We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sepilok Orangutan Rehabilitation Centre

Sepilok Orangutan Rehabilitation Centre
Sepilok Road Sabah, Malaysia, Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
88-248 698
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$411*
and up
Sandakan Sepilok Orang Utan Rehabilitation Center...
Type: Dams, Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
Attraction details
England
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Great to see the orangutans in their own habitat, well worth the visit. But don't expect too much!! It is what it is!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    338
    268
    125
    39
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Astounding”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

We flew from KK as a day trip specific to go to Sepilok and see the Orang Utans. We were not disappointed. While there are some mixed reviews on this sanctuary, we knew what to expect. While the bustling crowds poured in at feeding time and were extremely noisy which we were sure sent some of the Orang Utans packing, we did get to see one pregnant female, one male coming into his prime and three younger Orang Utans.

There were a lot more Macaque monkey action the whole time.

We hung back as all the masses of tourists fled with their tour groups and got to watch a few who remained in some peace and quiet.

It is a sanctuary for rehabilitation of orphaned young animals.

Well worth the experience.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Don't be misled by this sanctuary. The animals are agreeably semi wild but there are around 22 animals living in a very small area and this is totally against how they would be in the wild. Inbreeding must also be an issue as the land area is so small and this is not managed. The animals will never leave this area and go back to real wild jungle so don't be misled to believe this. One animal came to the afternoon feeding time and in essence it was feeding time at the zoo. I visited as part of a package tour but Matang sanctuary was much more benefitting of visitors.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sgt_Pepper_9
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Quite Good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

The Orang Utang are the reason to visit. They are as astonishing and unique as you expect. Very special. We saw 4 Orangs during first feeding, one on the second.

The viewing platform is only adequate. Lots of people crowding the front for 15 mins or so feeding time. We went twice in the day. The food from first feeding was still there for the second.

The Sun Bear sanctuary next door is a much better experience, even if the Sun Bears don't hold a candle to the Orangs in individual charisma, nevertheless we spent much more time with them.

The Proboscis Sanctuary, some way further away, offered a big positive surprise. If we had known we would have spent more time there.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A glimps of natures beautiful creatures; the orang utangs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

This place has many orang utangs that live in the forest up until fairly grown up. You probably would not see them if they did not feed them twice a day - it sort of makes you feel somehow as in a zoo, but I think we should appreciate that this gives us the chance to see some of them hanging around.
Having seen the feeding, take the time to take a walk in the fabulous rainforest instead of just hurring on.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sepilok Orangutan Rehabilitation Centre also viewed

Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 

Been to Sepilok Orangutan Rehabilitation Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sepilok Orangutan Rehabilitation Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.