We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Guess what surprise???” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Circle Restaurant Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu

Circle Restaurant Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Jalan Tun Fuad Stephens | Sinsuran, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
+60 6088322238
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #52 of 344 Restaurants in Kota Kinabalu
Price range: $7 - $30
Cuisines: Asian, Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Buffet
Description: Circle restaurant is an all day dining restaurant of Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, opens from 6.30Am to 11.00Pm daily and starts with buffet breakfasts that showcase Le Meridien's Signature Breakfast menu. Circle features an array of Malaysian and Asian specialties, with classic western dishes, served day long. Le Meridien's signature coffee, Illy caffe, is offered at Circle Restaurant all day.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Guess what surprise???”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

I have two surprises:
1. The breakfast is served nice and warm. I am surprised that most of the waitress can speak mandarin well, despite they are not Chinese from their name tag. Perhaps it cater for most of the China tourists. However, I am surprised that they speak Mandarin better than most of Malaysian live in West Malaysia.
2. The lunch and dinner. The buffet is served at 92++ which is not considered a cheap deal. I am surprised that the restaurant only serves sushi during the weekend and it did not serve sashimi at all. Secondly it did not serve any oyster despite of it served many cuisine of seafood.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    6
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cuneo, Italy
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good impression but .....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

The service si almost OK. Some weitress was a little bit unattentive.
The list of wine si pur in numbers and quality forma this kind of hotel.
The cocktail are prepared in amatorial way.
Price in line with the other 5 star hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Good But Expected Better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

My wife and I dined there on the evening of December 13.

Service was fantastic, but at 7pm we were the only 2 in the restaurant.

Whilst the food was fine, that is all it was. I truly couldn't fault it but couldn't brag about it either.

Just a good experience but my expectations were higher.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury, Australia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Quiet ambience overlooking the lights of Kota Kinabalu harbour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

I was looking for somewhere peaceful with a broad menu including western style food and this restaurant delivered. Tasty food and excellent service provided a pleasant dining experience

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent western asian fusion buffet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

With 2 teenagers and 2 adults we decided to try the western buffet at The Circle at Le Meridien in Kota Kinabalu. Right decission! It was everything you wanted from different Asian dishes, superb pizza and grilled meat to some Italian lasagna, great moussaka. We started with choosing several appetizers such sashimi and Caesar salad and ended with creme caramel, chocolate fountain with strawberries and awesome bread and butter cake. To that some tasty red wine from Chile. One of our best buffets.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Circle Restaurant Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu also viewed

Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 

Been to Circle Restaurant Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Circle Restaurant Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.