We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Seri Borneo Hotel

Save Saved
You added Seri Borneo Hotel to your Saves list
Seri Borneo Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Seri Borneo Hotel
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Kompleks Sinsuran | Sinsuran, Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 62 Kota Kinabalu B&B and Inns
Sri Lanka
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Don't expect too much from this hotel, but if you have to spend a few days in KK, it's a good location and the staff is friendly, the room clean. This is a good hotel, maybe a little bit too expensive for what it is. They clean the room when you stay more than 1 night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    4
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
2
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Labuan Island, Malaysia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

this hotel is the worst hotel ever..we arrived in KK at 10pm and give the receptionist a call to inform our arrival..they told us that our booking is not in the system because we check in very late, They had canceled our booking without informing us. Our room for 4 person was given to other guests. And no room is provided for us..I would not recommended this hotel because of the very poor service and rude staffs.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights and we opted for the deluxe room, comfy beds, we love the extra pillows and the water heater works properly although it took quite a while to warm up. No elevator though, we got a room at the 3rd floor but to be honest, it is actually the fourth floor, we counted. Just imagine, to carry the luggage was a bit hellish for us, no assistance rendered at all. Anyway, location wise, its excellent!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We arrived midnight here. Check-in process was easy and we get a room on the 2nd floor. The rooms are clean although a little cramped. towels are provided and the air conditioning and hot water to function properly. The location is very strategic, close to shopping centers such as warisan square, center point sabah and waterfront area. conclusion this hotel is worth considering for those of you who are looking for a clean place to stay with a good location and low cost.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

You'll be a 5 minute walk away from the brilliant waterfront area where all the bars and restaurants are so the location is ideal if you love nightlife. Me and my partner stayed for three nights and the only issue we had was that we received no towels! When we asked for towels on various occasions we were informed that they had "run out". Frankly that is quite unacceptable! Would have been three stars but that makes it a two.

Room Tip: Bring towels...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

We booked Seri Borneo through agoda; one of the biggest mistakes we'll try to avoid in future. Actually we chose D'Borneo based on trip advisor reviews, but while booking through agoda it showed that it does'nt have an elevator; whereas Seri Borneo has an elevator. But only when we stepped into the hotel we came to know that this one also lacked an elevator. However, we managed to do without it by taking rooms in the first floor. We checked into the hotel at 9 at night after a long journey from KL. But the callousness of the front desk personnel delayed our check-in. We had booked for 2 rooms while his system showed only one room. To make matters worse the hotel is located right in the middle of the daily pasar malam. We could not sleep properly due to the clamour and felt like we're sleeping on the road. The rooms are literally small and were filled with cigerette smell when we entered. Not much space to keep our luggage and walk around. No place to sit other than the bed. Though we could not find any dinning area or cafeteria, we were wondering where to have our complimentary breakfast. The next morning we were handed coupons which were to be produced at the D'Borneo hotel cafe for breakfast. D'Borneo seemed much more better in all respect, be it the professional staff, food quality, ambience; though we did'nt have a chance to have a look in the rooms. We should have booked D'Borneo in the first place only, had it not been due to the misinformation of the agoda.com. The sad part of the story is we had to stay there for 3 nights.

Room Tip: If anyone landed up in this hotel by mistake, try not to take the road facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seri Borneo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seri Borneo Hotel

Address: Kompleks Sinsuran | Sinsuran, Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Seri Borneo Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo and Odigeo so you can book your Seri Borneo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seri Borneo Hotel Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seri Borneo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.