We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small budget waterfront hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Le Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Le Hotel Kota Kinabalu to your Saves list
Le Hotel Kota Kinabalu
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Warison Square, Jalan Tun Fuad Stephens | Lot 15-16, 3rd Floor, Block B, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #73 of 97 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Bacolod City
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Small budget waterfront hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Saw this hotel while strolling around the waterfront and looking for a hotel to stay. Upon seeing the hotel I was already hesitant to get in but the only thing that convinced me was the location. Scary stairs going up because to "secluded". So I wasn't expecting much from this hotel. The lobby was at the 3rd floor as it was posted in the elevator. The receptionist is nice and accommodating and they presented as a big room that could accommodate the four of us. It's the family room with sea view and they let us see the room first before booking it, and it was way better than i expected it to be. The price is right so we booked it and because we just really need to have a nice place to sleep during night as we will go on tour the whole day.

The room is nice because it is overlooking the waterfront, the beds are okay, but the beddings are a little bit dirty. The room's carpet has an iron marked but we didn't mind. The bathroom is small. The towels provided are old. There are smoking and non-smoking rooms available.

The hotel is ideally located at the waterfront, beside the Le Meridien Hotel and the Center Point Mall. The hotel is part of a shop building so downstairs are different shops.

It's an okay hotel, not that nice, not that pricey, okay for comfort sleep. Good location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    9
    18
    12
    5
See reviews for
3
15
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ampang, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I went to vacation on October 2012. Weekend and no hotel available anymore. So i had to choose this hotel. The hotel is not worth money. No well kept. Lift is broken. And actually you will share the same building with shoplots. The only thing good is the location.

Room Tip: Check in early if you want to get good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kota Kinabalu hotels

Kuala lumpur
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Seems to be more for long term and the rooms were not well kept. Stayed for 2nights . Good location right in city center. Opposite the famous waterfront which was great for four dinners. Staff was friendly at all times.

Room Tip: Good for short trips , not really for families with children
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandakan, Sabah, Malaysia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Arrive at hotel building but no SIGNBOARD guide where the lobby is. No concierge or security at the building.. walking scary in the dark lane while searching for the lobby which is actually located at third floor of the building while I had to carry 3 large bag myself all the way to the lift.

Service at front counter ok.. staff friendly.

Room Tip: If you are overnight or connecting at KK, this is a good choice as located at Warisan Square, near P...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

This is my first time staying in the hotel. I booked via phone. The receptionist was very friendly and informative. The check in and check out are very quick and efficient. The room a bit small but it so comfy and well managed.
This is the first time and will surely many2 times to come.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

I booked the hotel at the very last minute through airasiago.com. I only stayed one night as I spent the rest of my visit at my friend's house. The hotel located at Warisan Square. Near to Centre Point, Filipino Market, and the water front. There are lots of restaurants / stalls nearby the area as it's in the city center. Bed is comfy, room is clean, aircond and water heater worked. The only bad thing is you could hear the plane take off early in the morning as it's not too far from the airport. Overall, I don't mind to stay back at the hotel in the future because of it's price and location.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

If you follow the lonely planet guide, you might think you are in for typical budget hotel. I wish I had turned around in the lobby, but it was late and I checked in.

Hotel is in a completely dingy mall, the stair way and hotel is broken down and dirty and the lobby is cramped with stained and tattered furnishings. Since the stairway is used for the mall, there is extra security on the doors, but you feel like you are in a windowless, dank fortress. Room was small, thin mattress, two plastic hangers hung on the wall....It was decently clean, but I pulled out my silk liner for bedbugs just in case.

There are much better options for not much more per night. I think this place might have been decent at one time, but has declined while other properties opened or made improvements.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Hotel Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Address: Warison Square, Jalan Tun Fuad Stephens | Lot 15-16, 3rd Floor, Block B, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 97 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Hotel Kota Kinabalu 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Priceline and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Le Hotel Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Hotel Kota Kinabalu Sabah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Hotel Kota Kinabalu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.