We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe, exciting and fun with professionals!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riverbug Asia

Riverbug Asia
Lot 227 - 229 2nd Floor | Jalan Tun Fuad Stephen, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
+6 088 260 501
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Safe, exciting and fun with professionals!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

On our recent trip to Sabah with our American friends, we conquered Sungai Padas together .... we took up water rafting on the rapids of Class III - IV.

We booked a package from RIverbug online for Rm940.00 (US294) for 4 persons and that package covered return coach transfer from our hotel in Kota Kinabalu to Beaufort train station, a return train ride on an antique train to Pangi, the water rafting, insurance coverage, a licensed guide and lunch.

The White Water Rafting of Sungai Padas was a feeling of excitement and nerve tingling experience of battling the awesome rapids which were so intense that some rowers were thrown twice into the gushing waters and had to be rescued by professional canoeists who were on standby in case of emergency. We were in 3 separate rafts and each one had a 2 professional rafters on board to steer and assist the rafters who were foreign tourists.

They picked us up at 5.35am and we arrived in Beaufort about 7.30am. The guide gave us our train tickets and advised us to board early to ensure we had seating on the 3 small coaches. We hopped onto an old rackety World War II train with amuse and it left at 7.50am for Pangi. The fare of the return train ride was only Rm2.20 per person and it was indeed an unusual ride with no proper seats and at times we had to sit on the floor of the coach mingling with the locals who brought fresh river fishes on board to sell to the commuters and also motorbikers who used to ferry their vehicles to their villages in the dense jungle. Due to insufficient seating or standing space, some of the passengers had to make do by seating at the edge of the train daggling their legs out to be chopped off by the sides of the mountain! The train was the only means of transport for the local indigenuos folks who had their settlements alongside the railroad tracks. We had to interchange train at Saliwangan midway to get to Rayoh station where we had to keep our personal belongings and changed into our rafting gears. The entire train ride was hot and humid and a good 1 hour and 45 minutes!

We arrived at Pangi at 10.30am, we were given light refreshments (bottled waters and sweet sliced watermelons). Safety briefing was conducted by the Riverbug guide and the "do's and don'ts" were emphasised!

Then the fun began! We were grouped to form a team and names of the professional rafters to accompany the rafters (the tourisits) were assigned. On reaching our respective rafts, we were then assigned our seating positions and once we were ready, the adrenalin rush begins......

It was an awesome 2 hours experience with mixed emotions from start to finish. The 10km rafting included 8 points of rapids ranging from mild to really intense ones and the rapids had interesting names to identify itself....Head Hunter, Lambada, Cobra, Scooby Doo, Washing Machine, Mary Go Round, Snake House and BBQ Rapids! The identification names spoke for itself and even if you have not raft before, you'll know what it was like over the speedy currents!!!!!

We reached Rayoh our ending point at 12.35pm, waded over huge river rocks to climb over a small slope to flat land where we had to turn in our rafting gears before we headed to the restaurant to have our sumptuous lunch.

After our meal, we hopped back on the same train ride back to Beaufort town and were transferred safely to Ming Garden where we were staying. It was truly a great memorable experience!!!!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    26
    6
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Penang Island, Malaysia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The Unprofessional Tour Guide on 22/7/2014”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Complaint on Sabah, Riverbug. They told us a few pcs of photo (burn into CD) will sell at RM100 to a team (exclude the rest of the team on that day) and warned us no camera prohibited. If visitors want to take their personal gadgets it is under their own risk, Sabah Riverbug do not have the rights to block us. Would like to share my experience with Perak Riverbug where I did rafting at Gopeng last year September. It was the professionalisme (of tour guide and his team) and top quality service given by Gopeng Riverbug which makes me to recommend Sabah Riverbug to my friends to do rafting at Padas River. The rafting I had at Padas river is very dull and it should be a level 1 instead of level 3/4 claimed by Sabah Riverbug. Our certificate stated level 3/4. I am glad that the safety procedure were clearly demonstrated by Sabah Riverbug.
Would like to question Riverbug honor. Sabah team told us there will be no photo be upload into main riverbug website. But Gopeng team told me they will upload photos into website within 3 weeks. I did downloaded the Gopeng pictures from the website. I feel "con" by Sabah team. There were HongKies, Germanese and etc with us that day. This create a bad image for Malaysia tourism.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Padas river”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

The trip started at 5.10am. Back to our hotel at 6pm . its interesting as we need to take bus and then train there (but its suffering as there is no air con on the train) The actual action is actually only about 1.5 hour ride (10km) . We took the Padas River which is rated 3 and 4 .

Good part
Well. . . the guide is very friendly, Cheerful and happy go lucky type.
New experience if you did not try . But its a bit wasteful of the time consumed

Bad part
1. The cert is upon request . They do not give if we do not ask.
2. The river is not so exciting as mention. Maybe there is no downpour .
3. This is an exciting game , but the guide keep moving the boat away from the dangerous part . Thats boring ...
4. They do not let us bring along our camera/Hp. Hence , we need to buy from them which is RM 100 for all the digital photo . Its expensive , right ? And they should have shot more photo .

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Exciting and Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

We are a grp of 6pax, good enough to fill up a raft. We have 3 excellent guides with us rafting Padas river which is graded 3&4. So you can expect how 'rapid' the water is. We took an exotic train ride through the village which is so interesting and we are really fascinated by the view along the way. When the train is getting near our raft spot, my friends whom are non-swimmers freaked out at the sight of Padas river. The water is gushing fiercely through. But not to worry, riverbug guides took great care of us and as my friends are very worried about capsizing, they promised us that they will not do so. Overall, exciting raft and I can't wait to have my next raft with them again!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Smile!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We went to river padas with the most amazing guides of riverbug.

Firstly, don't expect this to be smooth. Not just the rafting, but even getting there. In our first attempt, we failed. The train wasn't working and as that is the only way to reach there, we had to go back to kota kinabalu doing a 2 hrs bus ride, which was quite disappointing after waking up at 4 am in the morning.

In our second attempt the next day, we were told that the train 'could be working today' but it was about 2 hrs late. So we waited and waited and finally when the train started we were told that since we are already running late, everything else would have to be done super quickly. Like prep and refreshments.

I should also mention that both me and my wife are non-swimmers are we were extremely scared to go for this. But looking at the stats, we knew that it is basically just our fear so we went for this. The first time our guide asked us to jump in the water to practice body rafting we jumped without thinking and we were scared to death! So much so that we simply denied jumping in the next time, but with the way guides handled everything and joked around we quickly became comfortable with the water and started enjoying the rapids. It's an amazing feeling to see your raft going towards the rushing water and then it moves in all sorts of motions making you feel at each moment that the raft is gonna turn down and you try to hold on and still want more. In brief, totally worth it.

And the guides and captains of riverbug are the best people we could have asked for this trip. They constantly keep you engaged and entertained. And one thing I definitely learnt from them is that 'If you fall down, smile, as somebody might be taking picture!'

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riverbug Asia also viewed

Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Sabah, Malaysia
 
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 

Been to Riverbug Asia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverbug Asia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.