We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok hostel, nice staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bunibon Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Bunibon Lodge to your Saves list
Bunibon Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Lot 21, Lorong Dewan, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Ok hostel, nice staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Stayed several hostels at KK. Bunibon was definitely worth the money. Nice and clean with very nice and informative staff. The location is also pretty good (5-10min walk around city central)

I just wish they had a living room with air condition! There really was no good place to hang around with others as the awesome veranda they have is really hot during day

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    25
    14
    9
    5
See reviews for
1
20
27
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Shenzhen
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I really enjoyed my nine nights' stay there. Staff was very friendly, location's good, 24 hours check-in, trip info&arrangement, bed's clean enough, the lobby's nice for killing time by catching a movie. just bathrooms and the kitchen needed a little improvement. Generally it's worth of the cost. Fizi and Megan, I know soon you will make it a lot more worthy!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jung g, General Manager at Bunibon Lodge, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Thank you for staying with us, and I appreciate you taking time to share your feedback on the hostel.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. All rooms have access to free WiFi, serving complimentary breakfast and all of our rooms comes with air condition. Also,thank you for the comments about the service from my team. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to the team members.We also under renovation especially kitchen part to serve our guest better.

Again, thank you for the feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Bunibon Lodge Kota Kinabalu when your next return to Sabah.

Best regards,
Fizzy Ezwan Bin Jeffery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I really enjoyed staying there as the staff was really helpful to get us wreck diving & advanced PADI diving license packages for cheap.

The rooms are ok, nothing fancy but nothing wrong, the lobby was nice, cool and big space to relax and wait for the rain to pass...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jung g, General Manager at Bunibon Lodge, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Thank you for staying with us, and I appreciate you taking time to share your feedback on the hostel.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. All rooms have access to free WiFi, serving complimentary breakfast and all of our rooms comes with air condition. Also,thank you for the comments about the service from my team. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to the team members.Also,we are under small renovation to served our guest better.

Again, thank you for the feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Bunibon Lodge Kota Kinabalu when your next return to Sabah.

Best regards,
Fizzy Ezwan Bin Jeffery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We stayed here one night, and left for somewhere else down the road that was much cleaner. Most of the places we looked at in the area were the same price. The staff was super nice, which is why we ended up staying here. However, there were some very easy upgrades that could make the experience better. There was only one working shower, and the toilets weren't great. The rooms were extremely small, and there were barely any plug outlets. The kitchen/common area was a little depressing. The faucet didn't work, everything was dirty, etc. Nothing was very bad, just not great enough to stay more than the one night that we were there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jung g, General Manager at Bunibon Lodge, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Thank you for staying with us, and I appreciate you taking time to share your feedback on the hostel.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. All rooms have access to free WiFi, serving complimentary breakfast and all of our rooms comes with air condition. Also,thank you for the comments about the service from my team. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to the team members.Also we are under small renovation to served our guest better.

Again, thank you for the feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Bunibon Lodge Kota Kinabalu when your next return to Sabah.

Best regards,
Fizzy Ezwan Bin Jeffery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendoza, Argentina
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here one night and then left because every other hostel nearby was the exact same price and this place was kind of run down/dirty. If it was cheaper to stay there, I'd chalk it up to saving money, but at the same price as everywhere else, I decided to move on. There is only one shower that really works (showerhead has to be handheld in the second shower) and the rooms are super small. The kitchen was so gross, there is nothing to wash the dishes with except a dirty sponge that is clearly several weeks old, and even the faucet handle on the sink is broken so you have to jimmy rig it every time you want to turn it on. Also you have to pay extra for towels. I'm not a picky backpacker, but again, at the same price, there are nicer places.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jung g, General Manager at Bunibon Lodge, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Dear Traveler,
Thank you for staying with us and we take all feedback seriously and we regret that we did not meet your expectations, Firstly we would like to thank you for your comment about the friendliness of our team. As your satisfaction is of most importance to us, we would welcome the opportunity to address your comments over the phone, providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our main mission. We have addressed the cleanliness issue and will be inspecting our rooms regularly to insure our guests are comfortable, satisfied and are given the best service. We are currently renovating the kitchen area to serve our guests better. If you come back to Kota Kinabalu, we would like to have the opportunity to show you the improvements we have made and making in the lodge. We hope to see you again in the future and we wish you the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Very big thanks to Bunibon guys, who managed to accommodate us with no booking, in the middle of the night, after a very long travel to KK, when the people from the hostel we did book, did not show up to let us in.

The service was real friendly, the dorm rooms were simple and clean, shower etc was OK, nice lounge room where people hung out, had beer and so on with very reasonable price.

Fun and relax place with good people! Really recommend!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I stayed for one night in the AC dorm rooms and was happy with my stay. The bed was really comfortable for a dorm room and came with clean sheets and a fluffy comforter. The staff was friendly, just couldn't get too much travel advice about KK because of limited English. The location is okay, still a walk to the waterfront, but everything is very compact in KK so it's no problem. You do need to pay for lockers (RM 5) and towel (RM 2). You can get one of the staff to take you to the airport for RM 30.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bunibon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bunibon Lodge

Address: Lot 21, Lorong Dewan, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 74 Specialty Lodging in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bunibon Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Started by 2 pairs of couple... Victor Suan and Josephen.. and Petronella Suan and Nenad Zrnic... together this Lodge happen and the birth of this Lodge was then named .. Bunibon .. a combination of Nick Names of Vic and Jo's children.. Bubu Nia and Bonbon.. this idea was from Nenad. Bunibon Lodge is located right in the heart of Kota Kinabalu City (on the Island of Borneo, Sabah, Malaysia). It is surrounded by other backpackers lodge, automatically puts it in the backpackers lodging "HOTSPOT" A stone throw away is the famous Atkinson Clock Tower. Built in 1903, this all-wood, no-nails structure was built in memory of Francis George Atkinson, the First District Officer of Jesselton during the British North Borneo Chartered Company Administration, who had succumbed to a tropical disease at the young age of 28. While staying in Kota Kinabalu City, a short hike to Signal Hill is not to be missed. It gives you the best view of Kota Kinabalu City. Photos of sunsets and Bright lights in the night often comes out splendid. If you are somebody who is in touch with nature, Jesselton Point which is 10 minutes walk away offers you boat services to go our nearby islands, mainly Gaya, Sapi, Manukan and Mamutik. It would only take about 10 minutes to reach any of these islands.Bunibon lodge not only accommodate you with affordable price but we also provide you with transportation and guidance to assist you during your stay in Kota Kinabalu City. Feel free to liase with our receptionist for car rental or tours.All rooms are fully air-conditioned, we basically have dorm and private room. Come and stay with us!! Luxury in a small scale... :) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bunibon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bunibon Lodge Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bunibon Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.