We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel,clean and kind workers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of KK Suites Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added KK Suites Hotel to your Saves list
KK Suites Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   98,Gaya Street,, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia (Formerly Sarangnova Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 93 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“nice hotel,clean and kind workers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

its really good staying,clean,and the workers also kind. the 1st person that i want to say nice to meet 'rio'. his welcoming the guest,kind person,and very good speak ENGLISH. his suggest us to go a nice place and good tour. the room that we stay also clean,fresh and nice location. regards to RIO

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarangnovaHotel, Owner at KK Suites Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2011
Thank you for your review.
We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again at Sarangnova again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    40
    18
    8
    6
See reviews for
12
31
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011 via mobile

After 1 night at Eden54, had to switch hotels (no vacancy).

Rooms are definitely pretty and well designed. BUT there were some major problems : aircon in our 1st room was super noisy. After showing it to the staff, he agreed "wow, sounds like a generator". In our 2nd room, aircon was so low it wasn't enough to cool the room... which was unfortunate since the weather was so hot. And then, plumbing problems as well + stained bedsheets.

Have been traveling in Malaysia on the same budget for a while now and usually get better quality rooms (even though they aren't always this pretty).

I preferred Eden54.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarangnovaHotel, Owner at KK Suites Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2011
1. Neither we,or Eden54 could identify who/when guest stayed.
2.We are <2 years and have never yet experienced such noise problem with aircon . If aircon is not cold( it is rectified if guest informs staff).None of our staff could remember making such a remark .
3.Fresh bedsheets are provided for every room.If guest has complaints please inform housekeeping or front office immediately and the matter can be immediately rectified.
Plumbing rectification is done immediately when guest informs staff.
We regret your stay has been so uneventful and can only apologize if we have not met your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kota Kinabalu hotels

Boston
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

While researching properties on TripAdvisor I ran across this little gem. To be honest I was not taken away by the user photos for the Eden54 and I wanted to give the Sarangnova a chance. We loved the design of the hotel. Each room is unique, clean and comfortable. It is in an excellent location next to all of the best restaurants. The staff was very friendly and directed us to all of the best spots in town. The one negative is the plumbing. Every time we used the shower it backed up and flooded into the bathroom. This aside it is a very well priced option for a comfortable nights sleep in the center of KK.

Thank you for a great stay!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarangnovaHotel, Owner at KK Suites Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2011
Thank you for your review of our hotel.

We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay and your comments noted.We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future!

Best Regards,
Sarangnova Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

Great budget room rate. Location is great. On Gaya St., right smack in the middle of the Sunday market. Guardian pharmacy across the street...convenient if you forgot some toiletries (or if you don't like the hotel's basic stuff). Lots of different cuisine within walking distance. During our 4 day stay, we had noodles, pizza, ba kut teh, burger....a variety of foods. Room was small as expected. Our room aircon was not cold enough - we were asked to switch to turbo mode, which cooled it for 10-15 mins then it's back to square one. Bathroom water drainage was slow...some plumbing needed. The hotel must be short of staff - we kept seeing the same male receptionist at all times! He's very friendly, but the poor guy must be over-worked!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarangnovaHotel, Owner at KK Suites Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2011
Thank you for your review.
Just a short response on staff.We have 2 staff on duty at night. Occasionally one decides to "take off"and asks the other to 'cover' for him, thus you will see the same face over and over again!.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

Situated on Jalan Gaya in downtown Kota Kinabalu, this is a lovely small, boutique hotel with a distinctive 'bird decor' theme throughout.

My room was ideal.. with a decent sized bathroom, great bed and high ceilings with open windows!. Bathroom sink was a bit loose but no big deal given the price.. and the shower space and bathroom was generous but the size of the towels was a shock... more like a bath mat..Overall, the room was simple but lovely. Room safe was a bonus. Not much hanging space for clothing. No drama though, overall , really good value for money.

Offering easy walking distance to all that KK has to offer and a plethora of affordable and authentic food options at your doorstep.

As a solo traveler I felt safe and secure and had a clean and comfortable room overlooking eclectic Gaya Street with all of the food options one could seek.. I could walk to most inner city haunts, and if I took a taxi it was affordable. Lots of great walking options in the area...

Really nice experience and I would stay here again.

Sunday markets are great... right outside your door. The noise may wake you up if you have a big Saturday night as I did..

Great place for affordable eats is: Fook Yuen ? on Gaya Street ( only minutes away)... open till late and offering amazing Dim Sum at all hours. Clean and fresh, local food servicing the financial district of KK and a very popular place with the locals. I ate here daily amongst the locals and always walked away happy.

Room Tip: Ask for top floor overlooking Gaya Street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarangnovaHotel, Owner at KK Suites Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2011
Thank you so much for taking time to write a review of our hotel.

We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay here and we certainly hope we shall see you again in the near future.
Please feel free to let us know how we can improve on our services and amenities.

With kind regards,
Management & Staff Sarangnova Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

The lobby that greets u just makes u feel relaxed as it is clean, beautiful and air-conditioned. They have a menu of rooms with diff bird species. V. interesting! We booked a triple sharing room and the room was big enough for the 3 of us. The toilet was spacious enough. There is no wardrobe but there's a big hook to hang ur clothes. Hangars are provided. No noise traffic heard from outside. Everytime we leave the room for the day, we had to have the keycard re-scan at the reception before we go back to the room as they reset the card for security purposes. We reserved the room by credit card via asiarooms and no pymt was taken. Upon checking in, I was given the option to pay partial or settle full amount by cash/card. It was easily settled. The hotel was also able to hold our bags after checking out before we departed for the airport later in the day.

Location wise, the hotel is very strategically located on Jalan Gaya where the Sunday morning market is right on your doorstep. Left and right of the hotel is a Malay restaurant and kopitiam if you want to try local delicacies. A pharmacy is available right across the street. Almost all major banks are located within the vicinity. It is only a 5-10mins walk to the Jesselton Jetty and 5mins to the Waterfront. Down the road from the hotel on Jalan Gaya u can find a beautiful setup of eateries Sugarbun Cafe, BB Cafe and Rainforest Cafe. At night, there's a live band performing for some good fun.

Definitely enjoyed the stay at Sarangnova and recommend it to travellers who likes a simple and fuss-free hotel stay.

Room Tip: The triple sharing room overlooks Gaya Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarangnovaHotel, Owner at KK Suites Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2011
I appreciate your taking time to write a review on your stay in our hotel.I am happy that you find our place 'simple,comfy and no fuss' which is our motto ''comfort by design''

Thank you so much for choosing Sarangnova and certainly hope you will stay with us again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2011

This hotel is basic but perfectly lovely. The rooms are small, but nicely decorated and finished. We stayed for 5 days and our room was cleaned daily. The air con was a little slow, and it was really hot so we did need it! It didn't have any services like breakfast, room service or anything else, but there are shops and restaurants very close by so that wasn't a major issue. They are happy to book taxi's and recommend day trips.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarangnovaHotel, Owner at KK Suites Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2011
Thank you so much for taking time to write a review of our hotel.

We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay here and we certainly hope we shall see you again in the near future.

Please feel free to let us know how we can improve on our services and amenities.

With kind regards,
Management & Staff
Sarangnova Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to KK Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KK Suites Hotel

Address: 98,Gaya Street,, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia (Formerly Sarangnova Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 93 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — KK Suites Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your KK Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
KK Suites Hotel Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage KK Suites Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.