We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They serve the best Kopi Ping ever!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kopi Ping Cafe

Kopi Ping Cafe
Block E, Ground Floor, Lot 37, No.40-0, Damai Plaza 4 | 88300, Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #61 of 344 Restaurants in Kota Kinabalu
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Description: best Borneo Coffee @ Kopi Ping Cafe , call for reservation: +6088-231877
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“They serve the best Kopi Ping ever!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

I like their kopi ping in bottle which is locally made in Sabah. The taste is just umph when you sip it. The toast bread with kaya and butter was a great combination. I like the combination of toast butter and their kopi ping. Keep up the good service! P/s: My favorite Kopi Ping Cafe is at Warisan Square outlet. Check them out.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    16
    10
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
world
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Service very slow-Damai outlet”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

Recommended by a friend. Firstly, they should have separate non smoking section. Smokers were puffing away right in the middle of the cafe, making non smokers suffer. Better to have separate areas.
Ordered 2 main meal with drinks only ie beef noodle and fishball noodle. First meal came after 20 minutes while we had to remind about the 2nd meal order. Meals came without any condiment ie chilli, soy sauce etc.
We noticed that tables were still not cleared of used cuttlery despite customers gone and new ones waiting. There are better cafes elsewhere. Much hype only.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Average service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Went there a few times... last visit is on December - Saturday night.
Service is getting poor.
Order few dishes... one of it was Fried Kuey Teow. Unfortunately when others order already arrive, the Fried Kuey Teow never arrive. When ask, only they refer back kitchen (my god! they forgotten)
Second thing is, we try to get a small bowl for the kids. When ask, the person says they don have bowls, will get the kitchen to wash it. Then ask my husband to sit and wait. Unfortunately it also never came. We have to ask a second time..... then the bowl arrive. But it look like a very old bowl.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“Try the Bottled Coffee”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

An interesting shade of greys if you are looking out for novelty franchise coffee shop outlets. There are three branches throughout the town - one in Warisan Square, another in Damai Plaza and another in Karamunsing. I've been to the first two, met the owner who appears to be a middle aged lady and is extremely pleasant to talk to. I particularly enjoyed the bottled coffee, first for its unique concept and appearance as well as the rich aroma of the coffee.

Food's fairly okay - expect something like that of Old Town White Coffee kind of menu though I believe Kopi Ping has the edge as it is not overtly sensationalised yet and the owner could still have control over the quality of the food churned out in each outlets.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great find in KK”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stumbled upon this great little cafe when wandering around KK and it was so good, we made a special trip back into town the next day just to eat here again! Food was delicious and cheap, service great, good atmosphere, hip styling, free wifi. Loved the tom yam and the maggi goreng especially.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kopi Ping Cafe also viewed

Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 

Been to Kopi Ping Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kopi Ping Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.