We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, pity about the bedbugs!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sensi Backpackers Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sensi Backpackers Hostel to your Saves list
Sensi Backpackers Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Gaya Street, Lot No 103, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Berkeley, CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice place, pity about the bedbugs!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

[our room had AC but no windows. Breakfast looked yummy, but we left at midnight...]

We stayed at Borneo Backpackers and Sensi Backpackers Hostel in KK. In both, we were awoken by biting bedbugs and checked out of our private rooms without paying. While wondering around (after midnight), we found that MANY of the guesthouses in the "ghetto" had bedbug problems (i.e., we asked them if they had bedbugs and they said "not recently" -- often while diverting their eyes). We ended up at the Gaya Centre Hotel (no bugs and more stars but double the price after a Trip Advisor discount that the staff helped us get).

It seems to be an open secret among guesthouse staff that KK has bedbug problems (does "high turnover" in the LP description of these places mean "bedbugs"?). They typically say "someone stayed here from the jungle," but the problem is OLD mattresses and inadequate cleaning.

They seem to hope that backpackers will ignore the problem and/or get lucky.

This is NOT acceptable.

So, I suggest that you ask about bedbugs BEFORE you check in, check mattresses BEFORE you sleep and leave bad reviews (here and on travel sites) about places that have bedbugs. They are not going to fix the problem until guest numbers drop.

Room Tip: Watch out for bedbugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank davidzet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

verry clean and verry hard wworking staf.

AND FINALLY No Bed BUGS they have a special machine to kill the bed bugs guist bring from outsite other hotels I never see before a machine like this before in any other hotel. The hardworking staff even clean the shower room with steam machine.

The hostel served fresh fruit whole day. Simple breakfast with coffee even all that was for free. so i put RM20 in the tip box. i hope i can find more hostel like this on my jorney.

Room Tip: MYR30/pax is very good for the quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank benjamin0103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Strategic location with friendly and helpful staff. The room is clean and very thoughtful power extensions available as we have booked this room for 6 person. Wifi is available with decent speed. Facilities wise, the dorms have big lockers, the communal room is equipped with water cooler/heater, TV with Astro and there is fruit placed on the bowl being replenished frequently.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chenwenxiang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

As of 2nd July, 2012. room 7 was completely infested with bed bugs. We had to wash all our clothing, and throw away our backpacks.

It looked very clean and tidy, and i'm sure it is usually a really nice place. But the bugs didn't come with us, they were big suckers, all over the bunks and carpet, weeks worth of infestation. We had to leave in the middle of the night, and seek out a hotel room with a bath tub so we could throw everything into it.

It was definitely bed bugs, no doubt about it, the were fully grown adults, and i squashed a dozen or so. Exactly like the pictures on the internet.

I hope they will get it fumigated.

The staff refunded us the money, but it became an expensive 24 hours, that's for sure.

Room Tip: What can you really do? Bed Bugs only come out at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank R_Kitson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melaka, Malaysia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Good location, friendly and caring staff. After traveling a bit in Malaysia, i noticed that this hostel was way cleaner and nicer than the other places i've been so far.

The place s superb. Good breakfast and a bowl of fruits to eat anytime you like. Wifi connection is good. Dorms have big lockers. And it is located in the very center. On sunday's there's a street market right in front of the hostel. And all the rooms have aircon

Only thing is that TripAdvisor price suggestion was not correct. You can not stay there for 18-26 RM. The prices start 30RM(25 if you haggle a few day discount) for a dorm room. Although it was well worth it

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank merivee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

Sensi Backpackers is a lovely hostel and the staff are incredibly kind and friendly and very helpful. The rooms are very comfortable (amazing pillows!) with good a/c and spotlessly clean. It is in a very good location too. I loved the fruit bowl provided in the communal room, which is also a great place to sit around in. Free, cold filtered water too was brilliant and free hot drinks. There is also Wi-Fi and hot showers. We stayed here a few times and it was great everytime! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

Stayed in Sensi Backpackers several times when coming to Kota Kinabalu. It is centrally located and just outside in Gaya Street you will find a lot of restaurants and to eat. Supermarkets and smaller shops are nearby. The hostel itself is very clean and the staff helpful and friendly. I just loved the superclean common bathrooms, the nice hot shower and the comfy mattresses. The common area/kitchen is a good place to meet other travelers and there is water and hot drinks for free. Breakfast was a nice change to other places in Borneo, with fresh fruit and a bigger variety of spreads for your toast. Enjoy your stay, I definitively did and will come back again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RinaWo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#3 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 stars 465 reviews
0.1 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#7 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 stars 638 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#4 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 stars 896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 stars 1,700 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mandarin Hotel
Mandarin Hotel
#8 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 stars 41 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Jesselton Hotel
The Jesselton Hotel
#9 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 stars 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sensi Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sensi Backpackers Hostel

Address: Gaya Street, Lot No 103, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 80 Specialty Lodging in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Sensi Backpackers Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sensi Backpackers Hostel is a cozy hostel located right in the heart of Gaya Street, in the city of Kota Kinabalu Sabah, Malaysia. Our hostel is dedicated for budget travelers who prefer quiet and unique atmosphere. Cleanliness is our top priority. Our staff is friendly and understands the needs of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Sensi Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sensi Backpackers Hostel Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing