We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy Hotel Nearby Airport Terminal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casuarina Tanjung Aru Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Casuarina Tanjung Aru Hotel to your Saves list
Casuarina Tanjung Aru Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Lorong Ikan Lais | Jalan Mat Salleh, Tanjung Aru, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 72 Kota Kinabalu B&B and Inns
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Comfy Hotel Nearby Airport Terminal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Excellent Value for money hotel located close to both Kota Kinabalu Airports. Clean rooms with comfortable rooms. Comes good with decent American Breakfast.
Free Airport Transfer to and fro Airport, also free shuttle service to Kota Kinabalu town center.
Only downside would the bathrooms, Local Malaysians will have trouble as there is no tap in the toilet other then the sink.
Its and old hotel but still maintains its cleanliness. I would return to this hotel again. The staffs are very friendly and obliging.

Room Tip: Not much as the hotel is old but rest assured well maintain. Kudos to the management.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    25
    13
    3
    5
See reviews for
12
17
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

My siblings and I wanted a hotel that's near the airport and beach.

The room rates are very reasonable. The staff might not be as friendly as you want them to be but they are very kind and accommodating. Extra bed is RM 30 per night.

Breakfast is included. Not that good but it's complimentary so I won't complain.

We just had minor problem with the bathroom and toilet.

They fetch guests from the airport (even if the hotel is walking distance from airport). They also bring guests to the airport. Just tell them in advance.

They're not big on ice water (the weather can be very hot), so stock up on ice water.

Wifi access is at the lobby only but we stayed in the floor above the lobby so we had Internet access.

Overall, I'm happy with our choice.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
129 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Booked this place as we wanted somewhere near the airport after a late arrival.
The room was musty smelling, rather tatty and grubby. I had lots of small ants in my room.
I didn't use the shower as it was full of hair.
Breakfast wasn't great, and the dining room staff really didn't seem interested in doing anything. The reception staff were much more polite and helpful.
The location is ideal for the airport. The beach a few minutes walk away is lovely.
The shuttle bus seems hit and miss. We were told we could not use the shuttle to the airport as it finished running at 11am and we weren't leaving until the afternoon.
Wifi worked in lobby.
Yes the hotel is cheap, but I would still expect a clean room.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasig, Philippines
Level Contributor
178 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Pros

-very near at the airport. You can avail the FREE airport pick up or drop off OR u can walk since it's few minutes walk from the airport (15-20 mins walk). No need for cab, which costs RM 30.

-Casuarina provides FREE shuttle going to city proper. That's RM 30 savings for the cab! You can even ask the driver to drop you off to where you're exactly going (like at Gaya st. Or any mall at the city proper, just make sure to ask the receptionist for the time or schedule of the shuttle going to the town because It depends to the availability of the driver).

-Casuarina is just next to Perdana park, which also has restaurants, a place to stay to kill time, jog or even watch their "water fountain show" which starts at 7PM sharp.

-Casuarina is just few minutes going to the seaside restaurants and Tanjung Aru beach.

-Free decent breakfast.

-very spacious rooms.

-late check out (3Pm) costs only RM 20 and

-great customer service. Receptionists are extremely helpful and accommodating.


CONS
-FREE airport pick up and drop off-- has conditions. From 9am-7pm or depends on the availability of the driver. Otherwise, WALK---saves u RM 30.

-room always smell cigarette even we chose the non-smoking room. (We stayed at twin room during 3 nights stay and double room during 2 nights stay) Not spotless clean.

-Ref. And safe in the room are not functioning. Clogged sink and ONLY 1 English Channel.

-WIFI available only at the lobby.

Overall, I still strongly recommend Casuarina because of Pros and convenience or accessibility it offers. Stayed here for 3 nights and we're supposed to stay 2 nights at a different b & b after our Legoland trip. But weighing the adv. of Casuarina, we stayed another two nights here. With very cost effective price, casuarina rocks!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

We only stayed for one night. Would happily have stayed for another couple. Free airport transfer was waiting for us on arrival and the return trip to the airport was also fine. The hotel is close to the airport and the beach. Breakfast was a set american, just warm (not hot) in keeping with all our food experiences in Borneo. We booked a third bed in our room (the family room was unavailable) which turned out to be a mattress on the floor! Our room had a balcony. And the room was only set up for two (towels, glasses etc) although housekeeping did respond to our request another set of amenities quite quickly. And replaced the broken fridge at our request. Wi-fi was only available in the lobby (not rooms) but we knew that. The front desk staff are not very welcoming at all but check in and check out was quick and easy. The room was clean enough and the shower room was quite roomy with plenty of hot water and surfaces to put your toiletries, very welcome after staying in a basic lodge in Sukau! There is a musical water show at the next door park every evening, we missed it but would be worth a look for those there early in the evening.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Here are my comment
- no house keeping clean my room, change towel and clear dustbin
- the safe box cover with dust
- no paper and pencil near the telephone table
- one of the light dont have bulb

hopefully there will be improvement in future

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

We stayed here for a night to catch an early flight to Sandakan. We did not regret it. This place is a walking distance to the beach. You can hang out by the beach all day and walk back to the hotel. At night, restaurants nearby are plenty.
Though basic but its adequate for us. Hotel is clean,reasonably priced and most of all they offer free shuttle to the airport.We didnt manage to catch the free breakfast as our flight was very early.
Overall a Good Hotel if you want to just stay up for a night at two and enjoy the beach .

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
1.5 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
15.8 mi away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Megah D'Aru Hotel
Megah D'Aru Hotel
#37 of 97 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 stars 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 97 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 stars 942 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Crown Borneo Hotel
The Crown Borneo Hotel
#50 of 97 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 stars 121 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#5 of 97 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 stars 753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casuarina Tanjung Aru Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casuarina Tanjung Aru Hotel

Address: Lorong Ikan Lais | Jalan Mat Salleh, Tanjung Aru, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casuarina Tanjung Aru Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Casuarina Tanjung Aru Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casuarina Tanjung Aru Hotel Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casuarina Tanjung Aru Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.