We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coffee shop” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fatty Kee (under Angs Hotel)

Fatty Kee (under Angs Hotel)
8 Lorong Bakau, | Jalan Pantai,, Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 322 restaurants in Kota Kinabalu
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Description: Was recommended to me by an Australian Yachtie that we met while here, very busy and sometimes we had to stand and stalk a table and pounce when someone left. Food was great They do have an english menu but the best stuff appears is written on the wall in Chinese. Ask feisty Aunty for a translation of sorts Meal was great and cheap, did not see beer being drunk or visible anywhere but there are a couple of Carlsberg signs on the wall, so it may be available but a mug of chinese tea did it for us when we were there.
Kuala lumpur
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Coffee shop”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We thought this was a restaurant but it turned out to be abnormal coffee shop. Overcrowded and tables not cleaned frequently. Selling Chinese food . Food ok but hygiene well we have our doubts. Staff not uniformed and caught one picking the nose, so we left. Sorry but coffee shop category should not be u der restaurant category. Misleading when we had to get arab to get there from hotel.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    22
    22
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Osaka, Japan
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great local eatery (Kerda Kopi Fatt Kee)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

You know you are in for a treat when you see groups and families of KK locals waiting on the sidewalk at all times of day and evening to grab a table at this open-air restaurant. As a solo traveler, they usually sat me at a small service table with one foot in the kitchen and took great care of me.

My favorite fare here was ginger fish and chili fried shrimp. A must stop in Kota Kinabalu.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Love the marmite chicken”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

totally love the cookings! this is what we call "cook with all your heart". reasonable price with great aroma. it's time to feed those monsters!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Go early for the parking and table!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

On weekdays, me and friend reached at around 645pm, thinking that it is still early to get table and car park. Who knows... It is totally a nightmare to find a car park ! We gave up finally after 20 minutes just to round the place find parking.

The food has always been awesome. To get there, do go as early as possible (6-630pm)! To save the hassle, maybe can park your car at suria shopping mall and walk there, it's only 5-8 minutes walking distance.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KK
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good Chinese Food But Full of Oily Smoke”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

The heading speaks for itself. I think they need to invest in a good ventilation system to suck out all the oily smoke that comes out of the kitchen!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fatty Kee (under Angs Hotel) also viewed

Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 

Been to Fatty Kee (under Angs Hotel)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fatty Kee (under Angs Hotel), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.