We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Horizon Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Horizon Hotel to your Saves list
Horizon Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Pantai, Kota Kinabalu 88999, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
CITY BREAK AT HORIZON
Ranked #9 of 93 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“Modern room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

quite pleased with the breakfast spread and room. Generally quite clean and i like the ceiling shower. Cool! Wifi is strong and they have in spa, room, lobby, cafe, etc.. but different password for each location. Love the spa. Very reasonable rates and hotel guests get 10% discount. Did foot reflexology and traditional full body massage. Was shocked that we need to take off all our clothes including underwear for massage. Never did this before. You can request for male or female masseur. Being a shy lady, i requested a female but heard most people request male masseurs. During foot reflex, power was cut off halfway. Was watching TV and using my mobile but wifi was also cut off for about 20mins while they fix the power thing. Overall, enjoyable stay and the Sunday market is just next to the hotel. Enjoyed shopping the sunday market most among all shopping malls and markets.

Room Tip: choose higher floors for better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    233
    67
    18
    5
See reviews for
85
180
30
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We stayed in Horizon Hotel for 3 nights from 6-9May, location is perfect, we were able to stroll around the famous local eateries in short walking distance.

Bed was comfy but my pillow smells awful from day 1, luckily I found a replacement in the wardrobe...wonder if the pillow case has been changed since the last guest...Saw a long blonde hair on the floor when I checked in, but I'm a Chinese...

I wish I could see the smiling face of the Front Desk staff, however, I never did...maybe I'm spoiled by the Thailand friendly, smiley hospitality...I wonder why they always like to escape from your sight, really let me down.

I only used the pool once, there are 3 sun beds only along the small pool.

Agreed with some of the reviews regarding the buffet breakfast, enough variety, but this is the first time I stayed in hotel that I gave up eating on the last moring, as I felt so bored of eating their breakfast.

Honestly, I suggest anyone who like to stay in the city of KK and is interested in local foodies, could book their room without breakfast, so you could go explore the real food in Kota Kinabalu.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed at the hotel with our two boys. The location was great. There are several restaurants nearby and the market on Sunday is right across the street. We booked two trips through the tour desk at the hotel – to Mt. Kinabalu and to the Mari Mari Cultural Center. The woman at the tour desk was very helpful and we enjoyed both tours. The room was comfortable and clean and had a nice view of the sea. Breakfast was included and had a nice selection of both Asian and Western food.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We spent 4 nights at the Horizon Hotel (22.04.2013 - 26.04.2013). We were very impressed by the service we received throughout our stay. All staff were very helpful. Our room was clean and everything was in working order. The bathroom was spacious and we were suprised by the size of the shower. No bathtubs which was great as l hate having a shower inside a bathtub. Housekeeping was very efficient and the manager during the breakfast service had exceptional customer service skills. The hotel is fairly new and it is located within walking distance to many of the night markets.
Would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a sea facing deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horizon_Hotel_KK, Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear erks40,

Thank you for choosing Horizon Hotel & Spa Kota Kinabalu Sabah on your recent visit. Your thoughts are important to us.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us.

Thank you for your positive feedback with regards to the excellent service from our team members.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Horizon Hotel & Spa Kota Kinabalu Sabah and I would be delighted to facilitate any future reservations.

Please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards.

Hisham Abd Samad
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

At the check in, the staff were just not interested. There was no ‘Hello and Welcome’ and whilst checking us in, they continued to answer the phone, run back and forth to the office, and generally ignore us. Even though we had clearly written on the booking form that we required an extra bed in the room for our 3 year old and emailed the hotel separately, this was not set up for us. We were told, that if we wanted an extra bed we would be charged extra per night, but if we wanted our 3 year old to co-sleep in our bed or if we wanted a baby cot, this would be free. Where is the logic in this policy? She is 3 years old, why does it matter how she sleeps, she will cost the Hotel the same amount whatever type of bed she uses.... the manager just kept repeating that it was ‘normal’ for a 3 year old to co-sleep!

The hotel lobby was chaotic, maintenance and cleaners everywhere, equipment left everywhere causing trip hazards.

We got to the room, which was very well decorated and modern, however, even though it was a non-smoking room, there was a strong smell of smoke.

There was a letter left in the room to inform us that there was maintenance taking place that afternoon and that the water pressure would be low between 3-7pm. (no mention of this at check in)
This was not great but we understand things happen and hoped the hotel were working quickly to solve the problem.
We headed out for the evening without being able to flush the toilet or have a shower but were sure everything would be ok for us to bathe before bed time.
How wrong we were........ when we returned to the room there was still no water at all (hot or cold) and this remained the case right through to our check out the next day. So, we had to go 24hrs without a shower, cleaning our teeth or able to flush the toilet. This was particularly distressing as one of us had an upset stomach during our stay!
We raised this with the manager at check out and were told that all rooms from the floor 9 upwards had the same problem with the water........ clearly this was an ongoing problem, not just between 3-7pm the previous day.
HORIZON – you should not be putting people in rooms with no water supply. It is a health hazard and extremely upsetting for guests. You need to sort this problem out asap or reduce your available capacity until it is sorted!
As a means of compensation, the manager arranged a free transfer for us upon departure.


