We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“J for JustAmazing!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of J Residence

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kota Kinabalu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
J Residence
Save
You added J Residence to your Saves list
Along Kundasang Road | 300 meters from Mount Kinabalu Park, Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Tugun, Queensland, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“J for JustAmazing!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights after exploring KK as we had planned the mountain climb. It was everything we had expected and more! No one can prepare you for the sheer beauty of this place! Yes the accommodation is basic but the views and the scenery are well worth the price! 5b is the pick of the rooms with the best view, a little more secluded and has its own coffee making facilities.
Please note this is very basic, no frills but it is truly beautiful.
The only disappointment was the heat and pressure of the shower, which after a 10 hour mountain climb, just didn't cut it lol.
And th staff are very helpful too. Would definitely return and highly reccomend if you are after a couple of days getaway.

Room Tip: 5b for the view and the pod chair :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    96
    15
    4
    2
See reviews for
70
63
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in the J Residence. The gentle staff, the peaceful garden, a small kitchen to have a coffee,,,,,, Very comfortable stay it was. In the second evening there, our Malaysian neighbors invited us to a hot pot dinner that they prepared by them selves. We had a nice talk eating their heart-warm dish. The not-so-hot shower was only tiny negative point, but I'm sure that someone comes here doesn't seek for the luxury stay, but simple and quiet one in the heart of the nature. Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

What can I say about j-residence? Well quite a lot actually, and all you need to know is in the name as in "j" j for joke. Ever walked into your garden shed after a long winter of cold damp rain. Or ever been in a house that's had a leak and damp has set in, you know, that smell that gets right in your lungs? Welcome to j residence.

Now please don't be thinking I'm some sort of stuck up ignorant, un adventurous, untraveled idiot who has never had to rough it in the wild, on the contrary all adventure has have been with me since a child, but there is roughing it and there is uninhabitable.

I'm sorry but no heating in such cold temperatures, damp floors with visible water around the beds, an intense smell of dampness in the air, blood on bedding, thread bare towels, and shoddy everything.

I'm struggling to believe my eyes when I read the reviews on this place, so much so I have to question their authenticity.

The worst worst worst place I've ever had to endure.

Room Tip: Bring a tent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Sitting here in J Residence wondering where all these good reviews came from while simultaneously searching for alternative accommodation elsewhere. It feels exactly like camping, but with electricity. The mount Kinabalu area is susceptible to bad weather and today it's raining (very normal). Wooden hut 5B is not geared up for wet days, the air is damp and the staff have never heard the word "heating". The bathroom floor is soaking wet from rain coming in through the open top roof and the one and only loo roll has gone limp. The room is spartan apart from 3 mugs (no spoon), a kettle, threadbare bed linen and a plastic outdoor seat that's inside with no cushion. At this price I was not expecting red carpet treatment, though minimum necessities like heat and warmth are a basic right when paying for any accommodation. I'm bundled into a fleece jacket with a hood but not even that can protect a person from these damp swampy conditions. Counting the seconds to leave this dire hovel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We chose this hotel as our base before and after the climb at Mount Kinabalu. It is located in walking distance outside the park premises. The hotel itself is "hiden" below the main road and thanks to this it is surprisingly a quiet place. The rooms are spacious and very tidy. The design is really exceptional and made us feel like at home. I can recommend the hotel to anyone who wants to stay close to park premises and at the same time wants to relax in a quiet atmosphere after hard climb :-)

Room Tip: We spent 3 nights at House 1 and we were fully satisfied (2 persons).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Best hotel I've been to in my entire life , the whole place is just mystical.we had a campfire around the dining area midnight the view was mesmerizing ! And best of all it's very clean! Bravo! Definately would recommend anyone to stay here ! Not to mention the price is appropriate and is suitable for backpackers as well!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed here the nights before and after our summit climb of Mount Kinabalu. It was absolutely perfect for this purpose. It's a quiet hideaway at the bottom of a busy road - and arguably the most accessible 'outside the park' accommodation. You can walk there in 10 minutes. The view from the units overlooking the Crocker Range is stunning and the air was clean and cool when we were there. The rooms have a rustic, yet tidy feel. The staff are friendly and helpful and let us leave our packs behind while we were climbing. Free dvds, free wifi. We ate all meals at the restaurant across from the park entrance, which was also easy, cheap and good. If you are passing through Mount Kinabalu and want to stop and enjoy this amazing locale, this is a really good inexpensive place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to J Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J Residence

Address: Along Kundasang Road | 300 meters from Mount Kinabalu Park, Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 74 Specialty Lodging in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 300 metres away from the entrance of Kinabalu Park Headquarters, J Residence is the nearest lodge outside Mount Kinabalu National Park, and with rooms price three times lower than those chalets and lodges inside Kinabalu Park. J Residence was built in the year 2010 and our lodge are partially hidden by trees and plants from the main road. Our lodge overlook the Bundu Tuhan dwelling & farming community while the back is decorated with rows of tall matured pine trees. Temperature here ranges from 19°C to 17°C at night. Truly a great place to seek refuge from the hot equatorial climate of the other major cities of Sabah. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
j Residence Hotel Kota Kinabalu
J Residence Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage J Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.