We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family stay in dorm room of hostel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Masada Backpacker

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Masada Backpacker to your Saves list
Masada Backpacker
Ground & 1st Floor, Lot 9, Jalan Masjid | Mosque Valley, Kota Kinabalu 88800, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Family stay in dorm room of hostel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

My family of 5, with 4 boys (6,9 and 11) stayed in a 6 bunk-bed dorm for 4 nights. We felt the hostel was comfortable and clean and the staff were very friendly. The hostel is within a 10 minute walk to the seafront with restaurants and bars which was handy. Staff helped us to arrange our onward travel and went out of their way to help us with details. I'd recommend this place to anyone visiting KK.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    51
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
42
84
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Have stay here during the Chinese New Year 2012. Stayed in the dorm with Air-con, free wifi connection, basic breakfast, shared hot showers, clean daily, travel & transportation info. The hotel is central enough at the city area. A 24 hr KFC is nearby for food after midnight. Public transport is not very efficient & not user friendly for tourist but everything is good by walking (not during the hot sun day). The nearest shopping mall by walking is Centre Point Sabah with lots of shops inside include a local cinema. Nearby the shopping mall you can find the famous filipino market during the day & local food market by night. The hotel is not visible at the main road but on the smaller road entering beside KFC. The hotel have front & back entrance (I usually use the back entrance as it's more accesseble by night or day)

Room Tip: Rooms facing the front will have bright lights from the streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

This is by far one of the best hostels in Borneo Malaysia to stay in, very clean, great friendly helpful staff, very clean bathrooms, handy kitchen area, aircon dorm rooms with the most comfy beds I have ever had in a dorm, lockers, best breakfast (stays on the table all day) including fruit, cereal, juice and lots more. Peter the owner and his wife are lovely and can arrange all your needs for climbing Mt Kinabalu, they even mind your luggage when you set off. There are nice cheap restaurants, laundries, movies, shopping center, bus stops, bars all close by. No complaints enjoy this rare gem in Asia.

Room Tip: The dorms are the best no need to go private, if you do choose a private, pick the ones at the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurun, Kedah, Malaysia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

its very clean,neat and tidy~the owner very friendly and nice~it very comfort~it full withmy 16 years old memories...i like MASADA so much!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We spent a night at Masada Backpacker after our Mount Kinabalu climb and we had a good night sleep with clean and comfortable bed (air-cond dorm room) as well as hot shower. The best part was that the hostel not only helped us store our luggage (from after check out until our airport cab arrived at night) but also allowed us to take our shower after the check out. It was something we really appreciated since we needed to store our belongings safely while we go for white water rafting in Tenom where there's no shower place after the activity. Also the location of the hostel is convenient, near to eateries and only about 15 minutes to the airport.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

I think the rest had mentioned all the good things on this hostel. We booked for the only family room for 6 of us, and we had no complaints at all. Comfy beds & pillows, friendly owner & staff, just-nice breakfast, cleanliness... and Peter (the owner) even offers us to have a shower and rest at the living room after our island trip even tough we had checked out. Where can you find such considerate operator in town?

I highly recommend those visiting KK to book for this resort as the location wise is also very strategic, with few minutes walk to the town, waterfront, restaurants..

I will definitely come back again :-) Thanks Masada, Peter and the staff

Room Tip: Book early as the rooms/ beds are selling fast, especially for group :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

We had 8 persons travel to Kota Kinabalu. Is the best backpacker hostel that I had stay before in Malaysia. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Location is good and convenience. The persons in-charge are very friendly and helpful. We feel like we are staying at home. There are coffee machine, breads, biscuits and fruits at all time. We enjoy our stay and highly recommend to you.

Room Tip: Surrounding are quiet. Free Wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Masada Backpacker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Masada Backpacker

Address: Ground & 1st Floor, Lot 9, Jalan Masjid | Mosque Valley, Kota Kinabalu 88800, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 77 Specialty Lodging in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Masada Backpacker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Masada Backpacker Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Masada Backpacker Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Masada Backpacker, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.