We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cleanliness lvl not very high” 3 of 5 stars
Review of KK Suites Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added KK Suites Hotel to your Saves list
KK Suites Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   98,Gaya Street,, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia (Formerly Sarangnova Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 93 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“cleanliness lvl not very high”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed in KK in March. The hotel seemed nice at first, on pictures you can see modern style bathrooms and cosy bedrooms. Unfortunately you cant see cleanliness on pictures and the housekeeping is a major problem for that hotel.
Price - cheap about RM100 with bfast.
Location - Very good
Breakfast - The hotel doesn’t have own restaurant but issues guests with vouchers to nearby restaurant. English was definitely a problem in that restaurant although you will get different impression at first. Heavy metal music is also not something I’d like during my morning coffee. They offer in the menu 10-12 different ways of doing eggs. Day 1 - yolks were done, not runny. Bacon arrived with my cup of fruit. Day 2 - no hash browns or sausage, my fresh fruit appeared to be French toast, Day 3 - not only runny yolk but also runny white. Overall food was tasty but you have to forgive staff members for making mistakes.
Staff - all staff members very nice, few hard to talk to due to language barrier but overall very friendly and helpful.
Bedroom - Room has a Air Con which was great. TV had bad reception but we didn’t bother really as were out all the time. Bed comfy but sheets were stained, seemed more like an old stain rather than just dirty sheets. Comp tea/coffee and bottles of water (one of the bottles was already opened so check before drinking it). No hair dryer but there was a safe for you valuables.
Bathroom - Bathroom modern style, hot shower but shower cubicle was leaking on the floor as not sealed properly and major issue with mould. Sink was loose so don’t lean on it as i smashed my perfume doing it. Walls could do with a bit of cleaning and housekeeper definitely doesn’t look behind the bathroom door (that’s me being a bit of a cleanliness freak). Overall I’d say you will survive few days as its not that bad and its cheap.
Sunday market - its right in front of the hotel so if you have facing front room you may hear people from 5am preparing their stuff for sale.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    39
    18
    8
    6
See reviews for
12
31
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I am a frequent traveler in Kota Kinabalu and have stayed in the numerous hotels around the city. I decided to try KK Suites hotel because of the price and also, there were quite numerous good ratings for this hotel. I am not naive and did not expect much from the hotel for the price I am paying, however, I felt the hotel management could have done a better job.

I will start with the good points for the hotel:
1. As I said, it is cheap
2. Located in a very convenient area, at Gaya Street, lots of eateries nearby, walking distance to the Jesselton jetty and Suria mall
3. Staff is friendly
4. Good breakfast deal

The bad point however are:
1. The first room I checked into, the air cond wasn't working properly, the curtain was hanging off the rail, the bed sheet was stained and the bathroom was dirty.
2. I requested a change of room and I still found the bathroom dirty (mold and dirt at the bath area) and the shower head got displaced from the hose therefore, I bathed with just the hose.
3. Smokers like to use the emergency exit to smoke, and the smell of smoke will leave an unpleasant smell in the corridors and also in the room.
4. Another friend also complained that the room she got had an unpleasant perfume smell and the pillow smelled strongly of men's hair cream.

The only reason I am giving KK Suites 2 stars is because of its price and location. However, I would not stay here again, as there are many other hotels in KK, with about the same price, but better maintained and most importantly, CLEAN,

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Nice little hotel on KK's famous Gaya Street. Used to be called Sarangnova Hotel. The owners are clearly avid bird watchers. Beautiful photographs of local birds fill the walls and rooms. The room I had was 307. It was very clean, and everything was working. The bathroom especially cos, who likes dirty bathrooms, right? The sink area was a little too small to put toiletries around.

The TV reception sucks. So don't bother watching. Some friends have complained that other rooms either don't have functioning a/cs or have mold problem, so do double check.

The staff are very friendly and obliging.

The best thing about this place: they give you breakfast vouchers to this place called Bomber Burger, which serves EXCELLENT American style breakfasts. That was my favourite part of staying here.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed here with family. The rooms are quite small but having connecting rooms was a big plus. There are many restaurants close by. The Staff are quite friendly and unobstrusive. Late check out was not allowed, but I believe the hotel was full at that time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

It was already 11:00pm when I reached the hotel which was booked by the principal. When we were traveling from the airport he told me that this hotel was inoperation during the bird festival in Sabah a few years ago. The name suggest that. Sarangnova Hotel translated is Nova Nest Hotel as Nova is a bird species.

The hotel is situated in the middle of Kota Kinabalu town in Gaia Street. Next to the hotel is a IP Kopitiam a local food outlet selling local food such as nasi lemak, fried noodles and the usual toast and half boiled eggs.

My first impression about the hotel when e tering the lobby is that it is a clean place to stay. Looking at the entrance I sense that it is a small boutique hotel. There is a reception counter and the lobby is lightly furnished with furniture. There are pictures of bird and caption about them, very nice for bird lovers.

The front desk handed me my room key together with the electricity enabler card. Reaching my room, the door locked has been changed to manual key from an electronic key. Good thing for the patron is they can keep the room aircondition running when they are not in the room. Bear in mind, that is not good for the environment and for cost management of the hotel operator.

The room given to me is a single bed with window. The size is decent enough for a single person traveling and just need a place to sleep and shower. The room is clean and nicely furnished with basic furniture. There is a flat screen TV, water heater and a split unit air conditioner. No cupboard to store your things but a small hanger to hang your clothes.

On the wall there is a big painting of a bird with a story written about it. Very nice indeed.

The shower has a water heater and the space is good enough for me. If I am a bigger person then it will be slightly uncomfortable as the shower is too narrow.

The first floor has nine rooms but I did not check the room configuration. The hotel is three storey high and good thing is it has a lift to serve all the floors. So if you have many luggage to carry, this will be a good thing for you.

Internet via WiFi is provided on all floors but the best connection is at the lobby. Ask the front dedsk for password. Alternatively, if you are having rooms facing the main road there are other WiFi access point which open from nearby cafes.

Since the hotel is just a small boutique hotel, there is no cafe in the hotel for you to fill up. However, you can always enjoy the many cafe and restaurant nearby the hotel ranging from local to international cuisine.

Stayed there for three nights and it is a good place for travelers like me. I love to take a stroll along the road to enjoy the surrounding. There is a lot of eateries as I mentioned earlier and there are also banks and groceries stores nearby.

After my second night at this hotel only I realized that they are winner Tripadvisor 2012.

Recommended for travelers who needs a simple place to stay.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Excellent service and very helpful staff. Good location with lots of good food within walking distance since it's located right in the heart of Gaya Street.

Stayed in two different rooms. Both were acceptably clean, comfortable, and quiet. As other reviews have pointed out, the air conditioning may not always be in a good state, but for the price a little inconvenience here and there is not unacceptable.

Good as a simple place to sleep at night after a Mt. Kinabalu climb or after exploring the city in the day - don't expect the standard of a five-star hotel and you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seremban, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

Nice food in walking distance.
Chicken rice, laksa, sang yuk mee, welcome seafood restaurant, bak kut teh, senQ ice, roti kahwin & sunday market.
Superb~...
The female receptionist super polite & helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to KK Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KK Suites Hotel

Address: 98,Gaya Street,, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia (Formerly Sarangnova Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 93 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — KK Suites Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your KK Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
KK Suites Hotel Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage KK Suites Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.