We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible food” 1 of 5 stars
Review of 5 Star Hainanese Chicken Rice & BBQ Pork

5 Star Hainanese Chicken Rice & BBQ Pork
No.1, Jalan Centre Point, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Improve this listing
Ranked #58 of 345 Restaurants in Kota Kinabalu
Restaurant details
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Terrible food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We had chicken rice for dinner on 13th Dec 2012. The chicken was served cold and the rice was not cooked very well. We found many hard or uncooked grains even though the portion is big.

Never want to go back again

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    21
    17
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“5-star like its name”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Whenever I'm in this mall with my mom and it's lunchtime, we just need to look at each other and say "Are we eating there?" and we both know where we're referring to. It is definitely the go-to lunch destination for a lot of people - especially office workers. But shoppers love to go there as well. What can I say? The food is consistently good. Yes, the price is rather exorbitant for normal chinese food but I don't know what else to say.. I keep going back for more.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good Food & Reasonable Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We ate at the J. Gaya Street restaurant, had sweet & sour pork, steamed rice, mixed vegetables, & Thai spare ribs, all very good and great value, would recommend this place if ever you are in KK.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabah, Malaysia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great Food For Your Money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This restaurant is a chain of two outlets (that I have located in Kota Kinabalu). One outlet is in Palm Square, Centre Point and the other is ground floor of City Mall, Luyang. It is one of my favourite eating places as they serve delicious food at reasonable prices and fast service. The outlets are clean too especially the one in Centre Point. Unlike many Chinese coffeeshops, the tables are placed a decent handsbreadth or two away (ha ha...) and they clean tables pretty quick. Many Malaysians are willing to overlook structural or hygiene flaws where great food is concerned (which is why dubious-looking places can attract queues) but this place has both cleanliness and good food. My favourites are the BBQ pork noodles, the sweet n sour fish rice, the King Do pork noodles, the double boiled soups, the seafood flat noodle dish ('wa tan ho') and the chicken rice. No such thing as overcooked or cold or strange tasting. Recommended a million times!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Sabah, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“good choice for a chinese fast food preps...the food? yummy..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

when you were in the "heart of the city" you cannot even missed it !!
believe its along the Gaya Street road. Many dishes to choose with for lunch or dinner time. I had my lunch here for their words of saying Hainanese Chicken Rice for i could rate it 8 of 10!! when everybody is craving for chinese food and fast? here is the place.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 5 Star Hainanese Chicken Rice & BBQ Pork also viewed

Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 

Been to 5 Star Hainanese Chicken Rice & BBQ Pork? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 5 Star Hainanese Chicken Rice & BBQ Pork, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.