The hotel pool is very small and the terrace area around the pool only has 3-4 sun beds, no chairs and no shade whatsoever. It also needed a good clean.

Breakfast was OK, not much choice of hot items and the air-con was leaking and fluid was dripping in to the food.

This hotel has the potential to be excellent value for money as it is very well decorated and has good facilities, however, until they sort out the attitude of their check in staff and their water problems, it should be avoided!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horizon_Hotel_KK, General Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Mrs Tina Ranft,

Thank you very much for posting your review on your recent stay with us in Kota Kinabalu,
Your feedback is always welcomed and greatly appreciated.

It is with regret to know of the unpleasant experience that you had during your 1 night stay with us. I would like to apologise on the poor service rendered by the Front Desk staff upon your check in. The staff could have done better by extending you a warm welcome and a smile. On the request of an extra bed, your request was made through your Online Travel Agent which wasn’t made known to us. Extra beds are chargeable however we extended the extra bed on complimentary.

I do apologise for disruption of the water supply on the day of your arrival. We were trying our level best to rectify the problem and water supply was available to all floors at intervals. This should have been made known to you upon check in.

With regards to the sunbeds at poolside, with space constrain we can only accommodate 3 units. We are unable to fix any shades or parasols as sudden strong winds had blown this onto the main road below which may cause serious accidents.

We take all comments seriously and you can rest assure we will improve on our service.

Kind regards,

Philip D. Theseira General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Our family of 7 stayed at the Horizon Hotel for 7 nights and had a wonderful stay! The rooms were very new and the beds very comfortable. We had several meals in the hotel and they were very affordable and tasty. The Asian restaurant was lovely also. Breakfast was included and had a lot of variety.

The staff at Horizon are wonderful and what really made our stay special. They provide fantastic service and were always up for a chat. They loved our kids and our kids loved them.

A special thank you to Asmidah, Eddey, Aswan, Prince, Bariamin and Neoly. Your friendliness will not be forgotten.

I would definitely stay at Horizon Hotel again.

Mr Harry, Nel and family from Australia!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horizon_Hotel_KK, Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear nellygirl71,

Thank you for choosing Horizon Hotel & Spa Kota Kinabalu Sabah on your recent visit. Your thoughts are important to us.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us.

Thank you for your positive feedback with regards to the excellent service from our team members.

Send our regard to Amy and Mikeala.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Horizon Hotel & Spa Kota Kinabalu Sabah and I would be delighted to facilitate any future reservations.

Please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards.

Hisham Abd Samad
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We had had an adventurous and energetic trip in Kinabalu and were looking for a day spa to treat ourselves with before our flight home and we came across the horizon hotel. We checked out the day spa and it looked good and then sat down to try their coffee - we hadn't found a good one in the two weeks we'd been there so were delighted to finally get a nice cup of coffee. That prompted us to look on the Internet to see how much it would cost to stay a night. As it was last minute we got a great rate that included breakfast so we snapped it up and weren't disappointed.
The rooms were lovely; spacious, comfortable, great shower and lovely city view. The breakfast was fantastic - a buffet with a large variety of things to eat and drink. The staff in the restaurants were excellent - efficient and friendly.
The day spa, after a bad start, turned out to be good - when we first walked in the women working there seemed very disinterested in us and the spa that was supposed to be hot was not even luke warm so we had to give it a miss. we had to wait for a while for the massage but once it began it was good.
The pool was disappointing because when we were there it was really murky (as was the spa) and they smelt. So much so that our water baby teenagers opted not to use them. However the breakfast made up for it!
Great rooms, great breakfast,great coffee and at a great price!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horizon_Hotel_KK, Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear KayeMelbourne,

Thank you very much for posting your review about your recent stay with us in Kota Kinabalu,
Your feedback is always welcomed and greatly appreciated.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, I will certainly pass your kind words onto the team.

I do apologise for the pool water being murky as we had some technical problem with our pump and the problem has since been rectified.

With regards to the smell, it did not come from the water but from the wet market which does carry the smell over depending on wind direction.

On behalf of the Horizon Hotel team, we all look forward to seeing you back again soon.

Regards,

Hisham Abd Samad
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Horizon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon Hotel

Address: Jalan Pantai, Kota Kinabalu 88999, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#7 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#9 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Horizon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the city with sea views, featuring branded 42/50" Plasma TV, restorative rain showers, comfortable beds, free high speed internet access and all the extra touches that will make your stay memorable. Our thoughtfully designed modern spacious and luxurious rooms promise a restful stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Horizon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizon Hotel Kota Kinabalu, Sabah
Horizon Hotel And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Horizon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.