We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little "tired"” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gaya Centre Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Gaya Centre Hotel to your Saves list
Gaya Centre Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Tun Fuad Stephens | PO Box 13751, Kota Kinabalu 88843, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 93 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“A little "tired"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

The Gaya Centre is a good find in KK but I found it a "little tired" in its presentation and some features. The exterior could benefit from a minor 'face lift' as paint is peeling, run down looking gardent areas and not really welcoming. Interior is fine except for the carpets - need major renovation throughout the whole hotel - many areas, expecially the corridors are soiled, stained and torn.

I had a king panoramic room on the 13th floor - all good except found the bed a little hard and uncomfortable. Good ensuite with lots of hot water and good water pressure. Room had all normal facilities with free toiletries and slippers. It also had good bed linen and bath towels.

Even being on the 13th Floor, a lot of traffic and pedestrian noise could be heard. Caution: The hotel in directly under the flight path during some parts of the day.
If you want to park (why have a car in KK as taxi's are plentiful and fares are negotiated) there is parking at a fee.

G Lounge is a good, if pricy spot, to enjoy a cold drink or light meal at the end of a day's exploring.
Breakfast is or can be included in your room's tariff - I personally do not regard/rate the standard and variety highly but worth a look.

Staff on the whole are friendly and helpful.

Location is central and "not far" from most points of interest within the city proper.

Would I stay again - probably not.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    207
    65
    18
    14
See reviews for
73
94
33
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Penang Island, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Excellent service received during our stay at the hotel last weekend. My family and I felt very at home as the staff were really very hospitable. I would like to mention and name a couple of the star team members who have been extremely helpful, courteous and even at times doing things for us which was clearly beyond their call of duty. Mr. Brian Andy and his team. Not forgetting the excellent hospitality provided by the Ben and his singing partner - awesome people. The entire team at Gaya Center, keep up the great work.

Looking forward to my next stay at Gaya Center and have highly recommended this hotel to family and friends.It’s been a great stay. The level of service we had received was just impeccable.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

The hotel has an excellent location. The room was fairly clean ,toilet and bath was not up to the mark. Carpet was rather soiled. Having said that is still value for money and short stays. Comfortable beds,good linen, great air conditioning. Very nice breakfast spread in a room with a view of the sea. Probably the best morning view in KK. Enjoyable sitting out on the sit out area.



Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chengdu, China
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights. Overally, the room is clean and perfectly located--at most 10 minutes walk from the Jesselton Point, Gaya Street and the sea side. You could enjoy a beautiful sea view when having your breakfast. The staff here are friendly and warm. Perfect economical hotel in KK.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Booked this as part of an AirAsiaGo package at the time. Centrally located, next door to a huge mall and walking distance from the jetty of Jesselton Point to the Tunku Abdul Rahman Marine Park, from which came our main itinerary.

Deposit (refundable) upon check-in, the room we got didn't have a sea view (just another building complex). Room for two was spacious enough, had an area to put luggage and had a closet with safe. Beds were okay, the air conditioning good, ample lighting and the television had enough channels to keep one occupied.

Liked the breakfast buffet as it had some nice selections (esp for the carbs lover) and you may choose to sit and eat at the balcony overlooking the sea.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

This hotel is 3-star establishment, that I can confirm. However, by the looks of it, it is already so tired, and management seems nonchalant about servicing guests.

We pre-booked (fully paid) our room before arriving in KK. To our surprise, it was not available by the time we arrived, and we were "upgraded". Only problem is the upgrade room spec is actually below the one we booked (higher floor to sea view), although larger. The upgrade room was literally one floor above all construction and street noises. The window was thin. This caused trouble in our two nights stay as the noise prevented us from getting proper sleep. We had to cancel our diving trip the next day as we weren't in good condition after being awake the whole night.

Our rooms were not cleaned in 2 nights. We only had breakfast here for the first day, and bailed out on the next one because it was very basic, and everything that is finished was not timely refilled by the crew, while in KK good nasi lemak and nasi kandar are everywhere. Wifi ran slowly.

Location-wise, it is good. Now that I experienced it myself, though, I had rather stayed somewhere else. We cut short our stay in this hotel and our vacation in KK.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

I have usually stayed with relatives when visiting KK but this time around, as we were travelling with a one year old, we thought it would be more convenient to stay in a hotel.

I knew for the price we were paying that we weren't to expect Gaya Center to be luxurious. However, I was still a little worried about the cleanliness of the rooms. Turns out the rooms weren't too bad. The only thing I could fault were stained bedsheets (likely to be from mangosteen I think). The furniture and carpet might have been a little worn out but we weren't too fussed with that.

Breakfast was good for the price we paid for the room (it was better than the breakfast we had at Nexus resort). There were always tables and food was constantly replenished despite the hotel being so busy.

We picked the hotel based on location. It is very centrally located, with Suria and Wisma Merdeka right next door.

We didn't require much from the staff but they were courteous and friendly each time we did speak to them.

I would stay with them again if we returned to KK.

Room Tip: The suites at the top have a lovely view of either the city or the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gaya Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaya Centre Hotel

Address: Jalan Tun Fuad Stephens | PO Box 13751, Kota Kinabalu 88843, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 93 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gaya Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 260
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, AsiaRooms, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Gaya Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaya Centre Hotel Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaya Centre Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.