We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it is a good hotel in city centre” 4 of 5 stars
Review of KK Suites Hotel

Save Saved
You added KK Suites Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
KK Suites Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   98,Gaya Street, | 88000, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia (Formerly Sarangnova Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 92 hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“it is a good hotel in city centre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

tomorrow i am going to mantanani island,
the kk hotel in kota kinabalu is located in the heart of the city,
i recommend to stay u here,
do not expect to find a 4 or 5 star comfort but it is ok while you are only come to sleep,
also there is free breakfest in the morning,
teasing and fooling around in the hotel is strickly prohibited,
borneo rocks!

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    38
    18
    7
    6
See reviews for
11
31
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kajang, Selangor, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Requested twin room but was given an "upgrade" to Queen room which was not an upgrade at all. The queen room was very small, hardly any space to put our bags & shoes & space for Muslim travellers to pray. Cleanliness was VERY DISAPPOINTING. Upon arrival had to request for a bedsheet change because it had stains & hair on it. The girls who did the housekeeping brought sheets that still had stains on it and when asked to change it again, they said all the sheets had some kinda stain on it & the laundry dept is at fault. When I request to change room, they told me they were full house and can change room tomorrow. I didn't return the next night and stayed in another hotel but when we returned the following day, only our bedsheet was changed. There was still hair in the bathroom floor & the toilet bowl was not cleaned at all. The manager was being intrusive by asking us where were we last night and when asked about our room change, gave an excuse that they couldn't contact us and had to give up the room to someone else. Is that the way for you to retain a customer? The next day they gave us another room but we found it still with STAINED SHEETS which is totally UNACCEPTABLE! I had to cancel my last night stay and went out to search for another hotel. I was very disappointed with my stay there and looking at the "TRIPADVISOR AWARD" on the wall, I hope they improve on cleanliness & courtesy to keep their reputation.

Room Tip: Get the family room for comfort & space even if there is only the 2 of you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miri, Sarawak, Malaysia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Small room, not so clean, water supply outage when we were busy preparing to leave for the airport (luckily it resumed after 20 mins, but wasted our time). Sound proofing was bad and perhaps too close to the Gaya street morning market when hawkers sound can wake you up in the early hours of the morning.
Not worth a second visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed in KK in March. The hotel seemed nice at first, on pictures you can see modern style bathrooms and cosy bedrooms. Unfortunately you cant see cleanliness on pictures and the housekeeping is a major problem for that hotel.
Price - cheap about RM100 with bfast.
Location - Very good
Breakfast - The hotel doesn’t have own restaurant but issues guests with vouchers to nearby restaurant. English was definitely a problem in that restaurant although you will get different impression at first. Heavy metal music is also not something I’d like during my morning coffee. They offer in the menu 10-12 different ways of doing eggs. Day 1 - yolks were done, not runny. Bacon arrived with my cup of fruit. Day 2 - no hash browns or sausage, my fresh fruit appeared to be French toast, Day 3 - not only runny yolk but also runny white. Overall food was tasty but you have to forgive staff members for making mistakes.
Staff - all staff members very nice, few hard to talk to due to language barrier but overall very friendly and helpful.
Bedroom - Room has a Air Con which was great. TV had bad reception but we didn’t bother really as were out all the time. Bed comfy but sheets were stained, seemed more like an old stain rather than just dirty sheets. Comp tea/coffee and bottles of water (one of the bottles was already opened so check before drinking it). No hair dryer but there was a safe for you valuables.
Bathroom - Bathroom modern style, hot shower but shower cubicle was leaking on the floor as not sealed properly and major issue with mould. Sink was loose so don’t lean on it as i smashed my perfume doing it. Walls could do with a bit of cleaning and housekeeper definitely doesn’t look behind the bathroom door (that’s me being a bit of a cleanliness freak). Overall I’d say you will survive few days as its not that bad and its cheap.
Sunday market - its right in front of the hotel so if you have facing front room you may hear people from 5am preparing their stuff for sale.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I am a frequent traveler in Kota Kinabalu and have stayed in the numerous hotels around the city. I decided to try KK Suites hotel because of the price and also, there were quite numerous good ratings for this hotel. I am not naive and did not expect much from the hotel for the price I am paying, however, I felt the hotel management could have done a better job.

I will start with the good points for the hotel:
1. As I said, it is cheap
2. Located in a very convenient area, at Gaya Street, lots of eateries nearby, walking distance to the Jesselton jetty and Suria mall
3. Staff is friendly
4. Good breakfast deal

The bad point however are:
1. The first room I checked into, the air cond wasn't working properly, the curtain was hanging off the rail, the bed sheet was stained and the bathroom was dirty.
2. I requested a change of room and I still found the bathroom dirty (mold and dirt at the bath area) and the shower head got displaced from the hose therefore, I bathed with just the hose.
3. Smokers like to use the emergency exit to smoke, and the smell of smoke will leave an unpleasant smell in the corridors and also in the room.
4. Another friend also complained that the room she got had an unpleasant perfume smell and the pillow smelled strongly of men's hair cream.

The only reason I am giving KK Suites 2 stars is because of its price and location. However, I would not stay here again, as there are many other hotels in KK, with about the same price, but better maintained and most importantly, CLEAN,

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Nice little hotel on KK's famous Gaya Street. Used to be called Sarangnova Hotel. The owners are clearly avid bird watchers. Beautiful photographs of local birds fill the walls and rooms. The room I had was 307. It was very clean, and everything was working. The bathroom especially cos, who likes dirty bathrooms, right? The sink area was a little too small to put toiletries around.

The TV reception sucks. So don't bother watching. Some friends have complained that other rooms either don't have functioning a/cs or have mold problem, so do double check.

The staff are very friendly and obliging.

The best thing about this place: they give you breakfast vouchers to this place called Bomber Burger, which serves EXCELLENT American style breakfasts. That was my favourite part of staying here.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed here with family. The rooms are quite small but having connecting rooms was a big plus. There are many restaurants close by. The Staff are quite friendly and unobstrusive. Late check out was not allowed, but I believe the hotel was full at that time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to KK Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KK Suites Hotel

Address: 98,Gaya Street, | 88000, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia (Formerly Sarangnova Hotel)
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 92 hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — KK Suites Hotel 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Venere, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your KK Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
KK Suites Hotel Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage KK Suites Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.