We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great western style food - good atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Centro

El Centro
Ground Floor, Lot 32, | Jalan Haji Saman, Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
+60 198935499
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 345 Restaurants in Kota Kinabalu
Price range: $3 - $7
Cuisines: American, Mexican, International, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Late Night
Description: El Centro is located in the middle of Kota Kinabalu's central business district near hotels and shopping centers.El Centro serves a variety of healthy and delicious food options from tacos to wraps, salads, burgers and local Malaysian favourites.The open concept restaurant has a friendly, laid-back atmosphere that hosts a number of specialty nights like--pub quiz, jazz night, salsa lessons, them parties and art openings/exhibits. Open form 5pm - 12am for food and drinks. From the bar you can order beer or one of Katie's Killer Cocktails.
Nerja, Spain
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
“great western style food - good atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We ordered 4 different dishes. The burger and chips was a good size portion and good value for money. The sausage and mash was tasty just a bit small on the mash.The chicken wrap was a good size and delicious. The beef wrap whilst tasty was not full of very much meat. all in all a good atmosphere and the beer was reasonably priced - with a happy hour special of 3 cans for 17 MR.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    86
    23
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great western food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We ate here on our last night in KK since we were craving some decent western food (we'd been travelling for a couple of months in southeast Asia and wanted something that wasn't fried). I had an amazing beef burger and my girlfriend had a hummus wrap. We split a peach cobbler for dessert. Staff was very friendly.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

The food in this place is fantastic. It is a little bit expensive if your on a backpackers budget, but worth it for a special occasion. Just to warn you they charge 6% tax and 10% service. We loved it, it is a must try!
It is located on the south east side of jalan haji saman
Enjoy :-)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Great food, great vibe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Went here with the kids on the basis of Trip Advisor reviews and was not disappointed (we went back a second night). The food was really great and such a variety everyone should be able to find something to suit. None of us are that keen on fresh tomatoes, but their bruschetta was so fresh - I am sure their tomatoes were grown in heaven. The food is also very reasonably priced. We got there quite early and had no trouble getting a table, but as we left the place was full. Obviously a haunt of locals and ex-pats, and that sense of familiarity and friendship was lovely to feel vicariously! The only point of note (probably true of all local restaurants) is that smoking is not restricted. Having said that, the place is open (there is no wall street-side) and even though I am a staunch smoke-hater it did not bother me. Oh - and cash only - no cards.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A yummy, affordable restaurant.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I really enjoyed this restaurant, it was a lovely experience with a great atmosphere. The food was good and the staff were very friendly and easy to communicate with. I highly recommend El Centro!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Centro also viewed

Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 

Been to El Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Centro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.