We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“recommended super good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sensi Backpackers Hostel

Save Saved
You added Sensi Backpackers Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sensi Backpackers Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Gaya Street, Lot No 103, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“recommended super good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

verry clean and verry hard wworking staf.

AND FINALLY No Bed BUGS they have a special machine to kill the bed bugs guist bring from outsite other hotels I never see before a machine like this before in any other hotel. The hardworking staff even clean the shower room with steam machine.

The hostel served fresh fruit whole day. Simple breakfast with coffee even all that was for free. so i put RM20 in the tip box. i hope i can find more hostel like this on my jorney.

Room Tip: MYR30/pax is very good for the quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    9
    1
    3
    4
See reviews for
1
7
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Strategic location with friendly and helpful staff. The room is clean and very thoughtful power extensions available as we have booked this room for 6 person. Wifi is available with decent speed. Facilities wise, the dorms have big lockers, the communal room is equipped with water cooler/heater, TV with Astro and there is fruit placed on the bowl being replenished frequently.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

As of 2nd July, 2012. room 7 was completely infested with bed bugs. We had to wash all our clothing, and throw away our backpacks.

It looked very clean and tidy, and i'm sure it is usually a really nice place. But the bugs didn't come with us, they were big suckers, all over the bunks and carpet, weeks worth of infestation. We had to leave in the middle of the night, and seek out a hotel room with a bath tub so we could throw everything into it.

It was definitely bed bugs, no doubt about it, the were fully grown adults, and i squashed a dozen or so. Exactly like the pictures on the internet.

I hope they will get it fumigated.

The staff refunded us the money, but it became an expensive 24 hours, that's for sure.

Room Tip: What can you really do? Bed Bugs only come out at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melaka, Malaysia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Good location, friendly and caring staff. After traveling a bit in Malaysia, i noticed that this hostel was way cleaner and nicer than the other places i've been so far.

The place s superb. Good breakfast and a bowl of fruits to eat anytime you like. Wifi connection is good. Dorms have big lockers. And it is located in the very center. On sunday's there's a street market right in front of the hostel. And all the rooms have aircon

Only thing is that TripAdvisor price suggestion was not correct. You can not stay there for 18-26 RM. The prices start 30RM(25 if you haggle a few day discount) for a dorm room. Although it was well worth it

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Sensi Backpackers is a lovely hostel and the staff are incredibly kind and friendly and very helpful. The rooms are very comfortable (amazing pillows!) with good a/c and spotlessly clean. It is in a very good location too. I loved the fruit bowl provided in the communal room, which is also a great place to sit around in. Free, cold filtered water too was brilliant and free hot drinks. There is also Wi-Fi and hot showers. We stayed here a few times and it was great everytime! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

Stayed in Sensi Backpackers several times when coming to Kota Kinabalu. It is centrally located and just outside in Gaya Street you will find a lot of restaurants and to eat. Supermarkets and smaller shops are nearby. The hostel itself is very clean and the staff helpful and friendly. I just loved the superclean common bathrooms, the nice hot shower and the comfy mattresses. The common area/kitchen is a good place to meet other travelers and there is water and hot drinks for free. Breakfast was a nice change to other places in Borneo, with fresh fruit and a bigger variety of spreads for your toast. Enjoy your stay, I definitively did and will come back again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011 via mobile

the hostel is not that big but a great bargain for the price to stay.everyday they clean your beddings and you've got two pillows.very accommodating staff.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sensi Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sensi Backpackers Hostel

Address: Gaya Street, Lot No 103, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 74 Specialty lodging in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sensi Backpackers Hostel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Sensi Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sensi Backpackers Hostel Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sensi Backpackers Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.