We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will come back!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lucy Homestay

Lucy  Homestay
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kota Kinabalu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lucy Homestay
Save
You added Lucy Homestay to your Saves list
Lot No.25, Lorong Dewan, Australia Place, Kota Kinabalu 88000 , Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“We will come back!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

U like the place or u dont like it! Lucy is an aunty and every day is diffrent, sometimes she is in a good mood sometimes grumpy!

There are certain rules to follow, but I dont mind it. The Lady runs the business for 20 years so she probably saw a lot of travellers and their bad habits. Lucy is a good source of information, whenever we got questions about transportation or any other info about Sabah she always helped us.

Breakfast is simple, coffee, tea, toast and fruit, good library and it feels like a living room.

Rooms, we stayed in Lucy´s a couple of times so we tried 3 diffrent Doublerooms. All got enough space, working fan, clean linen and no bed bugs!

Bathrooms are old and used and would need an addtional wipe. Only cold water for shower! Toilets are clean and never run out of toiletpaper.

Location is just perfect, the area around "Australia Place" is packed with good, cheap restaurants and tasty food. Very cheap Cinema in walking distance for rainy days.

We had a couple of nights of very good sleep, was quiet and the fan did a good job! The cats are very cute and like to cuddle.

Room Tip: Room Nr.4 got big window and its the most quiet corner
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    11
    9
    11
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
14
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Really - a complete babe. She was so chatty and so funny. And helpful to boot. A great place to meet like minded travellers who like to walk in the rain. Great library too.

A word of advice: don't drop the tortoise.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

On first glance Lucy's feels like being back home; its small, cosy and a couple of rather sweet cats. The library area was a really nice touch too. Bathrooms annoyingly are on the balcony and involve having to squash through the washing machine to reach.

However, despite the homey feel I was disappointed to realize that Lucy herself was only friendly to certain travellers. Reading other travellers' reviews seems to confirm this (and is quite reassuring actually), and indeed when my friend and I asked to leave our bags for a couple of hours after checking out she made it quite clear she wanted rid of us. She also was not the most helpful with giving advice or recommendations for where to eat.

Overall it was an ok place to spend a couple of nights on a budget, but would not recommend for any longer. One final thing, a fellow traveller later told me he found bugs in his mattress though luckily I did not see this myself.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

Cats everywhere, one of which excreted outside of our room. The person in charge stayed in the same dorm as us and kept turning off the fan to save electric when it's boiling hot. Not helpful with advice on where to go. The library area was the nicest. And the bathroom had hair balls everywhere.

Not a great experience

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012 via mobile

Small really cosy and brilliantly decorated place with 3 cats you feel like your at home but the only negative would be that the staff were not very friendly and were always asking people to be quiet. If you want a quiet hostel this is perfect.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Honestly, Lucy Homestay is really a nice cosy home and Lucy really takes care of the place by keeping it clean and neat. But why I will not go back again? Here are some of the reasons :

1. No aircon. Seriously I am not a person who must have aircon but the 2 ceiling fans in the dorm room with 6 beds is not going to be enough! ( I also do not have air con at home ). Room 2 that we stayed in was hot and every night all the six of us had a hard time sleeping. For RM$2 more, we could have stayed at an air con place.

2. Silence. Yes, most of the time we were there, we had to be silent or had to whisper. I know that Lucy is trying let the place be quiet for others but surely no one is asleep at 8-9pm?

3. Lucy. Nothing personal but she is probably like an aunt that is fussy and treats only certain people nicely. Seems like everyone finds her helpful but in my opinion, she helps but grouchily...

4. Many rules. As mentioned by other reviewers, there are many rules as well as restrictions.

I would not recommend for a big group of friends travelling. But if you are travelling in 1 or 2 in a group then maybe this will be good.

Note: People who are cat-phobia, stay away - there are cute friendly cats in the house!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cesena, Italy
Top Contributor
716 reviews 716 reviews
146 hotel reviews
Reviews in 240 cities Reviews in 240 cities
1,569 helpful votes 1,569 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

The place is quite small but very decent. unfortunately you don't have bathroom inside but in the city, if you search budget hotel, it will be really hard for you to get one unless you pay a lot. as i said the room are quite small and old, we wanted to spend 5 nights here but at the end we changed hotel the following day. good choice if u wanna spend one night

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lucy Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lucy Homestay

Address: Lot No.25, Lorong Dewan, Australia Place, Kota Kinabalu 88000 , Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 74 Specialty Lodging in Kota Kinabalu
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Lucy Homestay Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Lucy Homestay Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lucy Homestay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.