We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A taste of real Malaysia” 2 of 5 stars
Review of A & J Budget Hotel

Save Saved
You added A & J Budget Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
A & J Budget Hotel
No.8, Tingkat 1,2 &3, Block M | Sinsuran Complex Jalan 19,, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 92 hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Vienna, Austria
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A taste of real Malaysia”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed in the room 208 which is suppoused to be the best one in their hotel. Hotel is located nect to Le Meridien Hotel which makes you think this is a fine location. Unfortunatelly, the location is covered with rats and cockroaches (especially nights). Entrance to the hotel's reception which ic located on the 1st floor demands a lot of courage. It is dirty, smelly and not at all welcoming. Room itself (superior double room with a sea view...) does not offer the relax you were hoping for after entering this hotel. It consists of a bed, small TV, two cabinets and a toilet/shower area which was absolutely disgusting with hair of previous guests on the floor. Shower is a simply water heater on the wall right next to a toilet. Forget about proper hygiene. Frame door of the toilet is coming of the wall and you can see all the spider webs and other [--] in there.

No towels, WiFi working, AC working. Price paid: 15 EUR for two people for two nights.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    5
    3
    2
    6
See reviews for
3
8
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kuching, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

it was my 2nd trip to kk in 2011 that i stayed in this hotel. Very convenient. my room was on the 2nd floor and safe. at night there is a night market behind this building. the handikraft bazaar was just across the street including a mosque. As for transportation it is just outside this building. for a bus trip only cost RM1 per person.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

This place is right on the waterfront on the opposite corner to A&J (non-budget) Hotel. We were given room 208 which is at the front with a double bed and a shower room with hot water. There's CCTV in all the corridors so reception knows what's going on immediately. There's a large sitting area at reception and a fridge, tea & coffee facilities and a balcony to sit out on and watch the boats coming and going (although the dried fish smell from downstairs takes a bit of getting used to). Peter (Pan) the manager was a friendly bloke offering to go out to one of the local restaurants for some cheap beer (MYR4 per can). As others have said, the wi-fi didn't work but Peter suggested going over to the non-budget A&Js and using theirs. Unfortunately the CCTV failed to spot the massive cockroach which was making a bee-line across the corridor to our room nor the dog that seems to regularly used the stairs as a toilet. A taxi to the airport is MYR30.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavite City, Philippines
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I booked rooms directly to the manager, Peter for 5 nights -- fast response, no fuss, no deposits, no problem. I was even able to request the rooms I wanted based on the previous reviews, which was at the 3rd floor seaview room. Great service too.. We DIYed our tours, and Peter gave us great info on how to best get there. IMPORTANT: if you want to go island hopping (which you should), tell the staff. Peter, Alvin or Anise will give you a voucher so you could do the tour at a discount!

The hotel location is great: right across night market, and food stalls (which would be another review), the entrance is just beside a grocery shop which closes after midnight so you'll never run out of supplies. The other side of the stairs leading to the entrance is a dried fish shop hence the fishy smell on the stairs -- it doesn't go beyond that though so it shouldn't be a problem.

At room price ranging from RM55-65 Net, you get private airconditioned room with wifi, astrotv, ensuite bathroom with hot water supply, this place can't be beat (except the A&J Hotel, right at the next block, with King Sized Bed AC Room with Intercon & LCD TV for only RM70... you can upgrade/transfer to the hotel if you can't stand the fishy smell, or just wanted a bigger bed. just tell Peter -- we did!

Room Tip: *at the Budget Hotel, if you want a great view of the sea, get a seaview room at the 3rd floor. Non...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandakan, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed one night at the A and J Budget hotel. The room was tiny, dirty, and the wi fi did not work.  When we went down in the morning to ask about the wi-fi, the manager offered no solution or assistance to solve the problem.  So we went over to the  A&J non-budget hotel and there the wi fi was working well.  So we went back to ask if we could switch rooms.  The manager would not even look up from his paper to speak to us.  Finally after a long awkward pause he angrily mumbled "I give you refund." After we packed up or stuff and went down stairs to leave. With out making any eye contact or saying a word he quickly grabbed the money out of the drawer and then slammed it shut and shoved the money at us.  My husband and I are not rude people so were are not very accustomed to being treated in such a manner.  It was quite shocking and disturbing. He was also very rude to all his employees and it was apparent that they were intimidated and possibly all afraid of him.  I would strongly advise against staying at either the A&J Budget hotel or the non budget A&J.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Staff was very friendly and helpful! Big rooms, and clean. They also have Tv And wifi in The rooms. it is a great location, close to malls, good food, markets. I can definitely recommend this place! The toilets and showers were also clean and in good condition.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in a standard double room without window for 1 night. Friendly staffs. I arrived early before the check in time but they still let me check in earlier. The room has attached bathroom with hot water supply, strong air con (the weather is hot in kk), satellite TV and WiFi. The location is good and near to most of the attrative places. The only thing I dislike was the smell from the fish market where is just opposite A&J in the morning. Even though me and my friend stayed in a room without window, we still can smell it. Overall, the price worth for everything.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to A & J Budget Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A & J Budget Hotel

Address: No.8, Tingkat 1,2 &3, Block M | Sinsuran Complex Jalan 19,, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 92 hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your A & J Budget Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
A & J Budget Hotel Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A & J Budget Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.