We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a very pleasent stay at this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A & J Budget Hotel

Save Saved
You added A & J Budget Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
A & J Budget Hotel
No.8, Tingkat 1,2 &3, Block M | Sinsuran Complex Jalan 19,, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 92 hotels in Kota Kinabalu
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Had a very pleasent stay at this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Staff was very friendly and helpful! Big rooms, and clean. They also have Tv And wifi in The rooms. it is a great location, close to malls, good food, markets. I can definitely recommend this place! The toilets and showers were also clean and in good condition.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    5
    3
    2
    6
See reviews for
3
8
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in a standard double room without window for 1 night. Friendly staffs. I arrived early before the check in time but they still let me check in earlier. The room has attached bathroom with hot water supply, strong air con (the weather is hot in kk), satellite TV and WiFi. The location is good and near to most of the attrative places. The only thing I dislike was the smell from the fish market where is just opposite A&J in the morning. Even though me and my friend stayed in a room without window, we still can smell it. Overall, the price worth for everything.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

After seeing the recommendations in the Lonely Planet,i decided to look elsewhere. Im glad i stumbled across this budget hotel. Firstly the price for getting air con, own bathroom and TV with fox movies & ESPN for 55MYR is outstanding in KK as you're usually looking at 60-70 for a shared bathroom.

Peter the owner is a fountain of knowledge and always helpful when asked a question.

Location is ideal, right in the centre, with a smashing food market across the road. In addition your halfway between the Jetty(port) and the bus station, so gives you easy access if you wish to visit the neighbouring islands (ask peter he will give you a voucher for a discount) or visit the beach for 1.5MYR on the local beach.

The only negative thing i have to say is the smell leading up the hallway (not to the room), as there is a dried fish store next door, but hey that is for you to decide.

Thanks for the stay

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

most happening place in kota kinabalu. the handicraft market building reminded me of old wet market, gambir street, kuching, sarawak.
I moved to the 3rd Floor after the 2nd day which gave me full view of the ocean. remarkable.
Lots of pigeons around too. easy access to the City Bus and Mini Bus Terminal. it cost RM0.50 from the Terminal to the bus stop in front of Warisan Square. Costing about RM1.00 from the city to Tuaran.
A&J Budget has the most friendly staff and atmosphere.

Room Tip: Stay at the 3rd Floor for full view of the ocean.
See more room tips
Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

We arrived in KK fairly late and it was raining cats and dogs. Hence, we followed the obvious step: Lonely Planet, budged accommodation, step in lodge. But they had only a room with out windows (nothing for us) or a dorm room with bunk beds exclusively for us for 90 MYR (nothing for us!) or two dorm beds with window (definitely nothing for us!!!).

But they were so nice to give us some ideas where to look.

Just down the road at the main road along the waterfront opposite of the handicraft market lies the A&J. At first we didn't want to go in, as the entrance is a stairway next to a shop, selling shark fins and other horrible and smelly things made out of once beautiful animals (but that is a completely different story and not relevant to this evaluation). But the smell is relevant.

On the first floor is the lobby where we were welcomed. They had a corner room on the 3rd floor with sea view for us. The man in charge was really sweet and apologized many times for the inconvenience of having the bath room not in the room. But that isn't much of a deal to us. Especially when there is no one else using it besides the people sleeping in 307. It is the only room with out en-suite.

The location is ideal for exploring KK bye foot.

Tea and water is accessible for free at the lobby.

The staff was nice and friendly and spoke enough english to help us in any situation.

Tour booking through them is possible.

Well, that's it for this one. Cheers

P.S.
if you don't like being woken up by the singing of a muslim muezzin at around 5 am than you might consider a room with out window or to the back side of the house.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to A & J Budget Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A & J Budget Hotel

Address: No.8, Tingkat 1,2 &3, Block M | Sinsuran Complex Jalan 19,, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 92 hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your A & J Budget Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
A & J Budget Hotel Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A & J Budget Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.