any other normal day we would be happy to accommodate your request at no additional charge.

With the high occupancy, breakfast period is the busiest meal period of the day. All Chinaware, glassware and cutleries are checked prior to set up on tables for guests dining. With the high turnover of guests in and out of the breakfast room, the odd hair would have found its way accidently into your tea cup.

I apologise on the room with carpet stain as it maybe a recent one. We certainly will work on this matter. Thank you for bringing this to my attention.

Once again I offer my apology and we take all comments seriously and you can rest assure we will improve on our service and we hope to welcome you back again to Horizon Hotel.

Kind regards,

Mr. Philip D. Theseira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

I went to use the spa for a few times but certain facilities are malfunction such as the Jacuzzi, the toilet in the ladies changing room & the steam bath. Went again yesterday but it's not fixed yet. It's kinda inconvenient.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Was here last Dec 2012 after more than 10 yrs. The hotel is strategically located in the heart of KK. The waterfront and Kota Kinabalu Filipina market is walking distance. Shops, banks and eatery joints around a plenty. And the room deco is excellent...!!! Althought I only spend 1 night here, I will definately stay here again on m next visit ;-)

Room Tip: Get a room facing the sea front
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

On check in we were told that we had a smoking room....which i didnt book. They appoligised and saud the only non smoking was a twin not a double but they did offerus a free upgrade to a delux room but was on the smoking floor....we took it. There is a faint smoke smell in the hall way but not in the room so was not an issue.

Room was excellent with a tube and greaf decor. Breakfast was great as was the pool. Friendly staff. Definatly stay there again

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horizon_Hotel_KK, Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear fjp1981,

Thank you for choosing Horizon Hotel & Spa Kota Kinabalu Sabah on your recent visit. Your thoughts are important to us.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us.

Thank you for your positive feedback with regards to the excellent service from our team members.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Horizon Hotel & Spa Kota Kinabalu Sabah and I would be delighted to facilitate any future reservations.

Please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards.

Hisham Abd Samad
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I stayed at this hotel at beginning of May. The hotel lobby is acceptable but don't expect anything luxurious. It is a small business hotel. The rooms are comfortable but some amenities (like bathrobes) were missing when we checked in and we had to call housekeeping. The lobby restaurant (Deco Cafe and Bar) had flies and the food for breakfast was not very fresh. The hotel had no water for several days and we could not understand how a so-called four stars hotel could not rectify the piping problem. None of the other hotels on the same row of road or location had water problems. We could not flush the toilets, bathe, etc. They kept moving us from higher to lower floors but still the water was trickling for rooms from the 4th floor downwards. From 6th floor upwards, the taps were all dry. The hotel manager was apologetic but it spoiled our holiday. The bell boys and housekeeping staff were cheerful and helpful. The spa was not good value for money. The location of this hotel is good. But for the cost we paid, this hotel was not worth it! I paid more than RM 650 for three days and two nights stay.

Room Tip: Lower room has better water pressure
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horizon_Hotel_KK, General Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Ms Mary M,

Thank you very much for posting your review on your stay with us.
Your feedback is always welcomed and greatly appreciated.

It is with much regret to know of the unpleasant experience you had during your stay.

I would like extend my apology for the disruption of the water supply.
We were doing our level best to rectify the problem and it took longer than expected.
Water supply was made available to all floors at intervals.

We regret that the odd fly does find it’s way into the restaurant by way of the terrace door being opened with guests going in and out. We are very particular with every safety and health aspect and we maintain the high standards of cleanliness and hygiene in the restaurants and hotel premises.

We take all comments seriously and you can rest assure we will improve on our service and we hope to welcome you back to Horizon Hotel again.

Kind regards,

Philip D.Theseira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Horizon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon Hotel

Address: Jalan Pantai, Kota Kinabalu 88999, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Horizon Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the city with sea views, featuring branded 42/50" Plasma TV, restorative rain showers, comfortable beds, free high speed internet access and all the extra touches that will make your stay memorable. Our thoughtfully designed modern spacious and luxurious rooms promise a restful stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Horizon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizon Hotel And Spa
Horizon Hotel Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Horizon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.