We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lucy is not working with enjoyment anymore” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lucy Homestay

Lucy  Homestay
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kota Kinabalu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lucy Homestay
Save Saved
You added Lucy Homestay to your Saves list
Lot No.25, Lorong Dewan, Australia Place, Kota Kinabalu 88000 , Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lucy is not working with enjoyment anymore”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

It´s quite hard to rate this hostel. Because on one hand there´s Lucy and I´m shure she is a very lovely person. But we had the feeling that she is just too long in this business and she does it only for the money now. For example she is getting annoyed whenever somebody uses something too long/too much and you feel very controlled while there.
So we didn´t feel very comfortable. And the toilets and showers were really not clean at all. Never in Malaysia had so dirty toilets. And as she closes the backdoor when she goes to bed, you cannot wash your hands after 11pm. So when you use the toilet at night, you will have to wait for the next morning to wash your hands :(
When there was heavy rain, it was raining into our room onto our bed and she didn´t really care about that. When we asked her about a discount for that night, she was angry at us, she said what extras we had already got, like she made our laundry (what we had payed for).
All in all, we hope that Lucy will find a good moment to give the hostel away to someone else, as she is not working with passion and pleasure anymore and that´s what we felt.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    11
    8
    10
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
14
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Donetsk, Ukraine
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

One of the cosiest hostels I've ever been. Freindly and helpful Lucy. Big library, 2 cats, amazing balcony with flowers. Free WiFi.
We stayed in a double room with Fan, was ok, since wasn't that hot at that time. The only problem is that windows didn't close properly and early morning was quite noisy.
Cold wanter in the shower - refreshing.
For those want to climb Mount Kinabalu, we found the cheapest deal at Lucy's.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Firstly, it's not a homestay! At a homestay, you stay with a family in the family home. This is a guesthouse. We arrived at 8:15pm because the bus from BSB was delayed. Danny in BSB booked us into the place but really we wished he hadn't. We were met on reception by a surly young man who couldn't find our booking and, when he did, had to be asked for the key to the room and after that had to be asked for the bedding. He didn't show us anything. We stayed in the dorm room (along with someone else's suitcases) but because we'd asked for a double room, we were charged a double room price. On the second night we moved into a double which was slightly better but probably less spacious. There are more rules at the guesthouse than there are for cricket - "please wash your feet before going to bed", "1 cup of tea or coffee, four slices of toast, two pieces of fruit for breakfast" etc. Extra cups of tea or coffee are charged at RM1.50 each. There are two toilet rooms (without washbasins) which we had to find ourselves and two shower rooms with washbasins outside which we also had to find for ourselves. But at night, all the doors to the outside are locked so not only can you not wash your hands after visiting the toilet, you wouldn't be able to escape if there was a fire. There's a fridge with small cans of Tiger beer for RM6 but you can buy Skol around the corner (4 cans for RM10) or stout (3 cans for RM10). Many travellers sit on the verandah at the side - quite a nice meeting point. A dorm bed is RM23 per night and a double room is RM58 a night. When we go back to KK next month, we'll be staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

What can i say..poor lucy for one.I stayed here before this time last year and it was ok,mainly because she was not there the last time:)This time she was and i was badly sick,bed bound for 5 days in total.I met 2 people in the airport and told them about this home stay.Long story short,the 2 people from the UK where horrified at how Loose NUT Lucy treated them as was i!She asked them were they stupid when they asked about a double room price the next day as the dorm was to hot and for 6 beds 2 small fans is not enough.She is like the aunty you never wanna see or visit but the place is or has that homely feeling to it.no denying it.Their is wifi but whilst i was in bed watching a movie when i was sick,she told me i was using to much of the wifi!!!!Next was ,your using the fan all day to!!!!so after 2 nights i moved and so did other people.i moved to backpackers and it was heaven with AIRCON and cheaper.go figure!I think she has bin in the game far to long.She should retire and let the nice young guy take it over.

Room Tip: plenty of other places around.maybe when someone else takes it over its good name will return
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

U like the place or u dont like it! Lucy is an aunty and every day is diffrent, sometimes she is in a good mood sometimes grumpy!

There are certain rules to follow, but I dont mind it. The Lady runs the business for 20 years so she probably saw a lot of travellers and their bad habits. Lucy is a good source of information, whenever we got questions about transportation or any other info about Sabah she always helped us.

Breakfast is simple, coffee, tea, toast and fruit, good library and it feels like a living room.

Rooms, we stayed in Lucy´s a couple of times so we tried 3 diffrent Doublerooms. All got enough space, working fan, clean linen and no bed bugs!

Bathrooms are old and used and would need an addtional wipe. Only cold water for shower! Toilets are clean and never run out of toiletpaper.

Location is just perfect, the area around "Australia Place" is packed with good, cheap restaurants and tasty food. Very cheap Cinema in walking distance for rainy days.

We had a couple of nights of very good sleep, was quiet and the fan did a good job! The cats are very cute and like to cuddle.

Room Tip: Room Nr.4 got big window and its the most quiet corner
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Really - a complete babe. She was so chatty and so funny. And helpful to boot. A great place to meet like minded travellers who like to walk in the rain. Great library too.

A word of advice: don't drop the tortoise.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

On first glance Lucy's feels like being back home; its small, cosy and a couple of rather sweet cats. The library area was a really nice touch too. Bathrooms annoyingly are on the balcony and involve having to squash through the washing machine to reach.

However, despite the homey feel I was disappointed to realize that Lucy herself was only friendly to certain travellers. Reading other travellers' reviews seems to confirm this (and is quite reassuring actually), and indeed when my friend and I asked to leave our bags for a couple of hours after checking out she made it quite clear she wanted rid of us. She also was not the most helpful with giving advice or recommendations for where to eat.

Overall it was an ok place to spend a couple of nights on a budget, but would not recommend for any longer. One final thing, a fellow traveller later told me he found bugs in his mattress though luckily I did not see this myself.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lucy Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lucy Homestay

Address: Lot No.25, Lorong Dewan, Australia Place, Kota Kinabalu 88000 , Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 74 Specialty lodging in Kota Kinabalu
Also Known As:
Lucy Homestay Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Lucy Homestay Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lucy Homestay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.